Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine kicks off its sixth full season of drag racing with opening night on April 27. The 2012 season will feature 18 nights of racing on the 1/8-mile pit lane drag strip at AMS. In what has become one of the country’s most popular drag racing series, all 16 divisions of competition will run Friday nights from April 27 through Aug. 17. Racing will then resume on Sept. 14 and Sept. 21 for the two week Fall Stampede following the track’s AdvoCare 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series weekend, Aug. 31-Sept. 2.

AMS has maintained ticket prices to match those from last season. Tickets will once again cost just $8 for adults with children five and under free. Gates open each night at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations starts at 9:09 p.m. Those wishing to view the action from a smoke and alcohol free section can do so in section 126.

Nightly Show-N-Shine competition will feature eight divisions for judging. Entry to the Show-N-Shine costs $20. All Show-N-Shine entrants may participate in the weekly Speedway Parade around the 1.54-mile facility following judging, prior to the beginning of drag race competition. Following the Speedway Parade, fans will have the opportunity to view the vehicles from the Show-N-Shine on the speedway’s frontstretch.

Drag racing competition is open to all participants for a $20 entry fee. Vehicles are required to have a working seat belt and each driver must have a D.O.T. approved helmet to participate.

Drag racing points champions will have the opportunity to be introduced to the crowd prior to NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver introductions for the AdvoCare 500 on Sunday, Sept. 2. All Show-N-Shine winners will have the chance to participate in a car show on the speedway’s front stretch during the Labor Day NASCAR weekend at AMS.

Below is a full 2012 schedule for Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine:

2012 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine Schedule

April 27 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine Season Opener
May 4 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Sportsman Clash
May 11 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Mayor Match-Up
May 18 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Super Pro Challenge I
June 1 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Georgia Racing Hall of Fame display
June 8 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Super Bike Shoot-Out
June 15 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Kids Power Wheel races
June 22 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Super Pro Challenge II, Motorcycle Mania
June 29 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Kids Candy Scramble
July 6 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, America’s Birthday Celebration with Fireworks
July 13 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Top the Cops night
July 20 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Super Pro Challenge III
July 27 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Double Points night
Aug. 3 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Pro Division Showdown
Aug. 10 Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine, Super Pro Challenge IV
Aug. 17 Friday Night Drags Championship Night & Show-N-Shine, Motorcycle Mania
Sept. 14 Friday Night Drags Fall Stampede & Show-N-Shine, Street Outlaw
Shootout
Sept. 21 Friday Night Drags Fall Stampede & Show-N-Shine, 2012 Awards
Ceremony

For more information on Friday Night Drags or Atlanta Motor Speedway, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX, or visit www.atlantamotorspeedway.com/drags

NASCAR night racing returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway on Labor Day weekend, Aug. 31-Sept. 2, 2012. Reserve your AdvoCare 500 ticket now. For more information, call the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (877) 9-AMS-TIX, (770) 946-4211 or visit www.atlantamotorspeedway.com.