Castrol GTX Friday Night Drag competitors from all around ‘Hotlanta' added a little extra heat to the warm summer night as they raced down the eighth-mile pit road drag strip at Atlanta Motor Speedway. With mostly first-time winners grabbing the trophies, the season long point races are heating up as well.

Robert Dial (Ellenwood, GA) in his 1968 Chevrolet Camaro, earned a bye to advance to the nightly championship race of the Pro class squaring off against Billy Clevenger's (Jonesboro, GA) 1977 Chevrolet Vega. In one of the closest finishes of the night, Clevenger edged Dial to earn his first Castrol GTX Friday Night Drag trophy.

In a situation similar to the pro class, Michael Varner (Griffin, GA) in his 1973 Chevrolet Nova SS earned a bye to the final race of the Street Outlaw division. Varner faced off against another first-time finalist Donald Wiles (Peachtree City, GA) in his 1989 GMC S-15. The two put on a great show for the fans with Varner grabbing the top spot and his first victory this season.

Exacting a small bit of revenge from the previous week's finals race, Howard Wolf (Marietta, GA) with his 1999 Corvette swapped finishing positions with Stockbridge, GA's John Morgan in his 1980 Z28 Camaro.  This week Wolf grabbed the trophy while Morgan had to settle for the runner-up position. The two are tied for the points lead in the Domestic division having faced one another in the past two finals. 

In a come-from-behind victory, despite a slight bobble at the start line, Miguel DeJesus (McDonough, GA) in his 1971 Datsun B110 added his name to the list of first time winners. DeJesus edged previous division winner Mike Chambers (Griffin, GA) in his 1957 Volkswagen Beetle for the Pro Four crown.

Jim Smith (McDonough, GA) in his 1994 Acura Integra grabbed his first Tuner class victory when he race down the eight-mile drag strip edging Joshua Mundy's (McDonough, GA) 1994 Honda Civic.

The sportsman class needed the most elimination rounds to get to the finals with first time Friday Night Drag competitor Edward Freshwater (Jonesboro, GA) guiding his 1990 Ford Mustang down his lane knocking off previous winner Adam West (Gay, GA) in his 1972 Chevrolet Nova.

Phil Taylor (McDonough, GA) had the easiest run of the night when his opponent's truck broke to take home his second truck division trophy

The Super Pro division saw the 1993 Chevrolet Lumina of Frank Taylor (Gray, GA) find his way to victory lane for the third time this season beating the 1974 Chevrolet Nova driven by Arnie Cobb (Locust Grove, GA).

Castrol GTX Friday Night Drags will return on June 29.  Pit Gates open at 6:00 p.m.  Grandstand gates at 6:30 p.m.  Drag practice runs start at 6:40 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start at 9:10 p.m.  Entry for drag racing or the Show N' Shine is $20, spectator tickets are $7 for adults and children under six are free.  More information can be found at

Below is a complete list of tonight's Show-N-Shine winners: 

Current Custom (1973-current): Second runner-up: Kimberly Lozano; 2001 Pontiac Sunfire; Jonesboro

First runner-up: Sabrina Conley; 2003 Mustang GT; Buford

Winner: Cameron Johnson; 2000 Chevrolet 1500; Manchester

Foreign: Second runner-up: Brandon Watson; 1996 Honda Civic; Griffin

First runner-up: Kirk Duncan; 1993 Mazda RX-7; Jackson

Winner: Roger Yawn; 2004 Toyota Celica; McDonough

Classic Custom (1972-prior): First runner-up: Carl Maddox; 1966 Ford Mustang; Hampton

Winner: Randy Bennett; 1964 AMC Ambassador; Stockbridge

Showroom Classic (1972-prior): Second runner-up: James Beckem; 1964 Chevrolet Impala; Tyrone

First runner-up; Linda Colley; 1957 Chevrolet 210; Jonesboro

Tony and Jewel Manning; 1967 Pontiac Firebird; Hampton

Showroom Current (1973-current): Second runner-up: Brian Rice; 2001 Chevrolet Camaro SS; McDonough

First runner-up: Rodney Allen; 1999 Chevrolet Camaro SS; Fayetteville

Winner: Patricia Hayes; 2003 Ford Mustang GT; Hampton

Following is a complete list of tonight's drag winners: 

Pro: Billy Clevenger (Jonesboro, Ga.)

Super Pro: Frank Taylor (Gray, Ga.)

Pro-Four: Miguel Dejesus (McDonough, Ga.)

Trucks: Phil Taylor (McDonough,Ga.)

Domestic: Howard Wolf (Marietta, Ga.)

Street Outlaw: Michael Varner (Griffin, Ga.)

Sportsman: Eddie Freshwater (Jonesboro, Ga.)

Tuner: Jim Smith (McDonough, Ga.)