Short-track racing returned to Atlanta Motor Speedway's "Thunder Ring" on Friday for the first on-track Winter Flurry action of the 2009-10 winter season of Legends, Bandolero and Thunder Roadster racing.

Mason Massey sat on the pole to start the Young Lions feature and jetted ahead before an early caution forced the field together. Following the restart, Chad Finchum laid chase briefly before Massey ran away with the win.

Alex Roberts led the Thunder Roadsters to the start and soon began to surge ahead of the field and build a large lead. However, Ed Clark began closing on the leader in the race's latter half, but ran out of laps to catch the leader in the 20-lap feature, giving Roberts the win.

Kason Plott held the advantage to begin the Bandits feature race, but Alex Coffey shot ahead in the race's opening moments. Trailed by Plott, Coffey pushed ahead of the pack before a three-car pileup in turn three forced a caution. Upon the restart, Coffey again moved out ahead of traffic, leaving Plott and Reed Hatchett chasing. Following a second, late caution, Plott once again assumed dominate position and carried his lead to the checkered flag for the win.

Garrett Smithley began with the advantage to start the combined classes of Young Guns and Outlaws. Smithley held the lead for the first half of the race, before Anderson Bowen nosed ahead momentarily before Smithley again moved in front. Bowen continued to push on Smithley's heels, but the Outlaw held firm and claimed the win among combined classes.

Robbie Woodall led the Semi-Pro class to the green flag, but Jake Armstrong pushed around the outside exiting turn two to take the lead on the first lap. By lap eight, Mike Conrad moved around Woodall for second as Armstrong had developed a large lead. However, shortly after a caution would bring the field together. On the restart, Conrad remained tight on Armstrong's car with Mike Weed behind. The three continued to move ahead of the field in the final laps, but both Conrad and Weed could not match Armstrong who claimed the win.

Atlanta Motor Speedway president Ed Clark captured the pole to start the Masters feature race. Clark was immediately challenged by Rick Geddes in the race's first moments, but Clark maintained his position and lead. Unchallenged in the remaining laps, Clark captured the checkered flag and win.

Jimmie Henderson led the Pro class to the start, but Jeff Haynie made an immediate move to overtake Henderson prior to the turn one entrance. With Henderson and Donald McIntosh trailing, Haynie led the lead group ahead of the pack. Haynie appeared poised to contend for the win, but Haynie exited the track on lap eight after his car appeared to break. Haynie's departure relinquished the lead to McIntosh, but he soon spun from contact exiting turn four and Henderson regained the lead en route to the win.

Race Two of the Winter Flurry season marked the first on-track activity for the series following Race One's postponement in October due to inclement weather. Race Three of the Winter Flurry season is scheduled for Dec. 12.

Fans interested in attending Winter Flurry Legends races at Atlanta Motor Speedway can purchase infield passes at the "Traffic Control" building located near the main entrance to Atlanta Motor Speedway. Infield passes are $12 for adults, $5 for ages six through 12, and children ages five and younger are admitted for free. The general grandstands are not open during winter-season Legends races.

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Peter Horne III at (770) 707-2977 or visit For more information on Atlanta Motor Speedway events, including Legends racing, drag racing and March's Kobalt Tools 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Race, visit

Winter Flurry Race Two Results:

Young Lions:
1. Mason Massey (Winston), 2. Chad Finchum (Knoxville, Tenn.), 3. Brady Boswell (Watkinsville), 4. Grayson York (Rocky Face), 5. Cameron Hadley (Concord), 6. Justin Thomas (Woodstock).

1. Alex Roberts (Monroe), 2. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 3. Dale Akridge (Lilburn).

1. Alex Coffey (McDonough), 2. Kason Plott (Marietta), 3. Reed Hatchelt (Knoxville, Tenn.), 4. John Curtiss (Columbus), 5. Angus Hunt (Marietta), 6. Joshua Hicks (Senoia), 7. Woodrow Mullis (Hoboken), 8. Jensen Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 9. Joe Wilder (Marietta).

1. Garrett Smithley (Peachtree City).

Young Guns:
1. Anderson Bowen, 2. Madeline Crane (Meansville), 3. Taylor Jorgensen (Stockbridge).

1. Jacob Armstrong (Fayetteville), 2. Mike Conrad (Dawson), 3. Mike Weed (Franklin), 4. Tyler Edwards (Acworth), 5. Robert Woodall (Dawsonville), 6. Alexander Fox, 7. R.S. Senter (Oakwood), 8. Mark Younginer (Stockbridge), 9. Bill Stevenson (Locust Grove), 10. Chris Bowie (Douglasville), 11. Mark Swan (Atlanta), 12. Jacob Bowie (Douglasville), 13. Luke Behnke (Fayetteville).

1. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 2. Rick Geddes (Newnan), 3. John Ponzio, 4. Bobby Fox.

1. Jimmie Henderson (Conyers), 2. Donald McIntosh (Dawsonville), 3. Kyle Kitchens (Hampton), 4. Kyle Plott (Marietta), 5. Jeff Haynie (Zebulon).