With double points on the line for drag racers on Friday night, the racing was intense and impactful throughout the evening at Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine. Each race went a long way in determining who would be chased and who would be chasing in the battle for an overall points championship on Aug. 17.With many close points battles that will go down to the final round of competition next week, week 16 of drag racing at AMS will be as intense as ever before.

In the fastest division at Friday Night Drags, Super Pro competition featured a familiar face making his way back to victory lane. Conyers’ Mike Herring, who appeared primed to walk away from the night with a tie atop the points standings with Mark White, instead saw those hopes dashed in the final round by veteran Tony Morse of Grantville. Morse, who has competed in other divisions throughout 2012, was able to wheel his machine to his first win in the Super Pro division this season. While he wasn’t able to win, Herring does close in a considerable amount on White as the two battle for the points championship next week, which White is the defending winner of.

Jason Thomas of Stockbridge also appeared primed to shoot to the top of the season points standings in the Street Outlaw division, but the “Mighty Mouse” Chevrolet was upset in the final pass down the pit lane drag strip by Greg Adamek and his 1971 Chevrolet Chevelle.

McDonough’s Will Coots extended his points lead over Chuck Poole of Stockbridge by defeating Poole in the final round of Truck Advanced action, his sixth victory this season. Meanwhile, David Craft jumped right into the thick of the Pro points battle, by having a stellar night and claiming his fourth trophy of 2012. McDonough’s Craft went head-to-head with Alan Kidd in the final round, defeating the Stockbridge resident.

Below is a complete list of the Aug. 10 winners:

Super Pro: Tony Morse (Grantville) in a 1990 Pontiac Trans-Am
Pro: David Craft (McDonough) in a 1986 Chevrolet Corvette
Street Outlaw: Greg Adamek (Meriwether) in a 1971 Chevrolet Chevelle
Sportsman: Vic Vickers (McDonough) in a 1988 Ford Mustang
Truck Advanced: Will Coots (McDonough) in a 1985 Chevrolet Silverado
Truck: Allen Gaddis (Molina) in a 1984 Chevrolet
Domestic Advanced: Terry Bates (Locust Grove) in a 1988 Ford Mustang Coupe
Papa John’s Pizza Domestic: Kelly Morgan (Jonesboro) in a 1968 Ford Mustang
Tuner: Bobby Bramblett (Loganville) in a Volkswagen Rail Buggy
Sport Compact: Lamar Chambers (Griffin) in a 1966 Volkswagen Bug
ATV: Daniel Rice (Jonesboro) on a 2007 Yamaha Raptor 700R
Super Bike: Toney Freeman (Stockbridge) on a 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa
Sport Bike: Joshua Jones (Riverdale) on a 2003 Suzuki Hayabusa
Street Motorcycle: AJ White (Riverdale) on a 2009 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R
Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Jacob Turner (Griffin) on a 1987 Honda CR 500
Street Modified: Peter Rogowski (Dallas) in a 1992 Ford Ranger

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and cars ranging as far back as the 1920s.

Below is a complete list of the Aug. 10 winners:

Showroom Current (1973 through current):
First Place: Robin Sark, 2010 Ford Mustang GT
Second Place: Chris Gallagher
Third Place: Chad Murphy, 2006 Ford Mustang

Sport Compact:
First Place: Eric Campbell, 2011 Scion xB
Second Place: Tyler McCord, 1999 Honda Civic
Third Place: Russel Pastor, 2011 Nissan Altima

Classic Custom (1950 to 1972):
First Place: Bryan Parish, 1949 Chevrolet Fleetline
Second Place: Howard Graham, 1958 Chevrolet Truck
Third Place: Pete Gaesser, Volkswagen Bus

Current Custom (1973 through current):
First Place: Jessica Craddock, 2008 Ford Mustang V6
Second Place: Steve Kochik, 2008 Ford Mustang
Third Place: Robert Lee Mitchell, 2011 Ford Mustang

First Place: Shannon McBride, 1998 Chevrolet Silverado Z-71
Second Place: Christian Couch, 1996 Ford F-150
Third Place: Adam Bisk, 2002 Ford F-150

First Place: Mike Younginer, Harley-Davidson Soft Tail
Second Place: Terry Sark, 2010 Victory Vision

President’s Choice:
David Smith, 2005 International

Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine returns Aug. 17 for championship night on the eighth-mile pit lane drag strip, where overall season points champions will be crowned. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start at 9:09 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $8 for adults and children five and under are free. More information can be found at www.atlantamotorspeedway.com/drags.