The final night of drag racing on the eighth-mile pit lane drag strip brought many fans out to enjoy the last night of Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine for the 2012 season in very fall-like temperatures.

2012 points champions for each division, as well as many of the top finishers in each division’s points standings, were honored prior to the start of the evening’s racing action. The cool night air for the Fall Stampede event added extra horsepower to the cars, sending them speeding down the track, much to the delight of the crowd in the stands and along the pit lane.

Several races pitted familiar rivals against each other, drivers that battled each and every week throughout the 2012 season. One of those divisions was the Truck Advanced division, which saw the season points runner-up Chuck Poole defeat competitor Will Coots, the points champion for 2012, in the final round of competition.

Many of the winners on Friday night were previous visitors to victory lane throughout the season, including Matt Carden in the Super Pro division, Street Outlaw competitor Daryl Stiles, Sportsman veteran Vic Vickers and Diesel Truck racer Dwayne Bethune, among other drivers.

While familiar faces made the familiar trips to pick up their trophies, at least one driver was able to claim his first win of the season. In the Domestic Advanced division, Terry Queen piloted his 1994 Dodge Dakota to an upset victory over fellow Dodge driver Jon Stovall and his 2006 Viper. Meanwhile, the Street Motorcycle division saw a first-time winner in Toney Freeman, who was also competing in his usual Super Bike division, which he also won on Friday.

Fans will also be treated to a special pizza discount through Papa John’s Pizza courtesy of red race car victories on Friday night. All throughout 2012, red cars going to victory lane will earn customers 50 percent off their online order at Papa John’s with the promo code 50RED through Sunday of that race weekend.

Below is a complete list of the Sept. 21 winners:

Super Pro: Matt Carden (McDonough) in a 1968 Chevrolet Camaro
Pro: David Clevenger (Jonesboro) substitute driving for Billy Clevenger (Forest Park) in a 1977 Chevy Vega
Street Outlaw: Daryl Stiles (Williamson) in a 1968 Chevrolet Camaro
Sportsman: Vic Vickers (McDonough) in a 1988 Ford Mustang
Truck Advanced: Chuck Poole (Stockbridge) in a 1986 Chevrolet
Diesel Truck: Dwayne Bethune (Covington) in a 2006 Dodge Ram
Truck: Allen Gaddis (Molina) in a 1984 Chevrolet
Domestic Advanced: Terry Queen (Jonesboro) in a 1994 Dodge Dakota
Papa John’s Pizza Domestic: Andrew Morgan (McDonough) in a 1987 Ford Mustang
Tuner: Nicolas Feliciano (Griffin) in a 1982 Toyota Corolla
Sport Compact: Ruben Quiambao (Roswell) in a 2008 Nissan 350Z
ATV: Daniel Rice (Jonesboro) on a 2007 Yamaha Raptor 700R
Super Bike: Toney Freeman (Stockbridge) on a 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa
Sport Bike: Joshua Jones (Riverdale) on a 2003 Suzuki Hayabusa
Street Motorcycle: Toney Freeman (Stockbridge) on a 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa
Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Jacob Turner (Griffin) on a 1987 Honda CR 500
Street Modified: Kyle Cumpton (Snellville) in a 2001 Chevrolet Camaro

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and cars ranging as far back as the 1920s.

Below is a complete list of the Sept. 21 winners:

Showroom Current (1973 through current):
First Place: Neely, 2008 Chevrolet Corvette
Second Place: Chris Gallagher, 1998 Pontiac Firebird
Third Place: Norm Cardilli, 1994 Ford Mustang Cobra

Showroom Classic (1950 to 1972):
First Place: Don Matthews, 1977 Chevrolet Camaro
Second Place: Matt Morrow, 1967 Ford Mustang
Third Place: Jimmy Fischer, 1967 Chevrolet Nova

Sport Compact:
First Place: Mark Twigger, 1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse
Second Place: Koolpat, 2009 Scion xB
Third Place: Jamie Shannon, 2002 Honda S2000

Classic Custom (1950 to 1972):
First Place: Chris Byrd, 1967 Ford Shelby GT 500
Second Place: Gary Neal, 1955 Ford Custom Pickup
Third Place: Ken Baker, 1966 Chevrolet Chevelle

Current Custom (1973 through current):
First Place: Dennis Robinette, 2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS/RS
Second Place: Jason Maney, 1989 Ford Mustang
Third Place: Wilhelm Hoeckh, 1988 Chevrolet Corvette

First Place: Robert Cheney, 1967 Ford F-100
Second Place: Richard Burdette, 1985 Jeep
Third Place: Christian Couch, 1996 Ford F-150

First Place: Genea McDavid, 2008 Harley-Davidson Deluxe
Second Place: Jason Turner, 1936 Ford Cabriolet
Third Place: Ted Fischer, 1936 Ford Three Window

President’s Choice:
Chris Gallagher, 1998 Pontiac Firebird

Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine will return in 2013. For more information on future events at AMS, visit