There was a charge in the air as Week 12 of O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags hit the pit lane drag strip at Atlanta Motor Speedway Friday night. Well into the second half of the 18-week season, drivers began to jockey for the lead in their respective division standings and set themselves up for a stretch run.

Courtney Perry of Covington accelerated through line in his Honda Del Sol for his first win of the season in the Sport Compact Division, knocking off two-time winner Damon Waldrop in the process.

"It was good competition tonight," said Perry. "Amanda (Prince) in the Mustang and Damon in the Civic, they're fast. They've got some pretty fast cars."

Though trailing the top spot in the division by six points entering the night, Perry wouldn't count himself out of the race for the championship.

"I'm trying to build some points," he said. "Just trying to get a good launch coming out of the hole. If you leave out of the hole weak, you're probably not going to get good results. Tonight was my lucky night."

Prince, tied for the division lead with 15 points coming into the night, got as far as the semi-final round before being eliminated. Waldrop, who trailed Prince by a single point at the beginning of the evening, pulled into a first-place tie in the division standings with Prince.

In the Harbin's Mechanical Services Super Pro Division, McDonough's Kevin Mayo broke through for his first victory of the season, behind the wheel of his Chevrolet Nova. He beat out Robert Chaney's American Dragster in the final race of the evening. It was his fourth trip to the finals.

Repeat winners from Week 11 include David Clevenger in the Atlanta Journal-Constitution Pro Division, his seventh win in eight races, Kyle Cumpton in the Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Division, Taylor Wilder in the Diesel Truck Division and Jamar Copes in the Motorcycle Division.

Below is a list of the July 17 race winners:

Harbin's Mechanical Services Super Pro: Kevin Mayo (McDonough); Chevrolet Nova
Atlanta Journal-Constitution Pro: David Clevenger (Hampton); 1986 Chevrolet Corvette
Zaxby's Street Outlaw: Shannon Shelton (Forrest Park); 2000 Pontiac Trans Am
Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman: Kyle Cumpton (Snellville); 1996 Ford Mustang
Harding Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Domestic: Andrew Morgan (McDonough); 1987 Ford Mustang
Harbin's Mechanical Services Domestic Advanced: Jon Stovall (Alpharetta); 2006 Dodge Viper
Truck Advanced: Mike Chambers (Griffin); 1970 Ford F-100
Street Modified: Ryan Daya (Peachtree City); 1991 Ford Mustang
Factory Street: Justin Keeton (Stockbridge); 2013 Ford Mustang
Diesel Truck: Taylor Wilder (Locusts Grove); 1994 Dodge Ram 1500
Truck: Shelton Maynard (Hampton); 1972 Chevrolet C-100
Tuner: Jose Sameniego (Jonesboro); 1994 Honda Civic
Sport Compact: Courtney Perry (Covington); 1995 Honda Del Sol
Super Bike: Tony Freeman (Stockbridge); 2006 Suzuki
Sport Bike: James Roberts (Jackson); 2000 Suzuki Hayabusa
Motorcycle: Jamar Copes (Locust Grove); 200 Suzuki GSXR 750
ATV: Chris Bearden (Stockbridge); 2004 Honda TRX 450R
The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and automobiles ranging as far back as the 1930s. Those vehicles then took part in the Speedway Cruise following judging.

Below is a complete list of the July 17 Show-N-Shine winners:

Classic Custom (Through 1972)
First Place: Charlie Warford (Zebulon); 65 Mustang GT 350
Second Place: Daniel Jackson (Fayetteville); '70 Camaro
Third Place: Greg Cobb (Griffin); 1959 Fairlane

Modern Custom (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Deidre Fitzgerald (Fayetteville); 300 ZX
Second Place: Keith Seiler (McDonough); 1986 Olds Cutlass Supreme
Third Place: Jim Dean (Senoia); 1991 300 ZX TT

Current Custom (2000 through current)
First Place: Steve Kochik (Stockbridge); 2008 Ford Mustang
Second Place: Brian Ray (Sharpsburg); 2015 Dodge Challenger RT
Third Place: Stephen Castora (McDonough); '55 Chevy

Showroom Classic (Through 1972)
First Place: Harper Powell (Social Circle); 1967 Nova
Second Place: Fred Briggs (McDonough); 1971 Plymouth Doster
Third Place: Mike Stewart (Jackson); 1967 Nova SS

Showroom Modern (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Chris Gallagher (Fayetteville); 1998 Pontiac Trans Am
Second Place: Mark Warford (Fayetteville); 1982 Corvette

Showroom Current (2000 through current)
First Place: Paul Gibson (Dadeville, AL); 2015 Dodge Challenger Hellcat
Second Place: Janel Taggart (Locust Grove); 2007 Ford Mustang
Third Place: Gary Ortiz (McDonough); 2007 Ford Mustang GT

First Place: Jose Lopez (Griffin); Hyundai Genesis
Second Place: Adam Wallace (McDonough); 07 Mini Cooper
Third Place: Ryan Darr (Sharpsburg); 2008 Subaru WRX

First Place: Norman Thacker (Ellenwood); 1977 C10 Chevrolet
Second Place: Zach Israel (Atlanta); 2014 Ram 1500
Third Place: David Waddell (Forsyth); 1998 F150

First Place: Robette Talton (College Park); Kawasaki Ninja 650
Second Place: Brandon McGill (Hampton); Harley Davidson
Third Place: James Roland (Douglasville); 1978 Honda CB750

Atlanta Motor Speedway's O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine continues with Week 13 on Friday, July 24.

Grandstand gates open at 6:30 p.m., and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m.

Spectator tickets are just $8, and children 5 and under are free. Entry to either drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20, or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30.

More information can be found at or by calling the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211.