The 2011 season of Friday Night Drags and MCR Safety Show-N-Shine kicked off in a big way Friday with a wide cross-section of repeat and first-time winners in Atlanta Motor Speedway’s summer drag racing series.

Atlanta Motor Speedway will donate a dollar from each grandstand ticket sold on Friday to assist American Red Cross relief efforts to assist victims of tornado and severe storm damage. More than 5,000 fans saw Friday night’s action from the Atlanta Motor Speedway grandstands.

Mark White of McDonough earned his first trip to Victory Lane in the Super Pro Class while defending division champion Jason Thomas was also among Friday’s winners, taking the top spot in the Street Outlaw Division. Cham Sadiq came to Friday Night Drags from Tuskegee Ala., but left with the division win in Street Motorcycle II.

Below is a complete list of the April 29 winners:

Super Pro: Mark White (McDonough) in a 1967 Shelby Mustang

Pro: David Sisk (Fayetteville) in a 1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Street Outlaw: Jason Thomas (Stockbridge) in 1967 Chevrolet Camaro

Sportsman: Nicolas Fericiano (Griffin) in a 1984 Mazda RS7

Domestic: Glenn Brown (Meansville) in a 1955 Chevrolet

Truck Advanced: Scott White (Locust Grove) in a 1973 Chevrolet pick-up

Diesel Truck: Kyle Cagliani (Hampton) 2006 Dodge Ram

Truck: Buddy Patrick (Stockbridge) 1948 Willys Truck

Domestic Advanced: Jon Stovall (Alpharetta) 2006 Dodge Viper

Pro Four: Samuel Mendiola (Chamblee) 1982 Toyota Corolla

Tuner: Jose Samaniego (Jonesboro) 1994 Honda Civic

Sport Compact: Bobby Bramblett (Loganville) in a Volkswagen Rail Car (Dune Buggy)

Super Bike: Mark Haldeman (Forest Park) on a Suzuki 1300 Hayabusa

Street Motorcycle II: Cham Sadiq (Tuskeegee, Ala.) on a Yamaha R6

Junior Dragster: Austin Carden (McDonough) in a junior dragster.

ATV: John Turner on a Yamaha Banshee.

ATV Modified: David Armstrong (McDonough) on a Yamaha Banshee.

The MCR Safety Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and cars ranging as far back as the 1930s. 

Below is a complete list of the April 29 winners: 

Showroom Current (1973 through current):

First Place: Ivan Hawkins, 2004 Chevrolet Corvette

Second Place: Mark Castilla, 1978 Corvette

Third Place: Chris Gallagher, 1998 Pontiac Trans-Am

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior):

First Place: Wayne Hansard, 1970 Chevrolet Camaro

Second Place: Keith Lileo, 1969 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

Third Place: Marty Morrow, 1967 Ford Mustang

Tuner (all sport compact vehicles):

First Place: Mitch Miller, 2004 Ford Focus

Second Place: Sasha Holley, 2011 Kia

Third Place: Robert Bailey, 1994 Nissan        

Current Custom (1973 through current):

First Place: Stephen Kochik, Ford Mustang

Second Place: Patricia Hayes 2003 Ford Mustang

Third Place: James Robinson, Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Classic Custom (1972 and prior):

First Place: Joe Banks, 1967 Chevrolet Nova

Second Place: Johnny Jones 1941 Willys

Third Place: Tony Manning, 1967 Pontiac Firebird


First Place: Earl Millirins, 2005 Peterbilt

Second Place: Randy Thornton, 1956 F-100

Third Place: Dan Jones, 1964 Chevrolet C-10

Street Rod:

First Place: Bill Steele, 1937 Plymouth

Second Place: Jesse Beck, 1941 pick-up


First Place: Taylor Hohenberger, 2004 GSTR 1000

Second Place: Gary Alessi, 2006 Harley

Third Place: Michael Crews, 2006 Harley

President’s Award:

Ron Carroll, 1957 Ford Thunderbird

Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags resumes May 6 and its points opener is June 3. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for MCR Safety Show N’ Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $8 for adults and children under six are free.  More information can be found at