The 2010 season of Friday Night Drags powered its way toward the summer Friday as there was a new feel to Victory Lane for many competitors. Just one winner from the first week of competition claimed a division victory Friday in the second of three non-points races prior to the points opener on June 4.

With a crowd of more than 4,500 fans on hand, Samuel Mendiola of Atlanta was the lone repeat winner from the first week of Friday Night Drags, winning in Pro Four.

Bobby Daniel ensured that the Super Pro division would not have a repeat winner. In a possible preview of the 2010 season in Super Pro, Daniel edged Billy Clevenger in the night's final race. Clevenger and Daniel combined to win 5-of-11 times in Super Pro a year ago.

"It's always good to come out here and run well, but the main thing is just having fun and being around all of our friends out here," Daniel said. "It's more about fun than anything else."

Friday Night Drags will resume May 21, the final non-points race before the points opener on June 4. There will be no drag racing on May 28.

Friday Night Drags May 14 winners:
Super Pro: Bobby Daniel (Stockbridge) in a 2000 Chevrolet Corvette
Pro: Alan Kidd (Stockbridge) in a 1963 Chevrolet Corvette
Pro Four: Samuel Mendiola (Atlanta) in a 1981 Toyota Corolla.
Street Outlaw: Daryl Stiles in (Williamson) in a 1967 Chevrolet Camaro
Sportsman: Ramiro Escobedo (Hampton) in a 1990 Ford Mustang
Truck Advanced: Rick Gilbert (Locust Grove) in a Dodge Ram 2500
Truck: David Sheffield (Covington) in a 1971 Ford F-100
ATV: Matthew Shelton (Locust Grove) on a Yamaha YFZ 450
Domestic: Peter Rogowski (Dallas) in a 1992 Ford Ranger
Sport Compact: Tim Schultz (McDonough) in a Honda Del Sol
Tuners: Kenny Ramsey (Griffin) in a 1995 Dodge Neon
Super Bike: Mason Mercure (Fairburn) on a 2008 Suzuki Hayabusa
Radical: Virgil Willis (Hampton) on a Go-Kart
Motorcycle: Kevin Connolly (Hampton) 2009 Yamaha

The Show N' Shine May 14 winners:
Showroom Current (1973 through current): Scott Nelson, 2010 Roush 42712 Mustang
Runner-up: Steve Weisman, 2001 Chevrolet Camaro
Third-place: Matthew Parson, 2008 Dodge Caliber
Showroom Classic (1972 and prior): David Holland, 1968 Tornado
Runner-up: Tonya Poole, 64.5 Mustang
Tuner (all sport compact vehicles): Shannon Pittman, 1997 Acura Integra
Current Custom (1973 through current): Patty Hayes, 2004 Ford Mustang
Runner-up: Rick Washington, 2003 PT Cruiser
Third-place Taylor Quick, 1953 VW Beetle
Classic Custom (1972 and prior): Tony Taylor, 1971 Chevy Chevelle
Runner-up: Larry Myers, 1961 Chevy Impala
Third-place: Johnny Jones, 1941 Willis Coupe
Stock Truck: Victor Padilla, 1994 Chevy C-1500
Runner-Up: Dan B. Jones, 1964 Chevy C-10
Third-place: Howard Graham, 1958 Chevy Truck

Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags resumes May 21. The points opener is scheduled for June 4. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show N' Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $7 for adults and children under six are free. More information can be found at