The third race of Atlanta Motor Speedway's Winter Flurry season had the competitors return for the second time to the 1.3-mile road course.

The Bandolero Bandits was the first feature of the day with the top two finishers advancing to the Young Guns and Outlaws feature. On lap two, Austin Hill (Winston) took over the lead and led every lap for the rest of the race. Hill and Kyle Plott (Marietta) advanced to the next feature.

Zach Kittle (Watkinsville) was the pole sitter for the combined Young Guns/Outlaws feature, but Trey Maughan (Knoxville, Tenn.) took over the lead on lap one. On lap two, the leader made contact with Kittle bringing out the caution. On the restart, Kyle Lowry (Covington) was the new leader. On lap seven, Jordan Coker (Powder Springs) took over the lead, but a few turns later he spun in the grass, giving the lead to Sean Cassidy (Alpharetta). However on the last lap, Lowry passed for the lead and took the win. The Legends class was split into three heats: C, B, and A with 49 cars attempting to qualify for the 24 spots available in the Main feature. The top four finishers from the C and B heats advanced to the Main feature. The top 12 from the A heat advanced to the Main feature. Drivers outside the top four in C and B and outside the top 12 in A, competed in the Last Chance Qualifier. The top four competitors from the Last Chance Qualifier advanced to the Main feature.

The Legends C top four advancing to the Main feature were Jay Cloud, Brad Shelnutt, Billy Fulson, and Johnny Rucker.

The Legends B top four advancing to the Main feature were Cody Haskins, Zach Reardon, Levon Kitchens and Jeremy Parris.

The Legends A top 12 advancing to the Main feature were Jeremy Kalina, Casey Tate, Jeff Haynie, Beau Slocumb, Brian Weimer, Bubba Harry, Kyle Fowler, Randy Thornton, Bill Henry, Ed Clark, Joe Dickman, and Ron Polland Sr.

The Last Chance Race top four advancing to the Main feature were Taylor Hull, Chris Schier, Craig Floyd, and R. S. Senter.

The best 24 cars of the day lined up for the Main feature consisting of 10 laps. Jeremy Kalina started on the pole. Kalina and Tate put on quite a show for the lead, with Tate taking the checkered flag.

The third Winter Flurry season race will run on January 21. Stay tuned to for updates.

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Pete Horne at (770) 707-2977 or visit



1. Austin Hill (Winston), 2. Kyle Plott (Marietta), 3. Scott Hensley (Olive Branch, MS), 4 Peyton Durflinger (McDonough). 5. Mason Massey (Winston), 6. Dylan Ames (Huntsville, Ala.), 7. Taylor Bryant (Juliette), 8. . J.D. Farlow (Grantville), 9. Chris Achenbach (Douglasville), 10. Judson Kittle (Watkinsville), 11. Matt Dooley (Brooks), 12. Charlie Gresham (Milner), 13. Coleman Moody (Griffin), 14. Joseph Pilato (Pell City, Ala.).


1. Kyle Lowry (Covington), 2. Justin Swilling (Cohutta), 3. BANDIT Kyle Plott (Marietta), 4. Chris Siebert (Hampton), 5. Dustyn Cunningham (Madison), 6. Currie Pierce (Griffin), 7. Jordan Coker (Powder Springs), 8. Zachary Kittle (Watkinsville), 9. Tyler Armstrong (Alpharetta), 10. BANDIT Austin Hill (Winston).


1. Sean Cassidy (Alpharetta), 2. Don Maughan (Knoxville, Tenn.), 3. Trey Maughan (Knoxville, Tenn.).


1. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 2. Paige Monette (Alpharetta), 3. Jim Gresham (Stockbridge), 4.Jim Downing (Atlanta), 5. Dale Akridge (Lilburn).


1. Casey Tate (Locust Grove), 2. Jeff Haynie (Zebulon), 3. Brian Weimer (Cumming), 4. Bubba Harry (Griffin), 5. Kyle Fowler (Smyrna), 6. Brad Shelnutt (Stockbridge), 7. Levon Kitchens (Macon), 8. Zach Reardon (Buford), 9. Billy Fulson (Brooks), 10. Cody Haskins (Marietta), 11. Jay Cloud (Griffin), 12. Randy Thornton (Oxford), 13. Taylor Hull (Winston), 14. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 15. Johnny Rucker (McDonough), 16. Bill Henry (Kennesaw), 17. Beau Slocumb (Juliette), 18. Craig Floyd (Cumming), 19. Jeremy Parris (Dacula), 20. R. S. Senter (Oakwood), 21. Jeremy Kalina (Griffin), 22. Joe Dickman (Cumming), 23. Chris Schier (Snellville). Ron Polland Sr. (Cumming) did not start.