Drag racing full speed into summer, Atlanta Motor Speedway's second week of Friday Night Drags points racing was highlighted by local winners and near photo finishes.

Week two of Friday Night Drags saw just one repeat winner from week one - Jose Samaniego - but did include the return of a 2008 champion to Victory Lane, Locust Grove's "Hot Rod" Rodney Tolbert who won the 2008 ATV Championship.

In addition to hosting just one repeat win, an indication of the tight racing at Friday Night Drags, local racers dominated the show. Drag winners included two racers from Hampton, two drivers from Stockbridge and a pair from Jonesboro. The Show-N-Shine car show featured four award winners from Jackson and three from McDonough.

Points will be awarded each night during the 13-week points season in every class except the Domestic, Truck and Sport Compact classes. Each division winner will take home three points, second-place two points and the rest of the participants will be awarded one point. The competitor with the most points at the end of the season wins the championship title on September 11. In the event of a tie, the competitor with the most wins will be awarded the title.


Below is a complete list of the June 12 winners:

Super Pro: Frank Taylor (Gray) in a 1993 Chevrolet Lumina

Pro: Eddie Chapman (McDonough) in a 1969 Chevrolet Nova

Pro Four: Nicholas Feliciano (Griffin) in a 1986 Suzuki Samurai

Street Outlaw: Rick Gaddis (Molena) in a 1979 Chevrolet Camaro

Sportsman: Russell Johnson (Hampton) in a 1971 Chevrolet Camaro

Truck Advanced: Chuck Poole (Stockbridge) in a 1986 Chevrolet Silverado

Truck: Steven Fulton (Jonesboro) in a 1972 Chevrolet S10

Domestic Advanced: Heath Maddock (Alvaton) in a 1989 Ford Mustang

ATV: Rodney Tolbert (Locust Grove) on a 2003 Yamaha Banshee

Domestic: Jeremiah Simpson (Newnan) in a 1994 Ford Mustang

Sport Compact: Chris ill (Hampton) in a 1993 Honda Civic

Tuners: Jose Samaniego (Jonesboro) in a 1988 Honda CRX

Super Bike: Ryan Gibbs (Stockbridge) on a 1995 Suzuki Hayabusa

Motorcycle (Cruiser/Dirt bike): John Walker (McDonough) on a 2001 CR125


The Show N' Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars. Below is a complete list of the June 12 winners:

Showroom Current (1973 through current): Michelle Lee (Newnan) in a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro

Runner-up: Quendon Montgomery (McDonough) in a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro

Third-place: Stacy Huckaby (Fayetteville) in a Ford Cobra

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior): Adam Wallace (McDonough) in a 1969 Chevrolet El Camino

Runner-up: Jimmy Threzt in a 1970 Ford Mustang

Third-place: James Beckom (Tyrone) in a 1969Chevrolet Camaro

Tuner (all sport compact vehicles): Jesse Olive (Hampton) in a Toyota Scion XB

Runner-up: DJ Grimes (Mansfield) in a 2002 Acura RSX Type-S

Third-place: Chelsea Lorenz (McDonough) in a 1998 Acura CL

Current Custom (1973 through current): Joy Jones (Jackson) in a Ford Mustang GT

Runner-up: Neal Anthony (Fayetteville) in a Ford Mustang

Third-place: Richard Fryza (Jonesboro) in a Pontiac Firebird

Classic Custom (1972 and prior): Johnny Jones (Jackson) in a Willeyz Coupe

Runner-up: Linda Colley (Jonesboro) in a 1957 Chevrolet Z10

Third-place: Jerry Crawford (Newnan) in a Mercury M-100

Motorcycle: Earl Reed on a Harley Davidson

Runner-up: Kelly Garrett (Jackson) on a 2003 Honda VTX 1300

Third-place: John O'Connor Jr. (Jackson) on a Honda CBR 600rr


Special Class - '60s Muscle Cars: David Sisk (Fayetteville) in a Chevrolet Chevelle SS


Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags is held Friday nights through September 11. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start at 9:09 p.m. Entry for drag racing or the Show N' Shine is $20 or a combo ticket can be purchased for $30, spectator tickets are $7 for adults and children under six are free. More information can be found at www.atlantamotorspeedway.com.