During the seventh week of competition at Thursday Thunder, Atlanta Motor Speedway hosted the opening ceremonies for the seven-year-old and 11-year-old Dizzy Dean World Series teams. In addition to the baseball theme night, AMS introduced a new intermission race called, "Run What Ya Brung" sponsored by 96Rock. The new event pits street-legal cars against each other in a no-holds-barred battle on the quarter-mile Thunder Ring.

AMS President and General Manager, Ed Clark was the pole sitter for the Tanger Outlet Centers Masters feature, however when the field crossed the line on lap one, Sam McCollugh was the race leader. Skip Nichols took the lead on lap 10 and held onto it to claim his second win of the season.

McDonough Hospitality and Tourism Chargers feature started with Will Hannah out front. A crash on lap six occurred involving the leader, so when the race returned to green, Ty Dillon was in first place. On lap eight, Andrew Wroten took over the race lead to notch his first win of the season.

The Pro feature began with Casey Roderick on the point. Roderick led every lap to post his third win of the season.

Ed Clark paced the field to the green for the John Deere Roadsters feature. Jason Tidwell took the early lead and stayed out front to capture the checkered flag.

Six cars lined up for the "Run What Ya Brung" intermission race. 96Rock's on-air personality, "English Nick" entered a vintage Datsun and AMS victory lane announcer Dan "Wrecks Cars" Rexrode in an older Nissan. The racers did a lot of beating and banging, but a 1991 Dodge Stealth won the race, driven by Jimi Miller from Hampton. "It was a blast," said Miller of his win. "This is the most fun I've had in my life."

The Zaxby's Young Guns feature opened with Taylor Bryant as the leader. On lap two, Ty Dillon took over the lead and held off all the hard chargers to claim the victory. Dillon is Richard Childress' grandson.

Kayla Medley brought the field to the start for the John Deere Outlaws feature. Jonathan Chandler took the lead on lap three. Trey Maughan worked Chandler over and passed him for the lead on lap 16. Chandler knocked Maughan out of the lead in turn four on lap 18. Maughan couldn't catch him, so Chandler won the race; the fourth win of the season for him.

Atlanta Dental Team Bandits feature began with Scott Hensley as the pole sitter. Hensley led every lap, except the last one, which was led by Ronnie Bassett who took home the trophy.

Justin Swilling was the first car to take the green flag for the Back Yard Burgers Semi-Pro feature. On lap one, Max Gresham took the lead. He was worked over lap after lap by Brandon Dill, but Gresham collected his second win of the season.

Atlanta Motor Speedway's Thursday Thunder will return on July 20 for the eighth of ten weeks of Legends, Bandolero and Thunder Roadster racing. Next week will feature Adrenalin Powersports Favorite NASCAR Driver Night featuring the favorite "Faster Pastor" intermission race.

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Pete Horne at (770) 707-2977 or visit www.legendsofga.com.

Tanger Outlet Center Masters:

1. Skip Nichols (Albany), 2. Dwight Pilgram (McDonough), 3. Brian Weimer (Cumming.), 4. Johnny Rucker (McDonough), 5. Jim Daniel (Thomaston), 6. Jimmy Wade (Griffin), 7. Robert Spence (Atlanta), 8. Keith Breasbois (Gainesville), 9. Randy Thornton (Oxford), 10. Sam McCullough (Atlanta), 11. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 12. David Wilkerson (Columbus), 13. Bill Henry (Kennesaw), 14. Wade Brewer (Hampton).

McDonough Hospitality and Tourism Chargers:

1. Andrew Wroten (Atlanta), 2. Ty Dillon (Winston-Salem), 3. R.S. Senter (Oakwood), 4. Jason Turner (Griffin), 5. Jai Otwell (Bremen), 6. Tyler Ridley (Ballground), 7. Leslie Cash (Brooks), 8. Randy Janinda (Tyrone), 9. Mike Conrad (Cumming), 10. Will Roland (Warner Robbins), 11. Chris Siebert (Hampton), 12. Amanda Harbin (Brooks), 13. Will Hannah (Newnan), 14. Stuart Wilkerson (Columbus), 15. Fred Miles (Alpharetta).


1. Casey Roderick (Lawrenceville), 2. Kyle Fowler (Smyrna), 3. Bubba Harry (Griffin), 5. Ted Studley (Niceville, Fla.), 6. Chris Cable (Griffin), DQ - Jeremy Kalina (Griffin).

John Deere Roadsters:

1. Jason Tidwell (Lizella), 2. Zach Monette (Alpharetta), 3. Justin Stauffer (Gainesville), 4. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 5. Paige Monette (Alpharetta), 6. Jim Gresham (Stockbridge).

Zaxby's Young Guns:

1. Ty Dillon (Winston-Salem), 2, Ty Bennett (Loganville), 3. Matthew Stover (Gastonia, N.C.), 4. Tyler Armstrong (Alpharetta), 5. Blake Eden (Deland, Fla.), 6. Dustyn Cunningham (Madison), 7. Stan Hammons (Milner), 8. Currie Pierce (Griffin), 9. Taylor Bryant (Juliette), 10. Robby Dunlap (Newnan), 11. Austin Hill (Winston), 12. Jordan Coker (Powder Springs), 13. Zac Kittle (Watkinsville), 14. Rawlin West (Locust Grove).

John Deere Outlaws:

1. Jonathan Chandler (Fayetteville), 2. Trey Maughan (Knoxville, Tenn.), 3. Bruce Benson II (Lexington, N.C.), 4. Kyle Kitchens (Hampton), 5. James Caldwell (McDonough), 6. Joey Kiser (Phenix City, Ala.), 7. Kayla Medley (Alpharetta).

Atlanta Dental Team Bandits:

1. Ronnie Bassett (Winston-Salem, N.C.), 2. Scott Hensley (Olive Branch, MS), 3. Joseph Pilato (Cropwell, Ala.), 4. Evan Bell (Buford), 5. Dylan Ames (Harvest, Ala.), 6. Kyle Benjamin (Simpsonville, S.C.), 7. Evan Swilling (Cohutta), 8. Kyle Plott (Marietta), 9. J.D. Farlow (Grantville), 10. Grant Crane (Zebulon), 11. Matt Dooley (Brooks), 12. Judson Kittle (Watkinsville), 13. Jordan Rogers (Thomaston), 14. Charlie Gresham (Milner), 15. Tanner Adkinson (Tallahassee, Fla.), 16. Chris Achenbach (Douglasville), 17. Mason Massey (Winston), 18. Dillon Bassett (Winston-Salem, N.C.).

Back Yard Burgers Semi-Pro:

1. Max Gresham (Milner), 2. Brandon Dill (Mt. Airy), 3. Taylor Hull (Winston), 4. Ryan Gandee (McDonough), 5. Billy Fulson (Brooks), 6. Ross Kenseth (Spring Valley, IL), 7. Brad Shelnutt (Stockbridge), 8. Justin Swilling (Cohutta), 9. Daniel Moore (Griffin), 10. Logan Boyett (Pensacola, Fla.), 11. Kyle Lowrey (Covington), 12. Eric Cushman (Stockbridge), 13. Justin Stauffer (Gainesville), 14. Chase Moody (Watkinsville), 15. Jay Cloud (Griffin), 16. Tyler Chrisinger (Littleton, CO), 17. Trey Ridley (Ball Ground), 18. Jimmy Hansen (Cedar Lake, IN), ATQ - T.J. Halsema (Roswell).