With some drivers strengthening their championship hopes and others looking to finish the season strong, intensity continued to be at a high point on Friday at the pit lane drag strip during Atlanta Motor Speedway's O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine.

Billy Clevenger of Fayetteville maintained his lead in the Harbin's Mechanical Services Super Pro division with a final-round win against Robert Chaney's American Dragster. The victory was Clevenger's fifth of the year. Still, the driver of a 1963 Chevrolet Corvette could not help but look ahead to next Friday's Super Pro Shootout, which will pay the Super Pro winner a guaranteed $500.

"We laid off of it a little bit, we're saving some for next week. We want to come get that money," Clevenger said.

Drivers with championship aspirations not on the line tasted victory on Friday, enabling them to play the role of spoiler in their respective division's title chases. Sharpsburg's Kirk Pennywitt, who won multiple final rounds last year in his 2013 Tesla, snagged his first victory of the year on Friday night in the Factory Street Division. Eric Roycroft won his second final round in a row in the Harbin's Mechanical Services Domestic Advanced Division. The Grayson driver concedes that due to a slow start to the season, his championship hopes are slim to win behind the wheel of his 1986 Ford Mustang.

"After last week, we got some things lined out on the car. I felt like there wasn't anyone out here who could outrun the car," Roycroft said. "Unfortunately, I think it's too late in the season to gain the points, I struggled in the first half of the year, but I'll give everyone else heck until then."

Below is a complete list of the August 7 race winners:

Harbin's Mechanical Services Super Pro: Billy Clevenger (Jonesboro); 1963 Chevrolet Corvette

Atlanta Journal-Constitution Pro: David Harbin (McDonough); 1969 Chevrolet Nova.

Zaxby's Street Outlaw: Lamar Chambers (Griffin); 1985 Chevrolet S-10

Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman: Lee King (Sharpsburg); 1987 Ford Mustang

Harding Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Domestic: John Smith (Jackson); 1986 Ford Mustang

Harbin's Mechanical Services Domestic Advanced: Eric Roycroft (Grayson); 1986 Ford Mustang

Truck Advanced: Mike Chambers (Griffin); 1970 Ford F-100.

Street Modified: Douglas Anglin (Griffin); 1988 Ford Mustang

Factory Street: Kirk Pennywitt (Sharpsburg); 2013 Tesla

Diesel Truck: Taylor Wilder (Locust Grove); 1994 Dodge Ram 1500

Truck: Brian Leath (Hampton); 1976 Chevrolet C-10

Tuner: Victor Guzman (Forest Park); 1992 Honda Civic

Sport Compact: Anthony Kampras (Hogansville); 2012 Ford Mustang

Super Bike: Graham Mayo (Williamson); 2007 Hyabusa

Sport Bike: Chance McClure (Conyers); 2014 GSXR 1000

Motorcycle: Trey Moultrie (Locust Grove); 2004 Yamaha R6

Thunder Tower West Harley-Davidson Cruiser/Dirt Motorcycle: Robert Thomas (Griffin) Harley Davidson ST

ATV: Omar Ruiz (Cumming)

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and automobiles ranging as far back as the 1930s. Those vehicles then took part in the Speedway Cruise following judging.

Below is a complete list of the August 7 Show-N-Shine winners:

Classic Custom (Through 1972)

First Place: Charlie Warford (Zebulon); 1965 Ford Mustang

Second Place: Daniel Jackson (Fayetteville); 1970 Chevrolet Camaro

Modern Custom (1973 through 1999)

First Place: Chris Cheeves (Griffin) 1974 Dart Swinger

Second Place: Mark Seal (Senoia); 1974 Chevrolet Nova

Third Place: Trevor Smith (Stockbridge); 1984 Ford Mustang LX

Current Custom (2000 through current)

First Place: Alex Chartrav (Jackson); 2000 Mustang GT

Second Place: Trenton Powers (Brooks); 2007 Ford Mustang GT

Showroom Classic (Through 1972)

First Place: Fred Briggs (McDonough) 1971 Plymouth Duster

Showroom Modern (1973 through 1999)

First Place: Justin Osterland (Griffin); 1990 Ford Mustang GT

Second Place: Dawn Draper (Fayetteville); 2014 Chevrolet Corvette

Third Place: Steve Kester (Loganville) 1088 Pontiac Trans-Am

Showroom Current (2000 through current)

First Place: Michael Croxton (Locust Grove); 2008 Corvette

Second Place: Mark Peppers (Fayetteville); 2008 Chevrolet Impala

Third Place: Joseph Yevick (Griffin) 2000 Ford Mustang GT


First Place: Jose Lopez (Griffin); Hyundai Genesis

Second Place: Tyler Reed (McDonough); 2011 Scion TC

Third Place: Andrew Day (Peachtree City) BMW M3


First Place: Bruce Russell (Brooks); 1966 Chevrolet

Second Place: Cole Richardson (Hampton); 2015 Platinum F250

Third Place: Ben Wells (Milner); 2004 Ford F-250


First Place: Logan Kern (McDonough); 1998 Jeep TJ

Second Place: Terry Sark (Conyers); 2001 Harley Davidson

Third Place: Greg Spieks (Jenkinsville); 1990 Jeep YJ

Atlanta Motor Speedway's O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine continues into its final month of the 2015 season with Week 16 on Friday, Aug. 14.

Grandstand gates open at 6:30 p.m., and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m.

Spectator tickets are just $8, and children 5 and under are free. Entry to either drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20, or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30.

More information can be found at www.atlantamotorspeedway.com/drags or by calling the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211.