Atlanta Motor Speedway's second week of Thursday Thunder featured four first-time winners plus several Thursday Thunder veterans making their way to victory lane.

The Semi-Pro feature started with Zach Weaver out front. Weaver got loose in turn two, allowing Jacob Armstrong to take the lead on lap three. Armstrong got a nose on the inside of Weaver on lap four for a drag race at the start-finish line. Armstrong made the pass for the lead on lap four; however one lap later, Armstrong and Jonathan Chandler made contact on lap five, causing both cars to be sent to the rear of the field for the restart on lap six. Cody Haskins assumed the top spot and led the remaining circuits to post his first Thursday Thunder win.

The M&S Auto Bandits feature began with Madeline Crane holding the advantage. On the first lap, Clayton Weatherman dove to the inside of Crane in turn two to take the early lead. By lap five, Weatherman's brother Kyle worked his way up to second place. Clayton had mechanical trouble, transferring the lead to Kyle on lap eight. Kyle led every remaining lap to score his first Thursday Thunder win.

Justin Thomas paced the Young Lions to the start for their feature. On lap two, Chad Finchum made the pass for the top spot. Tyler Edwards made his move to the front on lap five. Two laps later, Finchum battled back to become the leader. Finchum captured his third Thursday Thunder win and his first of 2009.

Brian Weimer held the pole position for the Roadsters feature. Chris Cable passed for the lead on the first lap and pulled away from the field. Cable maintained a half-straightaway lead for the remaining circuits and easily took the checkered flag for his first Thursday Thunder Roadster win and his 12th victory in his Thursday Thunder career.

Pacing the combined classes of Young Guns and J.J. Morley Outlaws to the start, Luke Benhke began the race out front. On lap six, Matt Linker maneuvered his way to the lead. Linker and Benhke both posted their first ever Thursday Thunder wins in the J.J. Morely Young Guns and Outlaw classes respectively.

Brad Shelnutt paced the Masters division to the start. On the first lap, Randy Thornton got underneath Shelnutt to pass for the top spot. Two laps later, Jeff Haynie drove his way to the front and held his position for the remainder of the race to score his 10th career Thursday Thunder Masters win.

Currie Pierce led the field to the green flag for the Pro division. Pierce, Bubba Harry and Austin Hill put on a great battle for the top spot, with Harry emerging out front. Despite Hill staying glued to his back bumper, Harry captured the checkered flag and posted his 22nd career Thursday Thunder win.

The Bandolero Promoter's Choice race began with Ben Rhodes as the pole-sitter. Rhodes led every lap to post the win.

Robbie Woodall paced the field to the start for the Legends Promoter's Choice race. Donald McIntosh raced his way to the front and posted the eventual win.

Atlanta Motor Speedway's Thursday Thunder will return on June 18 for the third of 10 weeks of Legends, Bandolero and Thunder Roadster racing. Week three's theme is Mascot Mania Night and will feature appearances by local sport teams' and business' mascots. For more information on Thursday Thunder or Atlanta Motor Speedway, visit

To test drive your own Legends car, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Peter Horne III at (770) 707-2977 or visit

Week Two Thursday Thunder Results:


1. Cody Haskins (Marietta), 2. Zach Weaver (Phenix City, Ala.), 3. Mike Weed (Franklin), 4. Jacob Armstrong (Fayetteville), 5. Scott Hicks (Senoia), 6. Jonathan Chandler (Fayetteville), 7. Stuart Wilkerson (Midland), 8. P.J. Alexander (Covington), 9. Chris Bowie (Douglasville), 10. Jerry Silvers (Calhoun), 11. Mark Younginer (Stockbridge), 12. Mark Swan (Atlanta), 13. Bill Stevens (McDonough), 14. Melina Rolo (Cumming), 15. Robbie Woodall (McDonough), 16. Kim Kelley, Jr. (Abbeville), 17. Billy Pyle, 18. Jordan Coker (Powder Springs), 19. R.S. Senter (Oakwood).

