On Friday, June 20 Atlanta Motor Speedway's pavement pounding Friday Night Drags Series presented by ACDelco got its 2008 official season underway and this summer will bring more than just bragging rights - competitors are racing for nightly trophies and a season-ending championship title.

Points will be awarded each night during the 10-week season in every class except the ACDelco Domestic and Tuner. Each division winner will take home three points, second-place two points and the rest of the participants will be awarded one point.  The competitor with the most points at the end of the season wins the championship title on August 22.  In the event of a tie, the competitor with the most wins will be awarded the title.

Hundreds of competitors put on a drag racing slugfest for the fans in the grandstands and standing room only pit road area.  Below is a complete list of the June 20 winners:

Pro: Alan Kidd (Stockbridge) in a 1968 Chevrolet Nova

Pro Four: Tommy Gillepin (Hampton) in a 1965 Volkswagen Beetle

Charter Communications Street Outlaw: Danny Lowry (Griffin) in a 1998 Ford Mustang

Pep Boys Auto Sportsman: Jeremy Rhodes (Hampton) in a 1989 Ford Mustang

Trucks: Cliff McBurnett (Locust Grove) in a 2007 Ford F-250

Domestic Advanced: Clark Hamby (Stockbridge) in a 1971 Chevrolet Camaro

ATV: Rodney Tolbert (Locust Grove) on a 1987 Yamaha

ACDelco Domestic: Tommy Buffington (Hampton) in a 1969 Chevrolet Chevelle

Tuners: Jose Samaniego (Jonesboro) in a 1988 Honda CRX 

The Show N' Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars.  Below is a complete list of the June 20 winners: 

Showroom Current (1973 through current): Sally Weaver (McDonough) in a 2004 Chevrolet SSR
Runner-up: Scott Nelson (McDonough) in a 2007 Shelby GT
Third-place: Gary Lee Berry (Peachtree City) in a 1981 Pontiac Trans-Am

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior): Rodney Allen (Fayetteville) in a Camaro Z28
Runner-up: Ken Thaxton (Fayetteville) in a 1967 Chevrolet Corvette
Third-place: Billy Poore (Locust Grove) in a 1951 Ford Victoria

Foreign (manufactured outside the USA): Adam Stoe (McDonough) in a 1995 Acura Integra
Runner-up: Mike Lozano (Jonesboro) in a 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier SS
Third-place: Horavo Amedor (Griffin) in a Honda Accord

Current Custom (1973 through current): Kimmy Lozano (Jonesboro) in a Chevrolet Impala SS
Runner-up: Kevin Watkins (McDonough) in a 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
Third-place: Patricia Hayes (Hampton) in a 2003 Ford Mustang GT

Classic Custom (1972 and prior): Tony Manning (Hampton) in a 1967 Pontiac Firebird
Runner-up: Keith Lileo (Stockbridge) in a 1969 Camaro Z28
Third-place: Frank Harris (Orchard Hill) in a 1935 Chevrolet School Bus

Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags presented by ACDelco is held every Friday night through August 22. Pit Gates open at 6:00 p.m.  Drag practice runs start at 6:20 p.m. Grandstand gates at 7:00 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start at 9:10 p.m.  Entry for drag racing or the Show N' Shine is $20, spectator tickets are $7 for adults and children under six are free.  More information can be found at www.atlantamotorspeedway.com.