Midseason points champions were crowned during Week 10 of Friday Night Drags and MCR Safety Show-N-Shine at Atlanta Motor Speedway, with one division title not being decided until the final round of drag racing eliminations. Each division’s midseason points champion will race the second-half champion on August 19 to determine the overall 2011 points champion for each drag racing division at Friday Night Drags.

The Street Outlaw Division, one of the most hotly contested divisions at Friday Night Drags, saw its midseason points title go down to the division’s final race of the night with Chris Stripling of Stockbridge facing off against Jason “Spike” Thomas, also of Stockbridge. Both competitors entered the night tied atop the Street Outlaw points standings and advanced to the final, where Thomas, driving a 1967 Chevrolet Camaro, was awarded victory after Stripling jumped the start in his 1987 Ford Mustang.

Another midseason points title decided deep into the night was the Diesel Truck Division with Roger Floyd’s semifinal win over Dwayne Bethune clinching the midseason points title.

Other midseason points champions are Mark White of McDonough (Super Pro), David Harbin of McDonough (Pro), Bill Hatfield of Hampton (Sportsman), Curtis Teal of Peachtree City (Domestic Advanced), Danny Mason (Truck Advanced), David Sheffield (Truck), Gene Daniel (Domestic), Jimmy Harris/Sean Dixon (Pro Four), Ruben Quiambao (Sport Compact), Bobby Bramblett of Loganville (Tuner), Michael Gamble (Super Bike), Kevin Connolly (Sport Bike), Jason Lowery of Williamson (Street Motorcycle One), Cham Sadiq of Tuskegee, Ala., (Street Motorcycle Two) and Jacob Turner of Griffin (Cruiser/Dirt Bike).

Below is a complete list of the July 8 winners:

Super Pro: Tony Morse (Grantville) in a 1990 Pontiac Trans-Am

Pro: David Harbin (McDonough) in a 1969 Chevy Nova

Street Outlaw: Jason Thomas (Stockbridge) in a 1967 Chevy Camaro

Sportsman: Bill Hatfield (Hampton) in a 1991 Ford Mustang

Domestic: Donnie Henderson (Hampton) in a 1980 Chevy Malibu

Truck Advanced: Danny Mason (Locust Grove) in a 1968 Chevrolet

Truck: Buddy Patrick (Stockbridge) 1948 Willys Truck

Diesel Truck: Rick Gilbert (Locust Grove) in a 1995 Dodge Ram

Domestic Advanced: Terry Bates (Locust Grove) in a 1988 Ford Mustang 331

Pro Four: Jimmy Harris (McDonough) in a 1966 Volkswagen Bug

Tuner: Luis Feliciano (Griffin) in a 1989 Toyota Tercel

Sport Compact: Nhan Ho (Stockbridge) in a Nissan 350z

Super Bike: Michael Gamble (McDonough) on a Suzuki Hayabusa

Street Motorcycle II: Cham Sadiq (Tuskegee, Ala.) on a Yamaha R6

Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Jacob Turner (Griffin) on a 1987 Honda CR 500

Sportbike: Brandon Turner (Forest Park) on a GSXR 750

ATV Modified: Bobby Grant (Forest Park) on a Yamaha Banshee

The MCR Safety Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and cars ranging as far back as the 1930s.  Below is a complete list of the July 8 winners: 

Showroom Current (1973 through current):

First Place: Al Pinion, 2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Second Place: Joy Jones, 2011 Mustang GT

Third Place: Josh Husak, 2011 Speedfactory Charger

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior):

First Place: Michelle Sheperd, 1960 Corvette

Second Place: Laura Sheperd, 1972 Oldsmobile Cutlass

Third Place: Jim Burnette, 1971 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Tuner (all sport compact vehicles):

First Place: Jeff Cody, 2009 Honda Civic

Second Place: Dane Owens, Scion Xb

Third Place: Josh Keohavong, 1995 SC300

Classic Custom (1972 and prior):

First Place: Gene Fuller, 1955 Chevrolet

Second Place: Wayne Hansard, 1970 Chevrolet Camaro

Third Place: Bill Czap, 1969 Camaro RS/SS

Current Custom (1973 through current):

First Place: Jessica Craddock, 2008 Ford Mustang

Second Place: Justin Sherman, 2002 Dodge Intrepid SE

Third Place: Nadine Knowles, Ford F-350

Street Rod:

First Place: Bill Russell, 1936 Ford STI engine


First Place: Chris Cody, 2011 Road Guide Ultra

Second Place: Wayne Rooks, 2002 VRod

Third Place: Ben Goodman, 2004 Honda VTX

President’s Choice:

Ricky Knight, 1957 Ford Custom 300

Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags resumes July 15. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for MCR Safety Show N’ Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $8 for adults and children under six are free.  More information can be found at www.atlantamotorspeedway.com