Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Thursday Thunder featured a trio of racers who after the third week of short-track racing action are undefeated in their respective classes: Parker Barnes in the Morley Company Outlaws division, Joshua Hicks in the Papa John’s Pizza Bandits division and Skip Nichols in the Thunder Roadsters.

Walker Yates was the pole sitter for the Morley Company Outlaws feature. On lap seven, Amber Fleeman stuck her nose to the inside of Yates in turn one to move up to the top spot. Points leader Parker Barnes started from the eighth position but moved up to the second by lap 11 and took the lead on lap 12. Barnes collected the victory and remains undefeated in the 2011 Thursday Thunder season, winning three weeks in a row.

The combined Pro and Masters feature kicked off with Taylor Hull as the point man. Hull held off a hard-charging Sean Rayhall to pick up his ninth career Thursday Thunder trophy. Brian Weimer, driving for Terry Mathis, was the highest finishing Masters driver and logged the win.

The Papa John’s Pizza Bandits feature opened with Chandler Smith in the lead. Devon Barnes charged to the front on the first lap. Four laps later, Ashton Winger maneuvered his way to the first position. Points leader Joshua Hicks started in the rear, but charged up to first by lap six. Snagging the win, Hicks has a perfect record in the first three weeks of Thursday Thunder.  

Alan Nolan paced the field to the green for the Buzz Cars feature. Scott Kasparek shot to the front on lap two. On lap nine, points leader Michael Karp dove to the inside of a lap-down car, while Kasparek took the high line, allowing Karp to make the pass for the lead. A caution late in the race tightened up the field and set up a one-lap dash to the checkered flag. Karp held on to capture his second win of the season.  

The Semi-Pro feature got underway with Mike Weed as the leader. On lap 12, William Plemons III muscled his way to top spot. Leading the remaining circuits, Plemons posted his fifth career Thursday Thunder victory, his second of the 2011 season. 

Justin Thomas took the green flag to set off the Young Lions feature. Evan Bell made the pass to become the leader on lap one. Week two winner Mason Massey climbed his way from seventh to first by lap five. Massey scored his 11th Thursday Thunder career win and his second straight win of the 2011 campaign.  

The Roadsters feature began with James Meredith on the pole, but Ed Clark made an early jump to the front. Points leader Skip Nichols got by Clark on lap six and led the rest of the feature. Nichols continues to pad the record books, claiming his 33rd Thursday Thunder career victory and his third straight Roadster win of the season.

Short-track racing returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway on Thursday, June 24 for number four of the ten-week Thursday Thunder summer short-track racing series. Next week features the annual Faster Pastor race, where six area church leaders race in AMS’ version of the Holy War. Tickets for the affordable, family-friendly racing series costs just $6 for adults, $2 for children ages six through 11 and is free for children ages five and younger. For more information, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX or visit

For more information on Buzz Cars racing at Atlanta Motor Speedway, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Events Department at (770) 946-3954.

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Dwight Pilgram at (770) 707-2977 or visit

Race Results:

Morley Company Outlaws:

1. Parker Barnes (Roswell), 2. Amber Fleeman (Dacula), 3. John Curtiss (Columbus), 4. Taylor Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 5. Madeline Crane (Meansville), 6. Tyler Mosley (McDonough), 7. Riley Thornton (Peachtree City), 8. Walker Yates (Clemmon, N.C.), 9. Alton Clark (Newnan), 10. Christian Thom (Peachtree City), 11. Jenson Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 12. Christopher Clanton (Brooks).


1. Taylor Hull (Winston), 2. Sean Rayhall (Winston), 3. R.S. Senter (Oakwood).


1. Brian Weimer (Cumming) substitute driving for Terry Mathis (Cumming), 2. Bill Plemons, Jr. (Forsyth), 3. Skip Nichols (Albany), 4. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 5. Mark Swan (Athens), 6. Tina Johnson (Senoia).

Papa John’s Bandits:

1. Joshua Hicks (Senoia),  2. Ashton Winger (Fayetteville), 3. Devon Barnes (Roswell), 4. Chandler Smith (Talking Rock), 5. Zach Leonhardi (Smyrna), 6. Chase Evans (Auburn), 7. Ronnie Osmer (Pearl River, La.), 8. Abigail Marin (Peachtree City), 9. Chambers McGilberry (Selma, Ala.), 10. Connor Younginer (Stockbridge), 11. Austin Geer (Johns Creek), 12. Reid Morris (Carrollton). 

Buzz Cars:

1. Michael Karp (Woodstock), 2. Alan Nolan (Hartwell), 3. Dave Sherman (Monroe), 4. Buddy Brewer (Griffin), 5. Josh Ballard (Hampton), 6. Scott Kasparek (Sharpsburg), 7. Dustin Sattefield.


1. William Plemons III (Locust Grove), 2. Luke Behnke (Fayetteville), 3. Casey Willingham (Ball Ground), 4. Jordan Coker (Powder Springs), 5. Michael Buckner (Conyers), 6. Stuart Wilkerson (Auburn, Ala.), 7. Tyler Armstrong (Senoia), 8. Mike Weed (Franklin), 9. Mark Younginer (Stockbridge), 10. C.J. Pucko (Covington), 11. Hub Talbot (Smyrna).

Young Lions:

1. Mason Massey (Douglasville), 2. Benjamin Rhodes (Louisville, Ky.), 3. Evan Bell (Buford), 4. Justin Thomas (Woodstock), 5. Austin Cindric (Mooresville, N.C.), 6. Austin Garvey (McDonough), 7. Will Fagan (Cumming), 8. John Tullis (Dacula), 9. Alex Coffey (McDonough), 10. Jami Weimer (Cumming), 11. Camron Ray (Hernando, Fla.), 12. Woodrow Mullis (Hoboken), 13. Anderson Bowen (Suwanee), 14. Grant Crane (Zebulon), 15. Trevin Aswarnauth (Loganville).


1. Skip Nichols (Albany), 2. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 3. James Meredith (Locust Grove), 4. Mark Swan (Atlanta).