The 2010 season of Friday Night Drags was christened Friday night at Atlanta Motor Speedway as an estimated crowd of more than 4,000 spectators enjoyed thrilling drag racing under the lights.

And although it was not a points race, many drivers familiar with winning at Friday Night Drags found themselves taking home first place trophies at night's end and in turn, generating momentum leading up to the Friday Night Drags points opener on June 4.

Two of those drivers were Friday Night Drags champions from 2009 – Tony Morse in the Pro Division and Stephen Fulton in Trucks.

Another winner was Billy Clevenger, who won three times in 2009 and did so again Friday in the Super Pro Division.

Friday Night Drags will resume May 14 and again May 21 for a pair of non-points races prior to the points opener. Trophies will be awarded both nights.

Friday Night Drags April 30 winners:
Super Pro: Billy Clevenger (Jonesboro) in a 1977 Chevrolet Vega
Pro: Tony Morse (Grantville) in a 1990 Pontiac Trans-Am
Pro Four: Samuel Mendiola (Atlanta) in a 1981 Toyota Corolla.
Street Outlaw: Don Parrot (Stockbridge) in a 1972 Chevrolet Luv
Sportsman: Joey Stone (Forest Park) in a 1977 Chevrolet Luv
Truck Advanced: Danny Mason (Locust Grove) in a 1968 Chevrolet
Truck: Stephen Fulton (Jonesboro) in a 1972 Chevrolet C-10
Domestic Advanced: Curtis Teal (Peachtree City) in a 1975 Chevrolet Luv
ATV: Rodney Tolbert (Locust Grove) on a Yamaha Banshee
Domestic: Jay Miller (Locust Grove) Chevrolet Corvette
Sport Compact: Ric Payne (Stockbridge) in an Infiniti G-35
Tuners: Dane Jones (Atlanta) in a 1993 Mitsubishi Eclipse
Super Bike: Adam Jones (McDonough) on a Suzuki GSXR1000
Radical: Charles Carter (Lithonia) on a Yamaha Banshee
Motorcycle: Jordan Collins (Zebulon) on a Suzuki GS 1000

The Show N' Shine April 30 winners:
Showroom Current (1973 through current): MJ Dorsey, 2010 Chevrolet Camaro
Runner-up: Tim Miles, 2006 Saleen
Third-place: Terry Jones, 2008 Dodge Challenger
Showroom Classic (1972 and prior): Keith Liles, 1969 Chevrolet Camaro
Runner-up: Randy Bennett, 1970 Rebel
Third-place: Ken Wharam, 1969 Chevrolet Camaro
Tuner (all sport compact vehicles): Jesse Olive, Scion Xb
Runner-up: Scooter Bug, Nissan 370
Third-place: Michael Baucom 1996 Toyota
Current Custom (1973 through current): Eddie Morales, 2005 Pontiac GTO
Runner-up: Patricia Hayes, 2003 Ford Mustang
Third-place Eric Thompson, 1985 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Classic Custom (1972 and prior): Wayne Hansard, 1970 Chevrolet Camaro
Runner-up: Bobby Richards, 1955 Bel Air
Third-place: Randy Long, 1936 Dodge Brother
Motorcycle: Ron Barnett, Honda VTX
Runner-up: Jessie Lonner, Z 1000
Stock Truck: Victor Padilla
Runner-Up: Andrew Grosveno
Third-place: Terry Cloffey
President's Choice: Arlene Berry, 1956 Chevrolet Nomad

Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags resumes May 14. The points opener is scheduled for June 4. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show N' Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $7 for adults and children under six are free. More information can be found at