M&S Auto Bandits:

1. Kyle Weatherman (Wentzville, Mo.), 2. Dalton Hill (Winston), 3. John Holleman (Winston-Salem, N.C.), 4. Ben Rhodes (Louisville, Ky.), 5. Madeline Crane (Meansville), 6. Garrett Biggers (Charlotte, N.C.), 7. Angus Hunt (Powder Springs), 8. Alex Coffey (McDonough), 9. Michael Bell (Stockbridge), 10. Tyler Mosley (McDonough), 11. Ryan Massaro (Glencoe, Ala.), 12. Jensen Jorgenson (Stockbridge), 13. Josh Hicks (Senioa), 14. Clayton Weatherman (Wentzville, Mo.), 15. Payton Ryan (Jonesville, La.).

Young Lions:

1. Chad Finchum (Knoxville, Tenn.), 2. Tyler Edwards (Acworth), 3. Judson Kittle (Watkinsville), 4. Will Martin (Douglasville), 5. Charlie Gresham (Milner), 6. Blake Jones (Sevierville, Tenn.), 7. Justin Thomas (Woodstock), 8. Matthew Johnson (Canton), 9. Donald McIntosh (Dawsonville), 10. Brady Boswell (Watkinsville), 11. A.J. Carlisi (Dalton), 12. Davey Matthews (Douglasville), 13. Mason Massey (Winston), 14. Tyler Mullins (Knoxville, Tenn.), 15. Austin Garvey (McDonough), 16. Joey Herques (Houma, La.), 17. Cameron Hadley (Concord), 18. Jonathan Lybrand (Newnan), DNS - Evan Swilling (Cohutta), DNS - Tyler Lester (Dallas, N.C.).


1. Chris Cable (Griffin), 2. Adam Gay (Dublin), 3. Skip Nichols (Albany), 4. Brian Meredith (Locust Grove), 5. Jim Gresham (Stockbridge), 6. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 7. Stuart Wilkerson (Midland), 8. James Meredith (Locust Grove), 9. Brian Weimer (Cumming).

Young Guns:

1. Matt Linker (Mt. Pleasant, N.C.), 2. Evan Bell (Buford), 3. Joey Padgett (Tallahassee, Fla.), 4. Chris Rhodes (Louisville, Ky.), 5. Dalton Robinson (Flowery Branch), 6. Taylor Jorgensen (Stockbridge), DNS - Justin Thomas (Woodstock), DNS - Matthew Johnson (Canton).

J.J. Morley Outlaws:

1. Luke Behnke (Fayetteville), 2. Garrett Smithley (Peachtree City), 3. Shannon McBride (Hampton).


1. Jeff Haynie (Zebulon), 2. Johnny Henderson (Conyers), 3. Rick Geddes (Newnan), 4. Phillip Young, 5. Jackie Ryan, 6. Brad Shelnutt (Locust Grove), 7. John Ponzio (Tyrone), 8. David Wilkerson (Midland), 9. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 10. Skip Nichols (Albany), 11. Randy Thornton (Oxford), 12. Brian Weimer (Cumming), DNS - Larry Friddle (Greenville, S.C.), DNS - Mike Abercromie (Jackson).


1. Bubba Harry (Griffin), 2. Austin Hill (Winston), 3. Jimmy Henderson (Conyers), 4. Currie Pierce (Griffin), 5. Ryan Gandee (McDonough), 6. Brecken Snow (St. George, Utah), 7. Dustin Ash (Las Vegas, Nev.), 8. Tina Johnson (Senoia), 9. Zack Kittle (Watkinsville), DNS - Justin Swilling (Cohutta).

Bandolero Promoter's Choice:

1. Ben Rhodes (Louisville, Ky.), 2. Chris Rhodes (Louisville, Ky.), 3. Josh Hicks (Senoia), 4. Jensen Jorgensen (Stockbridge).

Legends Promoter's Choice:

1. Donald McIntosh (Dawsonville), 2. P.J. Alexander (Covington), 3. Robbie Woodall (McDonough), 4. John Ponzio (Tyrone).