The battle for the season points championship in the six-week winter racing series Winter Flurry at Atlanta Motor Speedway intensified in Week 2 action.  All five feature races saw first-time winners in the Winter Flurry series this year.

Tina Johnson of Senoia led from flag-to-flag for the Masters' feature race win.   Johnson was able to hold off Don Maness of Duluth and Robbie Woodall of McDonough for a majority of the race as the trio ran nose-to-tail from lap two to lap 18.  Maness looked to make his move past Johnson in turn two on lap 19 but the door closed and Maness spun, dropping him back in the field.  Woodall didn't have enough time to make a run as Johnson held on for the win.  With the second place finish, Woodall moves into the lead in the Master's division points lead.

The combined Semi-Pro/Young Lions feature was a race of attrition with half as many cars remaining than started the heat races.  Zach Leonhardi of Cartersville was able to take care of his equipment from the sixth position and finish at the front of the pack with the win. A trio of early race cautions took out drivers leaving a starting field of 11 with just six drivers completing the race.  Leonhardi methodically moved from sixth up to second over the first five laps.  The second caution of the afternoon bunched up the field bringing Leonhardi within striking distance of the lead.  The Cartersville's native made his move on lap eight as he drove under Stockbridge's Jensen Jorgensen in turn four for the lead.  Jorgensen could not find an opening over the final 12 laps and finished second behind Leonhardi.  Dylan Murray of Cumming was the top Young Lion finisher in the feature.

An early pass by Lawson Ingold of Social Circle on the second lap of the Bandits feature was all that was needed to post the win.  Ingold slipped past Clay Thompson of Powersville on the front stretch and drove away with the victory over the final 18 laps.  After the win last week by Thompson, both share the top spot in the Bandits division.

Connor Youniger of Stockbridge and Senoia's Joshua Hicks share first in the Outlaw point standings after the two flip-flopped finishing order of Week 1 in Week 2 action of the Winter Flurry.  Youniger opened the race on the pole while Hicks was second.  Hicks took the lead on the third lap when he dove to the inside of the track entering turn three and slipped by Youniger.  The Stockbridge driver battled back as the pair raced side-by-side on lap four.  Hicks pulled away for good on lap five as the front runners distanced themselves from the rest of the field.  Hannah Bell of Raleigh, NC and Austin Geer of Johns Creek battled for 3rd over the final dozen laps with Geer inching ahead of Bell to pull the pair even in the points standings.

Ricky Springer of McDonough earned the win in the Beginner Bandolero feature despite starting from the rear of the field.  Springer moved up to the second spot by lap four and then rode behind Gauntt Hudgins of Savannah for the ensuing 14 laps.   Springer finally found an opening and slipped to the inside of pole sitter Gauntt Hudgins of Savannah on the frontstretch on lap 18 to take the lead he would not relinquish. 

Week three of the affordable, family-friendly winter racing series Winter Flurry returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway on Jan. 17. Spectators are afforded the opportunity to access the garage area with an infield spectator ticket for just $12 for adults, $5 for children ages six through 11 and is free for children ages five and younger. Driver registration for Winter Flurry is only $25 per race.

For more information, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX or visit

To get behind the wheel and test drive a Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Dwight Pilgram at (770) 707-2977 or visit

Beginner Bandolero
1. Ricky Springer (McDonough), 2. Gauntt Hudgins (Savannah), 3. JT O'Connor (Jackson), 4. Noah Dominy (Stathum), 5. Ryan Younginer (Jonesboro), 6. Cameron Potter (Covington)

1. Lawson Ingold (Social Circle), 2. Clay Thompson (Powersville), 3. Ryan Howell (McDonough), 4. Will Robusto (Fort Mill), 5. Nathan Jackson (McDonough), 6. Isabella Robusto (Fort Mill)

1. Joshua Hicks (Senoia), 2. Connor Younginer (Stockbridge), 3. Austin Geer (Johns Creek), 4. Hannah Bell (Raleigh, NC), 5. Hayden Swank (Woodstock), 6. Jonathan Cook (Sunny Side), 7. Trey Tadrzak (Stockbridge), 8. Lexi Gay (Canton)

Young Lions
1. Dylan Murry (Cumming), 2. Joshua Stark (Rochester, NY) - DNS

1. Zach Leonhardi (Cartersville), 2. Jensen Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 3. Bailey Woodall (McDonough), 4. Jason Treschl (LaGrange), 5. Brandon Brock (Hampton), 6. Jeff Holden (Gainesville), 7. Amber Fleeman (Dacula), 8. Taylor Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 9. Miranda Meredith (Locust Grove), 10. Aaron Bailey (Burlington, NC)

1. Tina Johnson (Senoia), 2. Robbie Woodall (McDonald), 3. Mark Swan (Dunwood), 4. Mike Kennedy (Alpharetta), 5. Tony Armbruster (Covington), 6. Martin Snyder (Kennesaw), 7. Don Maness (Duluth), 8. Wes Potter (Covington), 9. Dennis Aiken (Villa Rica), 10. Dennis Hecht (Hoschton) - DNS