Drag racing will return to Atlanta Motor Speedway this Friday, Aug. 17 with drag competitors battling for double points and Show N' Shine participants parading around the 1.54-mile quad-oval prior to the evenings opening ceremonies.

With the recent announcement of the championship bracket race of drag racing to be held during Georgia-Pacific NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Qualifying on Friday, Oct. 26, drag competitors have found themselves scrambling for every possible point in an attempt to punch their ticket to the championship bracket race. This Friday's racing action could create an opportunity for many racers to join the championship bracket race in front of an estimated crowd of 40,000 on October 26.

Fans and Show N' Shine competitors will also be treated to a speedway cruise, showcasing both modern vehicles and classic muscle cars turning several laps around Atlanta Motor Speedway's high banks. Only entrants into the night's Show N' Shine will eligible to participate in the cruise.

To participate in Castrol GTX Friday Night Drags, all racers must have a valid driver's license and competitors age 16 and 17 must have a fully executed minors release form on file at the speedway prior to competition (forms available at the speedway or at www.atlantamotorspeedway.com). Competitors must wear a helmet and have operational seat belts in the vehicle and pass a pre-race safety inspection.

The 2007 Castrol GTX Friday Night Drags Series will run August, 17, 24, 31 and September 7. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and practice drag runs begin at 6:40 p.m.  Show N' Shine car show judging begins at 6:00 p.m. with Championship drag runs starting at 9:10 p.m.

Both drag and Show N' Shine competitors entry fees are $20 while spectator admission is only $7. A joint drag and show admission is available for $30.

For more information about Castrol GTX Friday Night Drags, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway ticket office at (770) 946-4211 or visit www.atlantamotorspeedway.com

Below is a list of drivers that claimed victories in the last round of competition and the runner-up.

Winner's Division, Name, Vehicle, Runner-Up Name, Vehicle

Domestic: Keith Johnson (1990 Ford Mustang) def. John Vise (1956 Chevrolet Bel Air)

Tuner: Michael Montgomery (1994 Honda) def. Jordan Collins (1996 Chevrolet Camaro)

Pro Class: Len Gibson (1968 Chevrolet Camaro) def. Billy Clevenger (1977 Chevrolet Vega)

Street Outlaw: Daryl Stiles (1967 Chevrolet Camaro) def. Jeff Coker (1975 Chevrolet Truck)

Sportsman: John Sims (1968 Chevrolet Camaro) def. Adam West (1972 Chevrolet Nova)

Truck: Joe Goddard (1989 Chevrolet Silverado) def. Louis Overby (2005 Chevrolet Silverado)

Super Pro: Frank Taylor (1993 Chevrolet Lumina) def. Arnie Cobb (1974 Chevrolet Nova)

Pro Four: Mike Chambers (1957 Volkswagen Beetle)