In the penultimate event for the 2011 edition of Friday Night Drags and MCR Safety Show-N-Shine at Atlanta Motor Speedway, double points were awarded to drag racers competing on the pit lane drag strip. Several drivers took advantage of the opportunity, setting up for an exciting championship night next week.

In what has suddenly become a hotly-contested points battle, the Super Pro division saw a standings shake-up. Bobby Daniel claimed victory in the final round, defeating the substitute driver for Tony Morse. It was Daniel's second victory of the year and his second win in as many weeks. With points awarded to the car, Morse maintains his points lead, but Daniel has pulled within one point of the lead. Daniel's win sets up what is expected to be an exciting showdown next week for the opportunity to face Mark White for the overall season championship in the Super Pro division.

In the Domestic division, points leader Ron Wiese raced his 1988 Ford Mustang Coupe to his third win of 2011. The win, coupled with double points, helps put Wiese in position to claim the second half points championship and go head-to-head with first half champion Gene Daniel.

At the same time, a couple of current points leaders helped propel themselves towards defending their first half points championship, taking away the need for a head-to-head battle next week. In the Truck Advanced division, Danny Mason took home his eighth win of the season, which also distances himself from Chuck Poole and Andrew Pride in the standings.

Also in the Cruiser/Dirt Bike division, Jacob Turner rode his 1987 Honda CR 500 to his ninth victory in the 2011 campaign. Turner extends his points lead over second place Stan Lowery, and looks to wrap up both the first and second half championships next week on championship night.

The season's first and second half points champions will race against one another on August 19 to determine the season's overall points champion. If the same driver wins both first and second half championships, they are awarded the overall points championship. Below is a complete list of the August 12 winners:

Super Pro: Bobby Daniel (Stockbridge) in a 1999 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS
Pro: David Harbin (McDonough) in a 1969 Chevrolet Nova
Street Outlaw: Shannon Shelton (Fayetteville) in a 2000 Pontiac Trans-Am
Sportsman: Vic Vickers (McDonough) in a 1988 Ford Mustang
Domestic: Ron Wiese (McDonough) in a 1988 Ford Mustang Coupe
Truck Advanced: Danny Mason (Locust Grove) in a 1968 Chevrolet
Truck: Shelton Maynard (Hampton) in a 1972 Chevrolet C-10
Diesel Truck: Roy Slaughter (McDonough) in a 2003 Dodge Ram 3500
Domestic Advanced: Stephen DeFayette (Sharpsburg) in a 1988 Mazda RX7
Pro Four: Jose Samaniego (Jonesboro) in a 1995 Honda Civic
Tuner: Justin Huckabee (Hampton) in a 1977 Datsun 280 ZX
Sport Compact: Daniel Karr (Stockbridge) in a 2007 Honda Civic Si
Super Bike: Justin Black (Byron) on a 2005 Suzuki GSX-R1000
Street Motorcycle I: Jason Lowery (Williamson) on a 2004 Honda CB900
Street Motorcycle II: Chad Meadows (Loganville) on a 2003 Suzuki GSX-R
Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Jacob Turner (Griffin) on a 1987 Honda CR 500
Sport Bike: Kier Freeman (Fayetteville) on a 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa
ATV: Daniel Rice (Jonesboro) on a 2008 Yamaha Raptor 700R
ATV Modified: Bobby Grant (Forest Park) on a Yamaha Banshee

The MCR Safety Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and cars ranging as far back as the 1930s. Vehicles on display included semi-trucks, which were the MCR Safety Show-N-Shine special class for the evening. Below is a complete list of the August 12 winners:

Showroom Current (1973 through current):
First Place: Javier Cohon, 2007 Ford Mustang Shelby GT 500
Second Place: Jeremy King, 1986 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS
Third Place: Russ Walker, 2011 Ford Mustang

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior):
First Place: Bob Haggard, 1970 Chevrolet Nova
Second Place: Keith Lileo, 1969 Chevrolet Camaro Z-28
Third Place: Rod Harris, 1971 Chevrolet Camaro Z-28

Tuner (all sport compact vehicles):
First Place: Lefty Lawson, 2003 BMW
Second Place: Vernesto Walker, Chrysler Crossfire
Third Place: Sean Goats, 1999 Honda Civic Si

Classic Custom (1972 and prior):
First Place: Andy Sarratt, 1962 Chevrolet Bel Air
Second Place: Gary Lee, 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS
Third Place: Andy Coker, 1967 Chevrolet Camaro

Current Custom (1973 through current):
First Place: Richard Hewatt, Ford Shelby Mustang GT500
Second Place: Justin Sherman, 2002 Dodge Intrepid SE
Third Place: Ricki French, 2010 Dodge Challenger

First Place: Rob Riggs, 1967 Chevrolet C10
Second Place: Jackson Towing, 2001 Peterbilt
Third Place: Nadine Knowles, Ford F-350

Street Rod:
First Place: Carlton Pittman, Volkswagen Rail

First Place: Jeremy Wolfe, 2009 Yamaha Raider
Second Place: Sherry Siviani, 2004 Honda CBR F4i

President's Choice:
Tony Evans, 1965 Comet

Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags resumes August 19 for championship night. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for MCR Safety Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $8 for adults and children under six are free. More information can be found at