Friday Night Drags and MCR Safety Show-N-Shine continued its season Friday at Atlanta Motor Speedway, with fans being treated to a wide cross-section of drivers finishing the night in Victory Lane.

Friday Night Drags not only saw three drivers win their third race in a row to begin the season, but also saw a handful of championship favorites emerge victorious to begin 2011.

Two McDonough racers, Mark White and David Armstrong in addition to Griffin’s Nicolas Feliciano each continued a three-race winning streak to begin the season in their respective classes of Super Pro, ATV Modified and Sportsman.

A trio of drivers well known to local drag racing fans also claimed division victories. Mason Mercure of Fairburn won the Super Bike Division on a 2008 Suzuki Hayabusa with Stockbridge’s Chuck Poole winning Truck Advanced in a 1986 Chevrolet. David Sisk claimed victory in the Pro Division behind the wheel of a 1968 Chevrolet Camaro.  

Below is a complete list of the May 13 winners:

Super Pro: Mark White (McDonough) in a 1967 Shelby Mustang

Pro: David Sisk (Fayetteville) in a 1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Street Outlaw: Charles Street (Griffin) in a 1985 Mustang GT

Sportsman: Nicolas Feliciano (Griffin) in a 1984 Mazda RS7

Domestic: Darrell Hallford (Senoia) in a 1995 Ford Mustang

Truck Advanced: Chuck Poole (Stockbridge) in a 1986 Chevrolet

Truck: Buddy Patrick (Stockbridge) in a 1948 Willys

Domestic Advanced: Terry Bates (Locust Grove) in a 1988 Ford Mustang 331

Tuner: Michael Martin (McDonough) in a 240SX

Sport Compact: Ruben Quiambao (Philippines) in a Nissan 350z

Super Bike: Mason Mercure (Fairburn) on a 2008 Suzuki Hayabusa

Street Motorcycle I: Daryl Barge (Hampton) on a GSXR 750

Street Motorcycle II: Cham Sadiq (Tuskegee, Ala.) on a Yamaha R6

Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Robert Thomas (Griffin) on a Harley Davidson

Sportbike: Bryan Berube (Forest Park) on a Suzuki Hayabusa

ATV: Lamar Fitzgibbon (Griffin) on a Yamaha Banshee

ATV Modified: David Armstrong (McDonough) on a Yamaha Banshee.

Junior Dragster: Austin Carden (McDonough) in a Junior Dragster

The MCR Safety Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and cars ranging as far back as the 1930s.  Below is a complete list of the May 13 winners: 

Showroom Current (1973 through current):

First Place: Chris Gallagher (Fayetteville), 1998 Pontiac Trans-AM

Second Place: Robert Botsford (Griffin), 2007 Mustang GT

Third Place: Darryl Shoemaker (Hampton), Ford Mustang

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior):

First Place: Bobby Cartwright (Lovejoy), 1966 Chevelle 

Second Place: Amber Miller (Jonesboro), 1965 Mustang GT

Tuner (all sport compact vehicles):

First Place: Deanna Hall (Griffin), 1999 Honda Accord

Second Place: Darryl Shoemaker (Hampton), Nissan 350z

Third Place: Jonathan Thomas (Fayetteville), 1999 BMW M3

Classic Custom (1972 and prior):

First Place: Calvin Lewis (Stockbridge), 1972 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme

Current Custom (1973 through current):

First Place: Chris Carey (Griffin), Pontiac Trans-Am

Second Place: Michael Bostwick (Griffin), 2007 Ford Mustang GT

Third Place: Tommy Peters (Jackson Lake), 1999 Ford Mustang GT


First Place: Richard Doughty, 2000 Dodge Durango

Second Place: Brad Buongiorne (Newnan), Ford F-150

Third Place: Scooter Johnson (Senoia), 2010 Chevrolet 1500

Street Rod:

First Place: Keith Rogers (McDonough), 1934 Ford Coupe


First Place: Sherry Siriatli, 2004 Honda CBR 4F1

President’s Choice: Jim and Teri Ainsworth (Stockbridge), 1960 Rolls Royce Silver Cloud

Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags resumes May 20. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m. There will be no event on May 27.

Entry to drag race or for MCR Safety Show N’ Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $8 for adults and children under six are free.  More information can be found at