Eight area pastors will trade their robes for helmets as they participate in the annual "Faster Pastor" race during Atlanta Motor Speedway's Thursday Thunder racing series, this Thursday night.

In addition to the intermission race, concourse activities and grandstand games will also take place throughout the evening. The action continues with week seven on Thursday, July 9, and will run every Thursday through August 2.

Area Pastors to Compete in "Faster Pastor" Race at AMS:

This Thursday night eight local pastors will climb behind the wheel of street cars and participate in an eight-lap, no-holds-barred slugfest, with one Man of the Cloth earning the title of "Atlanta's Fastest Pastor."Each pastor's congregation will bring canned goods to be donated to local food banks and the pastor whose congregation brings the most cans will start on the pole.

Pastors competing include defending race winner Brooks Everett from Community Bible Church, Mike Patterson from Liberty Hill Baptist, Michael McNeese representing New Brooklyn Baptist, Paul Dennis from Royal Baptist, Tom Summers from Carver Road Baptist, Chuck Lewis representing Anchor Community Church, Chuck Holt from Grace Way Church and rounding out the starting field is Stan Berrong who preaches at Glenn haven Baptist Church.

Several Championship Points Battles Could Go Down to the Wire:

With six weeks of Thursday Thunder racing in the history books, several championship points battles will likely come down to the last turn of the last lap before they are decided.A mere four points separates first-place Dwight Pilgram and Brian Weimer in the Back Yard Burgers Roadsters Division. Only 18 points separate the top-four Roadsters in one of Thursday Thunders most exciting divisions.

Just two markers stand between Matt Stover and Jeremy Mullinax in the Fuddruckers Semi-Pro Division and a single point separates division leader Davey Matthews and runner-up Mason Massey in the Zaxby's Bandits Division. Kyle Benjamin finds himself sitting just six points behind Matthews in the Bandits Division.

Fayetteville, Ga.'s Tyler Armstrong Moves to Fuddruckers Semi-Pro Division:

After claiming three victories in the Curry's Collision Center Chargers Division, Fayetteville, Ga.'s Tyler Armstrong finds himself moving to the Fuddruckers Semi-Pro Division. To keep a level playing field, when a driver wins three races in a beginners division in one season, they must move to the next division. Armstrong is the first driver in 2007 to find himself winning three races, but faces the new challenge with optimism.

"I'm a little nervous about moving up," Armstrong said after claiming his third victory. "It will be a pretty big jump, but I feel like I'm up for it."

Featuring a full slate of competitive racing, Thursday Thunder is an affordably-priced activity that offers something for spectators of all ages. Tickets are just $5 for adults and $1 for children 6-11 (children under 6 are free) for each evening of family fun and grass-roots racing. For more information about Thursday Thunder, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway ticket office at (770) 946-4211 or visit www.atlantamotorspeedway.com