With another strong crowd of fans and racers present, excitement was aplenty Friday in the second week of Friday Night Drags and MCR Safety Show-N-Shine at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

A total of four drivers won their respective divisions for the second week in a row to start the 2011 Friday Night Drags season. Mark White of McDonough won the Super Pro Division for the second straight week with Nicolas Feliciano of Griffin claiming another victory in Sportsman, Locust Grove’s Scott White doing so in Truck Advanced and David Armstrong of McDonough winning for the second week in a row in the ATV Modified Division.

McDonough’s Rodney Tolbert earned his way to Victory Lane twice, winning the Truck Division in a Chevy Trailblazer and the ATV Division on a Yamaha Banshee.

Below is a complete list of the May 6 winners:

Super Pro: Mark White (McDonough) in a 1967 Shelby Mustang

Pro: Eddie Chapman (McDonough) in a 1969 Nova

Street Outlaw: Jerritt Scott (McDonough) in a 1969 AMX

Sportsman: Nicolas Fericiano (Griffin) in a 1984 Mazda RS7

Domestic: Tommy Buffington (Hampton) in a 1969 SS Chevelle

Truck Advanced: Scott White (Locust Grove) in a 1973 Chevrolet pick-up

Diesel Truck: Rick Gilbert (Locust Grove) in a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500

Truck: Rodney Tolbert (Locust Grove) in a Chevrolet Trailblazer

Domestic Advanced: David Holland (Jonesboro) 1988 Mustang Coupe

Tuner: Brad Mason (Atlanta) in a BMW 335i

Sport Compact: Ruben Quiambao (Philippines) in a Nissan 350z

Super Bike: Michael Gambill (McDonough) on a Suzuki Hayabusa

Street Motorcycle I: Derek Jennings (Dallas) on a Yamaha R1

Street Motorcycle II: Josh Kidd (Locust Grove) on a GSXR 600

Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Bradley Smith (Griffin) on a CR 500

ATV: Rodney Tolbert (Locust Grove) on a Yamaha Banshee

ATV Modified: David Armstrong (McDonough) on a Yamaha Banshee.

The MCR Safety Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and cars ranging as far back as the 1930s. 

Below is a complete list of the May 6 winners: 

 Showroom Current (1973 through current):

First Place: Reba Smith, Chevrolet Corvette

Second Place: Leigh Blakey, Pontiac Trans-Am

Third Place: Mike Lozano, 2006 Mercedes Benz

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior):

First Place: Pepper Norris, 1971 Duster

Second Place: Austin Beckley, 1967 Pontiac Firebird

Third Place: Tony Taylor, 1971 Chevelle

Tuner (all sport compact vehicles):

First Place: Mary Kilby, 1994 Honda Civic

Second Place: Heather Kleemeier, Scion TC

Third Place: Thomas Fugua, 1999 Nissan Maxima        

Classic Custom (1972 and prior):

First Place: Phil Reyey, 1961 VW Bug

Second Place: Johnny Jones 1941 Willys

Third Place: Bill Czap, 1969 Camaro

Current Custom (1973 through current):

First Place: Michael Bostwick, 2007 Mustang GT

Second Place: Dustin Northway, 2005 Mustang

Third Place: Christ Caney, 2001 Pontiac Trans-Am


First Place: Daniel Barker, Ford F-150

Second Place: Brad Buchgiorne, Ford F-150

Third Place: Austin Loper, Jeep Wrangler

Street Rod:

First Place: Earl Reed, 1934 Ford

Second Place: Jack Graves 1934 3-window coupe


First Place: Cody Kleinkauf, 2004 Big Dog

Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags resumes May 13. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for MCR Safety Show N’ Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $8 for adults and children under six are free.  More information can be found at www.atlantamotorspeedway.com.