With the third edition of Winter Flurry a recent memory and the ninth season of Thursday Thunder just over a month away, many competitors took the opportunity to get a jump on their competition at the April 7 off-season event at Atlanta Motor Speedway. Evan Swilling (Cohutta), Daniel Moore (Griffin), and Austin Hill (Winston) were among the drivers score a win in route to laying the groundwork for a run at this season's Thursday Thunder title.

Evan Swilling started from the pole in the Bandits feature, leading five laps before the fourth caution of the race relegated him to the rear of the field. Mason Massey (Winston) assumed the lead following the caution and battled Scott Hensley (Olive Branch, MS) over the next five laps. On lap 12, Hensley took the lead and the eventual win in the Bandits feature.

A combined field of Masters and Pro was the second feature of the night with Pro driver Jeremy Kalina (Griffin) dominating the race leading wire to wire. Jeff Haynie (Zebulon) was the class of the Masters drivers finishing a close second to Kalina at the checkered.

For the first seven laps of the Chargers division, Will Hannah (Newnan) and Daniel Moore battled for the top spot lap after lap. Moore showed his car's speed after passing Hannah on lap eight. He would eventually finish the race with more than a quarter straight lead on the rest of the field.

In the Young Guns feature, Trey Ridley (Ball Ground) started on the pole holding the lead for only the first two laps before Austin Hill (Winston) assumed the lead for the remainder of the race. Ridley finished second with Ridley, Jordan Coker (Powder Springs), and Sean McPherson (Acworth) rounding out the top-five.

Dwight Pilgram (McDonough) was the class of the Roadster field leading flag to flag with Jim Gresham (Stockbridge) waging a valiant effort for second. The brother/sister act of Paige and Zach Monette (Alpharetta) battled for the third and fourth spot with Paige besting brother Zach. Wayne Wilkins (LaGrange) rounded out the five car Roadster field.

The Semi-Pro feature completed the night of racing with Ryan Gandee (McDonough) taking the green flag from the pole before Billy Fulson (Brooks) swept past to take the point on lap three. Fulson would hold off Gandee for the rest of the 20-lap feature. After passing two cars in the first two laps of the event, J.R. Allen (Duluth) finished third ahead of Taylor Hull (Winston) who followed him through race traffic to a fourth-place finish.

Competitors will have another opportunity to prepare for the upcoming 10-week Thursday Thunder season on Friday, April 21. The Thursday Thunder season opens on June 1 with all the excitement of a full night of racing along with the fun intermission activities and the wacky grandstand antics.

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Pete Horne at (770) 707-2977 or visit www.legendsofga.com.


1. Scott Hensley (Olive Branch, MS) 2. Mason Massey (Winston) 3. Joseph Pilato (Carpwell, Ala.) 4. Evan Swilling (Cohutta) 5. Kyle Benjamin (Simpsonville, SC) 6. Judson Kittle (Watkinsville) 7. Dylan Ames (Harvest, AL) 8. Matt Dooley (Brooks) 9. Kyle Plott (Marietta) 10. Tyler Pennington (Winston) 11. Charlie Gresham (Milner) 12. Coleman Moody (Watkinsville) 13. Mike Ezell (Barnesville) 14. Jordan Rogers (Thomaston) 15. Maxx Bennett (Zephyrills, Fla.)


1. Jeremy Kalina (Griffin) 2. Brennan Poole (Woodlands, TX) 3. Casey Roderick (Lawrenceville)


1. Jeff Haynie (Zebulon) 2. Clay Hair (Mr. Pleasant, NC) 3. Brian Weimer (Cumming) 4. Dwight Pilgram (McDonough) 5. Sam McCullough (Atlanta) 6. Wade Brewer (Hampton) 7. Frank Johnston (Kemptville, Ontario) 8. Jim Gresham (Stockbridge)


1. Daniel Moore (Griffin) 2. Andrew Wroten (Atlanta) 3. Michael Conrad (Cumming) 4. Will Hannah (Newnan) 5. Kyle Lowry (Covington) 6. Justin Swilling (Choutta) 7. Tony Clark (Sharpsburg) 8. R.S. Senter (Oakwood) 9. Jeremy Parrish (Barnesville) 10. Philip Bell (Senoia)

Young Guns

1. Austin Hill (Winston) 2. Trey Ridley (Ball Ground) 3. Tyler Ridley (Ball Ground) 4. Jordan Coker (Powder Springs) 5. Sean McPherson (Acworth) 6. Currie Pierce (Griffin) 7. Zach Kittle (Watkinsville) 8. Chris Siebert (Hampton) 9. Taylor Bryant (Juliette) 10. Dustyn Cunningham (Madison) 11. Maddy Moody (Watkinsville)


1. Dwight Pilgram (McDonough) 2. Jim Gresham (Stockbridge) 3. Paige Monette (Alpharetta) 4. Zach Monette (Alpharetta) 5. Wayne Wilkins (LaGrange)


1. Bill Fulson (Brooks) 2. Taylor Hull (Winston) 3. Ryan Gandee (McDonough) 4. J.R. Allen (Duluth) 5. Max Gresham (Milner) 6. Chase Moody (Watkinsville)