The Castrol GTX Friday Night Drags Series returned to Atlanta Motor Speedway tonight for the third round of the 12-week season of drag racing competition and the Show N' Shine car show.


Hundreds of competitors put on a drag racing slugfest tonight for the fans in the grandstands and standing room only pit road area.  Below is a complete list of tonight's winners:

Super Pro: Jeffrey Grizzard (Fayetteville) in a 1972 Vega

Pro: David Sisk (Fayetteville) in 1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Street Outlaw: Thomas Griffin (Newnan) in 1991 Ford Mustang

Pro Four: Sean Miller (Fayetteville) in a 1979 Mazda RX7

Sportsman: Jason Byrnes (Newnan) in a 1985 Ford Mustang

Tuners: Jonathan Hicks (McDonough) in a 1995 Honda Civic

Domestic: John Morgan (Stockbridge) in a 1986 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

Trucks: Wes German (Fayetteville) in a 1982 Ford F-100


Points are awarded each night during the season with the division winner taking home three points, second-place two points and the rest of the participants will be awarded one point.  The competitor with the most points at the end of the season wins the championship title on September 7.  In the event of a tie, the competitor with the most wins will be awarded the title.


The Show N' Shine competition showcased everything from new imports to classic muscle cars.  Below is a complete list of tonight's winners: 

Showroom Current (1973 through current): Ivan Hawkins (Jonesboro) in a 2004 Corvette Z06

Runner-up: Chris Gause (Locust Grove) in a 2003 Dodge Dakota R/T

Third-place: Jeff Powell (Social Circle) in a 1973 Camaro Z-28

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior): Ed Goins (Fayetteville) in a 1955 Chevrolet 2-door Post

Runner-up: Wayne Wells (Newnan) in a 1961 Ford Starliner

Third-place: Edward Hicks (Lake City) in a Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Foreign (all vehicles manufactured outside the USA): Jesse Olive (Hampton) in Scion X6

Runner-up: Jamie Maurice (McDonough) in 2005 Scion TC

Current Custom (1973 through current): Doug Burke (McDonough) in a 2003 Chrysler P/T Cruiser

Runner-up: Mike Lozano (Jonesboro) in a 1995 Chevrolet Impala SS

Classic Custom (1972 and prior): Ray Hunter in a 1934 Ford Coupe

Runner-up: David Sisk (Fayetteville) in a 1967 Chevrolet Chevelle SS

Third-place: Gary Crawford (Newnan) in a 1929 Ford 2-door Sedan

Motorcycle: Ron Barnett (McDonough) in a Honda VTX 1800


Atlanta Motor Speedway's Castrol GTX Friday Night Drags will return on June 8.  Pit Gates open at 6:00 p.m.  Grandstand gates at 6:30 p.m.  Drag practice runs start at 6:40 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start at 9:10 p.m.  Entry for drag racing or the Show N' Shine is $20, spectator tickets are $7 for adults and children under six are free.  More information can be found at