Fans witnessed history Thursday night as Skip Nichols of Albany surpassed Doug Stevens as the all-time feature win leader with 28 Thursday Thunder victories at Atlanta Motor Speedway with his Masters feature win. Fans were also treated to a pre-celebratory Fourth of July fireworks extravaganza from Marco's Pizza upon the completion of the seven classes of racing.

Brian Weimer began the Roadsters feature out front. On lap two, current points leader, Brian Meredith made a pass coming off turn one for the lead. With three laps to go, Taylor Hull wrestled his way to the front to claim the win, his third of the Thursday Thunder season.

The Morley Company Outlaws had Taylor Jorgensen leading the field to the start. On lap three, John Holleman stuck his nose to the inside of Jorgensen to make the pass for the top spot. On lap 17, Joey Padgett dove inside of Holleman to take the lead and score his first Thursday Thunder win this summer.

Kyle Plott was the pole sitter for the OCP Angus Farms Pro feature. Tyler Lester made the pass coming off of turn two on lap two for the lead. With two laps to go, Lester's motor let go, handing the lead to Donald McIntosh which he held to the end to grab his second 2010 Thursday Thunder victory.

Don Chandler took the green flag to get the Masters feature underway. Points leader Nichols was right on Chandler's back bumper until he took over command on lap five coming off turn four. Nichols led the remaining circuits and made history with his win, logging his 28th career Thursday Thunder win, surpassing Stevens for the all-time win title in the record books.

The Dixie Home Crafters Semi-Pro began with Chris Bowie as the point man. Jake Armstrong moved to the front on the first lap. Armstrong led 19 of the 20 laps to capture his first Thursday Thunder victory in 2010.

Jensen Jorgensen held the pole position for the Marco's Pizza Bandits feature. By the time the field finished the first lap, Joe Wilder had shot through the field to become the leader. Points leader Alex Coffey blew by Wilder to become the leader while sporting a new black paint scheme. The new paint scheme proved to be a winner as Coffey posted his third feature win in six starts during this Thursday Thunder season.

The Young Lions feature started with A.J. Carlisi as the leader. Second-place Mason Massey and Carlisi made contact and both spun around, turning the lead over to points leader, Sean Rayhall. Rayhall pulled away from the field, led the rest of the race and seized his fourth feature win in six starts of this 2010 summer series.

Thursday Thunder returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway's "Thunder Ring" on Thursday, July 8 with feature racing in all classes plus a Halloween in July theme night where fans are encouraged to sport a costume. Trick-or-treating will take place during the autograph session and a prize will be awarded for best costume. Adult tickets are $5 and children ages six to 11 are just $1, while ages five and under are admitted free of charge.

An additional fireworks show from Marco's Pizza will take place during the Friday Night Drags event on Friday, July 2 at Atlanta Motor Speedway. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and the fireworks show will precede drag elimination rounds at approximately 9:30 p.m. Adult tickets $7 with kids under six free.

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Peter Horne III at (770) 707-2977 or visit For more information on Atlanta Motor Speedway events, including Thursday Thunder,

Week 5 Results:


1. Taylor Hull (Winston), 2. Adam Gay (Dublin), 3. Brian Meredith (Locust Grove), 4. Brian Weimer (Cumming), 5. Tina Johnson (Senoia), 6. Skip Nichols (Albany).

Morley Company Outlaws:

1. Joey Padgett (Tallahassee, Fla.), 2. John Holleman (Winston-Salem, N.C.), 3. Madeline Crane (Meansville), 4. Tyler Mosley (McDonough), 5. Taylor Jorgenson (Stockbridge), 6. John Gregg (Winston-Salem, N.C.), 7. Jayme Dickerson (Dawsonville), 8. Riley Thornton (Peachtree City), 9. Amber Fleeman (Dacula), 10. Jami Weiner (Cumming), 11. Christopher Clanton (Brooks), 12. Parker Barnes (Alpharetta).

OCP Angus Farms Pro:

1. Donald McIntosh (Dawsonville), 2. Taylor Hull (Winston), 3. Jimmy Henderson (Conyers), 4. Kyle Plott (Marietta), 5. Tyler Lester (Dallas, N.C.).


1. Skip Nichols (Albany), 2. Scott Moseley (McDonough), 3. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 4. Rick Geddes (Newnan), 5. Bill Plemmons, Jr. (Greensboro), 6. Don Chandler (Macon), 7. Philip Young (Dallas), 8. Bruce Silver (Davidson, N.C.), 9. Larry Friddle (Greenville, S.C.), 10. Mike Kennedy (Alpharetta).

Dixie Home Crafters Semi-Pro:

1. Jacob Armstrong (Senoia), 2. William Plemmons III (Smyrna), 3. R.S. Senter (Oakwood), 4. Gregory Lang (Davidson, N.C.), 5. Mike Weed (Franklin), 6. Garrett Smithley (Peachtree City), 7. Luke Behnke (Fayetteville), 8. Amber Colvin (Tallahassee, Fla.), 9. Mark Swan (Atlanta), 10. Chris Bowie (Douglasville), 11. Jordan Coker (Powder Springs), 12. Jerry Silvers (Calhoun), 13. Bill Stevenson (McDonough), 14. Mark Younginer (Jonesboro).

Marco's Pizza Bandits:

1. Alex Coffey (McDonough), 2. Jensen Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 3. Joshua Hicks (Senoia), 4. John Curtiss (Columbus), 5. Reed Hatchett (Knoxville,Tenn.), 6. Christopher Tullis (Dacula), 7. Ashton Winger (Fayetteville), 8. Abigail Marin (Peachtree City), 9. Joe Wilder (Marietta), 10. Alton Clark (Newnan), 11. Ryan Massaro (Gadsen, Ala.), 12. Seth Werner (Iron Station, N.C.), 13. Woodrow Mullis (Hoboken), 14. Zachary Leonhardi (Smyrna).

Young Lions:

1. Sean Rayhall (Winston), 2. Anderson Bowen (Suwanee), 3. A.J. Carlisi (Dalton), 4. Kason Plott (Marietta), 5. Charlie Gresham (Griffin), 6. Mason Massey (Winston), 7. Jonathan Lybrand (Newnan), 8. Cameron Hadley (Concord).