Championship Night Concludes Friday Night Drags Season presented by ACDelco

Atlanta Motor Speedway's 10th and final points week of Friday Night Drags presented by ACDelco saw the crowning of champions in each Friday Night Drags points division.

While four drivers had already locked up championships in their respective classes, two divisions were decided on the final night of the 2008 Friday Night Drags season. Neil Skipper of Covington fought his way to the Domestic Advanced championship, winning his class' week 10 races to jump Mike Munoz for first. Meanwhile, Tony Morse claimed the title in the Pro division by virtue of just starting his vehicle for the first race.

In addition to Skipper and Morse, four drivers had already claimed their class championship entering week 10 - John Bonner (Street Outlaw), Mike Chambers (Pro Four), Bill Hatfield (Sportsman), Dwayne Bethune (Trucks) and Rodney Tolbert (ATV).

Points were awarded each night during the 10-week season in every class except the ACDelco Domestic, Tuner and motorcycle divisions. Each division winner took home three points, second-place two points and the rest of the participants were awarded one point.

Below is a complete list of the August 22 winners:

Pro: Alan Kidd (Stockbridge) in a 1968 Chevrolet Nova

Pro Four: Jason Miller (Fayetteville) in a Mazda RX7

Charter Communications Street Outlaw: John Bonner (Molena) in a 1986 Toyota Pickup Truck

Pep Boys Auto Sportsman: Greg Adamek (Gay) in a 1971 Chevrolet Chevelle

Trucks: Alex Cook (Decatur) in a 1995 Dodge Dakota

Domestic Advanced: Neil Skipper (Covington) in a 1988 Ford Mustang

ATV: Rodney Tolbert (Locust Grove) on a 1987 Yamaha

ACDelco Domestic: Tommy Buffington (Hampton) in a 1969 Chevrolet Chevelle

Tuners: Jose Samaniego (Jonesboro) in a 1988 Honda CRX

Motorcycle (Street): Evans Highlander (Decatur) on a 2005 Suzuki 1000

Motorcycle (Cruiser/Dirt bike): Justin House (Jackson) on a 2008 Suzuki 450


The Show N' Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars.  Below is a complete list of the August 22 winners: 

Showroom Current (1973 through current): Scott Nelson (McDonough) in a 2008 Roush 427R

Runner-up: Stacy Huckaby (Fayetteville) in a 1997 Ford Cobra

Third-place: Richard Fryza (Jonesboro) in a Dodge 1500

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior): Harold Smith (Hiram) in a 1966 Chevy Chevelle

Runner-up: Billy Poore (Locust Grove) in a 1951 Ford Victoria

Third-place: Heather Campbell (Hampton) in a 1966 Ford Mustang

Tuner (all sport compact vehicles): Nick DeLong (Jackson) in a 1993 Honda Del Sol Si

Runner-up: Clark Morris (Hampton) in a Toyota Truck

Third-place: Kimmy Lozano (Jonesboro) in a 2001 Pontiac Sunfire GT

Current Custom (1973 through current): Bobby Woodall (McDonough) in a 2004 Ford F150

Runner-up: Sharon Daughtry (McDonough) in a 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Third-place: Reba Smith (Williamson) in a Ford Mustang

Classic Custom (1972 and prior): Charles & Sandra Chapman (McDonough) in a Ford 33 Coupe

Runner-up: Joel Roach (Douglasville) in a 1971 RS Camaro

Third-place: Steve Howell (Marietta) in a 1966 Chevy Chevelle

Motorcycle: Sherry Siriani (Hampton) on a 2004 Honda F4I CBR

Runner-up: Kelly Garrett (Jackson) on a Honda VTX1300

President's Award (chosen by AMS president Ed Clark): Leigh Blakely in a 2002 Trans Am

Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags presented by ACDelco concluded with week 10's action, but drag racing returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway on Sept. 19 - 20 for the ACDelco Street Drag Nationals. Each points winner from Friday Night Drags will be invited back to perform in an eight-car bracket championship to conclude the ACDelco Street Drag Nationals on Sept. 20, and the Friday Night Drag winners will square off against Friday and Saturday's champions from the ACDelco Street Drag Nationals. More information can be found at