Racers took to the track in the final on-track event prior to the Legends Nationals in offseason racing among Bandolero and Legends racers at Atlanta Motor Speedway’s ¼-mile ‘Thunder Ring’ on Saturday.

The Speedway saw an influx of out of state competitors looking to prepare for the Legends Nationals, which will be held Oct. 26-27 at Atlanta Motor Speedway. Competitors came from as far away as Massachusetts, Texas and Florida to compete. 

Mason Massey started on the pole to begin the combined Pro and Masters feature with Ed Clark being the top starting Masters driver in the second position.  

Following a caution on the first lap, the field restarted, with Massey leading the first seven laps prior to the yellow flag being displayed when Clark experienced mechanical problems.    

Massey pulled away on the restart, pacing the field over the final 13 laps to take the win. Terry Mathis was the top finishing Masters driver in second, followed by Jack Dossey.

The combined Bandits and Outlaw feature began with Eli Bailey leading the field to the green flag. Bailey led flag to flag for the win, with Alan Serrato finishing second as the top Bandits driver.   

The Semi-Pro feature took the green flag with William Plemons III as the leader.  Luke Behnke moved to the top spot on the second lap and never gave up the lead as he took the checkered flag. Mike Weed finished second with Jay Coen coming in third.  

The Young Lions feature rolled off the grid with Joey Padgett out front. He led the first five laps prior to an accident involving Will Fagan and Payton Ryan, which brought out the caution.  

After the field was bunched up by another caution two laps later, Padgett continued to lead the field before giving up the lead to Kaz Grala on lap 11. Padgett moved into the lead on lap 13, but a caution involving contact among the leaders bunched up the field with six laps remaining. Padgett led until the final lap, when Will Fagan made a pass on the inside of turn four to claim the win.  

Short-track racing returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway on Oct. 26-27 for the Legends Nationals, featuring the nation’s top Legends drivers. Bandoleros will also race as part of the event.

Friday grandstand admission is $5 with Saturday admission being $10. Kids 7 and under are admitted free. Friday admission is free with the purchase of a Saturday grandstand ticket. For more information, visit www.atlantamotorspeedway.com/legendsnationals.

The next off-season Legends and Bandolero racing event at Atlanta Motor Speedway is Nov. 16.

For that event, a limited number of infield passes will be available at the Security Command building near the speedway’s main entrance. Infield access costs just $12 for adults, $5 for children ages six through 11 and admission is free for children ages five and younger. Cost to race is just $25. Minors and their guardians are required to complete a minor waiver before children ages 17 and younger can enter the infield. For more information, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX or visit www.atlantamotorspeedway.com.

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Dwight Pilgram at (770) 707-2977 or visit www.legendsofga.com.

Oct. 6 Race Results:

Pro & Masters

1. Mason Massey (Douglasville), 2. Terry Mathis* (Cumming), 3. Jack Dossey* (Indianapolis, Ind.), 4. Brian Weimer* (Cumming),  5. Chris Bowie*.  6. Michael Sauer* (Atlanta), 7. Ed Clark* (Peachtree City),  8. Tina Johnson* (Senoia),  DNS: Stephen Cantrell (Concord, NC).

* - Masters drivers

Bandits & Outlaws:

1. Eli Bailey* (Johns Creek), 2. Alan Serrato (Indianapolis, Ind.),  3. Miranda Meredith* (Locust Grove). 4. Nathan Jackson (McDonough).

* - Outlaw drivers


1. Luke Behnke (Fayetteville), 2. Mike Weed (Franklin), 3. Jay Coen (Dacula), 4. Jami Weimer (Cumming), 5. William Plemons III (Locust Grove), 6. Jason Lynn (Sugar Hill).  

Young Lions:

1. Will Fagan (Cumming), 2. Joey Padgett (Tallahassee, Fla.), 3. Kaz Grala (Westborough, Ma), 4. Madeline Crane (Meansville), 5. Payton Ryan (Concord, NC),  6. Zach King (Southlake, Texas), 7. Riley Thornton (Peachtree City), 8. Trevin Aswarnauth (Loganville), 9. Blake Gaither (Nashville).