Racers took advantage of preparing for the upcoming 16th Thursday Thunder season with an off-season INEX points race on Saturday, April 27.

The combined Pro and Masters feature began with Ed Clark pacing the field to the green flag. Clark led the first half of the race until a caution flag flew for a spin on the track on lap 12. After the restart, second-place Tina Johnson stayed glued to Clark’s bumper, but she was unable to make a challenge for the lead. Clark collected the win in dominating fashion by leading every lap of the event.

Chandler Smith kicked off the Bandits feature out front. The caution flag was thrown on the first lap due Abigail Marin spinning around in turn two. Zach Leonhardi leaned on Smith lap after lap to challenge for the top spot. Lee Hodges spun on lap 10, bringing out a caution and then bunching the field up for the restart. Leonhardi made Smith earn every lap as he worked him over every corner, however, Smith held his ground to claim the victory.

Woodrow Mullis took the green flag to set off the combined Semi-Pro and Young Lions feature. On lap four, second-place Riley Thornton and leader Mullis made contact in turns three and four, which brought out the caution flag. Thornton and Mullis were sent to the rear of the field with Alex Coffey out front for the restart. Coffey took advantage of the track position and led the remainder of the race, capturing the win.

The Outlaws feature launched with Ashton Winger on the pole. Jensen Jorgensen tried every line to get around the leader but was unable to get by Winger. Alton Clark spun out on lap 17, setting up a three-lap dash for the win. Winger stood firm, holding off Jorgensen for the victory.

Competitors will have one more chance to race at Atlanta Motor Speedway before Thursday Thunder opens for the 2013 season. The next off-season INEX points race is Wednesday, May 22.

Atlanta Motor Speedway’s short-track racing series, Thursday Thunder, opens on June 6. Tickets for the affordable, family-friendly racing series costs just $6 for adults, $2 for children ages six through 11 and is free for children ages five and younger. Gates open at 6 p.m., heat races start at 6:15 p.m. and feature races start at approximately 7:50 p.m. For more information, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX or visit www.atlantamotorspeedway.com.

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia Director Dwight Pilgram at (770) 707-2977 or visit www.legendsofga.com.

April 27 Race Results:

Pro and Masters:
1. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 2. Tina Johnson (Senioa), 3. Garrett Smithley* (Peachtree City), 4. Scott Moseley (McDonough), 5. Michael Sauer (Atlanta), 6. Don Maness (Duluth), 7. Martin Snyder (Acworth). *denotes Pro driver

1. Chandler Smith (Talking Rock), 2. Zach Leonhardi (Smyrna), 3. Austin Geer (Johns Creek), 4. Connor Younginer (Stockbridge), 5. Nathan Jackson (McDonough), 6. Abigail Marin (Peachtree City), 7. Lee Hodges (Valdosta).

Semi-Pro & Young Lions:
1. Alex Coffey** (McDonough), 2. Riley Thornton (Peachtree City), 3. Woodrow Mullis** (Hoboken), 4. Taylor Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 5. Aaron Bailey (Hull). **denotes Young Lions

1. Ashton Winger (Fayetteville), 2. Jenson Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 3. Joshua Hicks (Senoia), 4. Chase Purdy (Gallion, Ala.), 5. Eli Bailey (Denton, N.C.), 6. Alton Clark (Newnan).