With INEX points on the line at Atlanta Motor Speedway for the final time in 2010, short-track competitors raced in an Off-Season Legends event on Sunday for needed late-season points.

With just weeks remaining before INEX, the national-sanctioning body for Legends car racing, awards its state and national championships, competitors returned to Atlanta Motor Speedway to battle for critical points in six classes of Legends and Bandolero racing on the quarter-mile "Thunder Ring."

Woodrow Mullis started from the pole position in the Bandits feature race and quickly jumped to a commanding lead after an early caution, leaving a pack behind battling for the second and third positions. Chasing patiently, Joe Wilder moved into the third position on lap eight before passing Ashton Winger only one-lap later to take over second place. After a trio of late cautions regrouped the field, Mullis again jumped to the front to start a green, white and checkered-flag finish and proved uncatchable to claim the Bandits feature win.

Parker Barnes held the advantage to start the Outlaws feature and was trailed early by Madeline Crane and Alex Coffey. As the Outlaws feature progressed, Barnes and Crane steadily pulled away from the field, but Barnes would outpace Crane and the field to take the win. Coffey finished fourth after a late-race pass by Joey Padgett gave the Florida native third place.

The Young Lions feature began with Justin Thomas leading the field and he would build a 10-car length by the race's midpoint over Anderson Bowen and Mason Massey. With Thomas unchallenged and pulling away, Massey began working Bowen in the corners before taking over second on lap 18. However, Bowen would use the same strategy to retake his advantage just one lap later. But Massey again dove inside on the final lap for the pass, setting up a drag race to the finish for second with Bowen edging Massey to the line. Thomas, a one-time winner in Atlanta Motor Speedway's Thursday Thunder, claimed the win.

R.S. Senter paced the field to the start in the Semi-Pro feature race and immediately surged ahead of the field. As Senter cruised unobstructed to the win, Mike Weed and Luke Behnke battled behind and exchanged positions, with Behnke proving superior and finishing second in the Semi-Pro event. Senter entered the event fourth in the INEX Semi-Pro (Asphalt) points standings with 2,434 points, trailing first place by just 45 points.

Billy Fulson held the lead to start the combined classes of Pros and Masters. After trailing closely in the opening circuits, Taylor Hull and Justin Swilling dove to the inside of Fulson on Turn One to push the eight-time Thursday Thunder winner back to third. Trading positions in a flurry lap-by-lap, Hull, Swilling and Fulson jockeyed for position in a caution-free affair before Swilling emerged with the lead in the final laps and would hold the position for the win.

Legends racing will return to Atlanta Motor Speedway on Saturday, Nov. 6 for an Off-Season Legends event. For more information, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX or visit www.atlantamotorspeedway.com.

Sept. 19, 2010 Results:


1. Woodrow Mullis (Hoboken), 2. Joe Wilder (Marietta), 3. Reed Hatchet (Knoxville, Tenn.), 4. Joshua Hicks (Senoia), 5. Ashton Winger (Fayetteville), 6. Alton Clark (Newnan), 7. Devon Barnes, 8. Abagail Marin (Peachtree City).


1. Parker Barnes (Alpharetta), 2. Madeline Crane (Meansville), 3. Joey Padgett (Tallahassee, Fla.), 4. Alex Coffey (McDonough), 5. Tyler Mosley (McDonough), 6. Riley Thornton (Peachtree City), 7. Christopher Clanton (Brooks), DNS. Christian Thom.

Young Lions:

1. Justin Thomas (Woodstock), 2. Anderson Bowen (Suwanee), 3. Mason Massey (Winston), 4. Dalton Robertson, 5. A.J. Carlisi (Dalton).


1. R.S. Senter (Oakwood), 2. Luke Behnke (Fayetteville), 3. Mike Weed (Franklin), 4. Mike Conrad, 5. Mark Younginer (Jonesboro), 6. Mark Swan (Atlanta), 7. Chris Bowie (Douglasville), 8. Garrett Smithley (Peachtree City).


1. Justin Swilling (Cohutta), 2. Billy Fulson (Brooks), 3. Taylor Hull (Winston).


1. Scott Mosley (McDonough), 2. Mike Kennedy (Alpharetta), 3. John Ponzio, 4. Chris Holcomb (Alpharetta).