Atlanta Motor Speedway's Winter Flurry season started in furious fashion, as the evening featured two late passes for wins and a back-to-back Thursday Thunder champion denied a late move for a victory.

Both John Holleman and Jacob Armstrong were able to make passes in the final laps of their feature races to take the checkered flag - Holleman with a final-lap pass in the Bandits feature and Armstrong utilizing a caution to win the Young Guns and Outlaws race. Meanwhile, Ed Clark held off defending Masters champion Jeff Haynie, who attempted a late bump to pass Clark.

Alex Coffey led the field to the start in the Bandits feature, the first race in the 2008-09 Winter Flurry season. Coffey led the race's first six laps, before contact with Brady Boswell forced Coffey into the back-straightaway wall. After the incident, Holleman moved into first, but following the restart Dalton Hill claimed the lead. However, a second episode between leaders forced another caution and Boswell moved into first. But after Boswell got loose between turns three and four on the last lap, Holleman was able to jump Boswell for the win.

Clark began the Roadsters feature pacing the field, but Casey Roderick nosed ahead on the first lap. Racing side-by-side each and every lap, Roderick crossed the finish first by a fender, despite Clark running the faster final lap.

The combined classes of Young Guns and Outlaws were led to the start by Will Martin of Douglasville. Martin quickly moved ahead of the pack, chased close behind by Jacob Armstrong. Martin appeared poised to take the win, but a caution with two laps remaining brought the field together. Restarting with a green, white and checkered-flag finish situation, Armstrong was able to move to the front and take the win.

Scott Hensley held the pole position to lead the Semi-Pro pack to the start. Davey Matthews chased behind and, following a spin by Hensley, Matthews moved to the front. Nipping at Matthews' heels, Chase Elliott attempted to make a pass in turn four for the win, but Matthews held his position and took the victory.

The Chargers feature started with Jacob Wallace on the pole and he immediately built a sizeable advantage, but a caution forced the field together when Melina Rolo spun into the grass. Following the restart, Wallace again built up his lead and took the win.

Justin Swilling led the way for the evening's Pro feature, but Roderick quickly moved to the front. Using a bump on lap six, Swilling overtook Roderick and quickly developed a multiple-car length lead. Unchallenged through the remaining laps, Swilling cruised to the finish.

Clark held the lead position to start the Master's feature. Chased close by Jeff Haynie, Clark began to leave the pack behind until a caution on lap five brought the field together. Following the restart, Clark and Haynie were once again fighting for position. Entering the final laps, Haynie gave Clark a tough bump, but Clark remained calm and held off Haynie, the defending back-to-back Thursday Thunder Masters champion, for the win.

Fans interested in attending Winter Flurry Legends races at Atlanta Motor Speedway can purchase infield passes at the GSP building located near the main entrance to Atlanta Motor Speedway. Infield passes are $12 for adults, $5 for ages six through 12, and children ages five and younger are admitted for free. The general grandstands are not open during winter-season Legends races.

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Peter Horne III at (770) 707-2977 or visit For more information on Atlanta Motor Speedway events, including Legends racing, drag racing and March's Kobalt Tools 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Race, visit

11/21/08 Winter Flurry Results:


1. John Holleman (Winston Salem, N.C.), 2. Brady Boswell (Watkinsville), 3. Madeline Crane (Meansville), 4. Dalton Hill (Winston), 5. Angus Hunt (Powder Springs), 6. Alex Coffey (McDonough), 7. Kason Plott (Marietta).


1. Casey Roderick (Lawrenceville), 2. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), ATQ. Bubba Harry (Substituting for Dale Akridge).


1. Garrett Smithley (Peachtree City).

Young Guns:

1. Jacob Armstrong (Fayetteville), 2. Evan Bell (Buford), 3. Justin Thomas (Woodstock), 4. Will Martin (Douglasville), 5. Charlie Gresham (Milner), 6. Jonathan Lybrand (Newnan), 7. Matthew Johnson (Canton), 8. Luke Behnke (Fayetteville).


1. Davey Matthews (Douglasville), 2. Chase Elliott (Dawsonville), 3. Mike Weed (Franklin), 4. Kyle Plott (Marietta), 5. Donald McIntosh, 6. R.S. Senter (Oakwood), 7. Scott Hensley (Tyrone), 8. Alexander Fex (Hog Mountain).


1. Jacob Wallace (Griffin), 2. Tyler Edwards (Acworth), 3. Don Chandler (Macon), 4. Chris Bowie (Douglasville), 5. Melina Rolo (Cumming), 6. Austin Garvey (McDonough), 7. Jacob Bowie (Douglasville).


1. Justin Swilling (Cohutta), 2. Casey Roderick (Lawrenceville), 3. Billy Fulson (Brooks), 4. Trey Poole (Pine Mountain), 5. Will Prance (Canton), 6. Austin Will (Winston), 7. Dylan Ames (Huntsville, Ala.), 8. Currie Pierce (Griffin), 9. Tina Johnson (Senoia).


1. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 2. Jeff Haynie (Zebulon), 3. Brad Shelnutt (Locust Grove), 4. Mike Abercrombie (Jackson), 5. Jim Daniel (Thomaston), 6. Bill Henry (Kennesaw), 7. Phillip Young (Dallas), 8. Bobby Fox (Hog Mountain),


2008-09 Remaining Legends Winter Flurry Schedule:

12/13/08 - Winter Flurry Race No. Two on the AMS road course

1/24/09 - Winter Flurry Race No. Three on the AMS road course

1/31/09 - Winter Flurry Race No. Four on the AMS road course

2/21/09 - Winter Flurry Race No. Five on the ‘Thunder Ring' quarter-mile track

3/7/09 - Winter Flurry Race No. Six during the Kobalt Tools 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup race weekend