The 2006 Thursday Thunder season has been in the history books for nearly five months, but competitors gathered once more tonight to crown champions from seven different racing divisions. Honoring drivers for their on and off track talents, the banquet was held in the infield media center at Atlanta Motor Speedway. The following division champions were crowned: Atlanta Dental Team Bandits: Kyle Plott Zaxby's Young Guns: Austin Hill John Deere Outlaws: Jonathan Chandler John Deere Roadsters: Jim Gresham Tanger Outlet Centers Masters: Skip Nichols Back Yard Burgers Semi-Pro: Taylor Hull Pro: Kyle Fowler During the ceremony, several special awards were given to the Thursday Thunder competitors: Most Improved Driver Award: Billy Fulson Rookie of the Year: Ronnie Bassett Breakthrough Driver: Robert Spence The Most Popular Driver Award was voted on by the Thursday Thunder drivers, team and family members, and for the Bandits division Tyler Armstrong was this year's winner and Casey Roderick won for the Legends division. AMS president and general manager Ed Clark chose the recipient of the President's award, which recognizes off track contributions to the Thursday Thunder racing series. This year Clark presented the award to Brad Shelnutt. The Family Award was presented to the Hammons family from Milner, Ga. Stan Hammons, driver of the No. 55 Bandolero in the Zaxby's Young Guns division, his mother, Kathy Millsap and younger brother all make Stan's racing activities possible. "The Hammons family exuded all of the qualities we look for when presenting our Family Award," said AMS vice president of events, Brandon Hutchison. "They represent what Thursday Thunder is about: an event where participants can have fun in a family setting." Thursday Thunder gives kids, as young as age eight, and adults the opportunity to race competitively around Atlanta Motor Speedway's frontstretch quarter-mile oval. The 2007 season will get underway on May 31.