The Thursday Thunder weekly racing series 2005 season has been complete for nearly five months, but drivers gathered one last time for the second annual awards banquet on January 7. Honoring drivers for their on and off track talents, the banquet was held at the Tara Place Ballroom at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

The following division champions were crowned:

Atlanta Dental Team Bandits: Max Gresham

Mid-Georgia Tractor Young Guns: Ryan Gandee

Outlaws: Daniel Moore

Roadsters: Jim Gresham

Tanger Outlet Centers Masters: Dwight Pilgram

Semi-Pro: Casey Roderick

Pro: Doug Stevens

During the ceremony, several special awards were given to the Thursday Thunder competitors:

Most Improved Driver Award: Ryan Gandee

Rookie of the Year: Kyle Lowry

Breakthrough Driver: Mary Wilson

The Most Popular Driver Award was voted on by the Thursday Thunder drivers, team and family members, and Casey Roderick was this year's recipient.

AMS president and general manager Ed Clark chose the recipient of the President's award, which recognizes off track contributions to the Thursday Thunder racing series. This year Clark presented the award to Brian Weimer.

The Family Award was presented to Joe, Molly and Tyler Armstrong. Tyler competed this season in the Young Guns Bandolero division. Joe is an Army engineer and was deployed to Iraq during the Thursday Thunder season. Molly kept Tyler's racing career going by making sure Tyler got to the track each week and getting the parts he needed to compete.

Thursday Thunder gives kids, as young as age eight, and adults the opportunity to race competitively around the 1/4-mile Thunder Ring inside Atlanta Motor Speedway. The 2006 season will get underway on June 1.