Track Blog

Making Sense Out Of Silly Season

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

A lot of newness fills the beginning of each season, as every team starts with a renewed feeling of optimism. After all, everyone begins the season tied for first place, giving many teams the belief that this is their chance to win a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship. For other drivers, there are aspirations of a first Sprint Cup Series victory or qualifying for the Chase for the Championship. 

For some drivers, it's also a time to get used to a new team. Confused with all the driver and crew chief changes? Not to worry! Here's a breakdown of who has gone where entering the 2012 season.



Driver Changes
Driver Old Team New Team Car Number
Kasey Kahne Red Bull Hendrick Motorsports 5
Danica Patrick N/A Stewart-Haas Racing  10
Clint Bowyer Richard Childress Racing Michael Waltrip Racing (part-time) 15
Mark Martin Hendrick Motorsports Michael Waltrip Racing (part-time) 55
AJ Allmendinger Richard Petty Motorsports Penske Racing 22
Kurt Busch Penske Racing Phoenix Racing 51
David Reutimann Michael Waltrip Racing Tommy Baldwin Racing TBA
David Ragan Roush Fenway Racing Front Row Motorsports 34
Aric Almirola JR Motorsports (Nationwide) Richard Petty Motorsports 43
Crew Chief Changes
Driver Old Crew Chief New Crew Chief Former Position
Juan Montoya  Jim Pohlman Chris Heroy Engineer, Mark Martin
Kevin Harvick Gil Martin Shane Wilson Crew chief, Clint Bowyer
Tony Stewart Darian Grubb Steve Addington Crew chief, Kurt Busch
Jeff Burton Drew Lambert Drew Blickensderfer Crew chief, David Ragan
Clint Bowyer New Team Brian Pattie Crew chief, Juan Montoya
Denny Hamlin Mike Ford Darian Grubb Crew chief, Tony Stewart
AJ Allmendinger Steve Addington Todd Gordon Crew chief, Penske NNS
Joey Logano Greg Zipadelli Jason Ratcliff  Crew chief, JGR NNS
Danica Patrick  New Team Greg Zipadelli  Crew chief, Joey Logano


Featured Event