Atlanta Motor Speedway's third-full season of Friday Night Drags kicked off on Friday, June 5 with points awarded to the victors in 10 classes of high speed racing on Atlanta Motor Speedway's pit lane drag strip.

The points opener for the Friday Night Drags season featured four new full-time classes competing on Friday Night - Truck Advanced, Sport Compact, Motorcycle and Super Bike - and a host of local winners, including one drag racer and two Show-N-Shine entries from Atlanta Motor Speedway's hometown of Hampton. Hampton resident Tommy Buffington claimed the win in the Domestic class in his 1969 Chevrolet Corvette, while Hampton's Jesse Olive (Tuner) and Patricia Hayes (Current Custom) each took first in their respective Show-N-Shine class.

Points will be awarded each night during the 13-week points season in every class except the Domestic, Truck and Sport Compact classes. Each division winner will take home three points, second-place two points and the rest of the participants will be awarded one point. The competitor with the most points at the end of the season wins the championship title on September 11. In the event of a tie, the competitor with the most wins will be awarded the title.

Below is a complete list of the June 5 winners:

Pro: Bobby Daniel (Stockbridge) in a 1983 Chevrolet Cutlass

Pro Four: Jose Samaniego (Jonesboro) in a 1988 Honda CRX

Street Outlaw: Chris Striplang (Stockbridge) in a 1987 Ford Mustang

Sportsman: Mike Mele (Braselton) in a 1968 Chevrolet Camaro SS

Truck Advanced: Steve Long (Zebulon) in a 1994 Dodge 2500

Truck: Chuck Prickett (Covington) in a 1995 Dodge Dakota

Domestic Advanced: Howard Wolf (Marietta) in a 1999 Chevrolet Corvette

ATV: Jason Hydrick (Brooks)

Domestic: Tommy Buffington (Hampton) in a 1969 Chevrolet Chevelle

Sport Compact: Chris Richardson (Kennesaw) in a 2007 Honda Accord

Tuners: Tony Taylor (Stockbridge) in a 2005 Mitsubishi Evolution

Super Bike: Justin Barlow (Flovilla) on a Suzuki GSXR 1000

Motorcycle (Cruiser/Dirt bike): Jacob Turner (Griffin) on a 1988 Honda CR 500

The Show N' Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars. Below is a complete list of the June 5 winners:

Showroom Current (1973 through current): Rick Vanthof (Peachtree City) in a 2002 Chevrolet Corvette

Runner-up: Tony Manning (Hampton) in a 2009 Dodge Challenger

Third-place: Gary Wallace (McDonough) in a Chevrolet Corvette

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior): Rod Harris (Stockbridge) in a 1971 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

Runner-up: Keith Liles (Stockbridge) in a 1969 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

Third-place: Larry Bell (McDonough) in a 1966 Pontiac GTO

Tuner (all sport compact vehicles): Jesse Olive (Hampton) in a Toyota Scion XB

Runner-up: Deanna Hall (Griffin) in a 1999 Honda Accord

Third-place: Matthew Parsons (Monticello) in a Dodge Caliber SRT-4

Current Custom (1973 through current): Patricia Hayes (Hampton) in a 2003 Ford Mustang GT

Runner-up: Joy Jones (Jackson) in a Ford Mustang GT

Third-place: Neal Anthony (Fayetteville) in a Ford Mustang GT

Classic Custom (1972 and prior): Jerry Crawford (Newnan) in a 1932 Ford Roadster

Runner-up: Ken Thaxton (Fayetteville) in a 1966 Chevrolet Chevy II

Third-place: Randy Thornton (Oxford) in a 1956 Ford F-100

Motorcycle: Bubba Hohenberger on a 2003 Suzuki

Runner-up: John O'Conner Jr. (Jackson) on a Honda CBR 600

Third-place: Matthew Price (Moreland) on a Yamaha YZF-R1

President's Award (chosen by AMS president Ed Clark): Wayne Wells (Newnan) in a 1967 Ford F100

Special Class - '50s are Forever: Billy Poore (Locust Grove) in a 1951 Ford Victoria

Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags is held nearly every Friday night through September 11. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start at 9:09 p.m. Entry for drag racing or the Show N' Shine is $20 or a combo ticket can be purchased for $30, spectator tickets are $7 for adults and children under six are free. More information can be found at