The quarter-mile Thunder Ring again proved to be a challenge for Legends racers in Week 5 of the six-week Winter Flurry season Saturday afternoon at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

In the first race of the day, Robbie Woodall earned his second win of the Winter Flurry season to remain in the top spot in the Championship chase in the Masters Division. At the drop of the green flag, Woodall slipped back into third after he started on the outside pole. Bill Plemons Jr., who started on the point, and Mark Swan, who started behind Plemons in third, took the inside line and bolted to the front of the pack. The trio ran nose-to-tail for the first half of the race with both Swan and Woodall looking for an opening to get by Plemons. A caution on lap 19 opened the door for Woodall. On the subsequent restart, Plemons lost the groove out of turn two which allowed Woodall to slide to the inside and take his first lead of the race. Tony Armbruster finished second.

The Semi-Pro division saw the fifth different winner of the Winter Flurry season as Will Martin held off a hard charging Dylan Murry on the final lap to earn the win. Murry, despite spinning on lap 16 and falling to the back of the field, finished second to maintain the championship points lead in the division.

"A lot of it has just been staying out of trouble," said Murry when asked about what has put him atop the division standing. "Watching what everybody else in the field does; playing it smart and leading the championship without winning any races."

Murry was in a three way battle for the lead for the opening laps of the race with Nolan Pope and David Lawrence. Both Pope and Lawrence could not recover from late race trouble as they wrestled with the track and fell back in the pack.

"Everyone has the same conditions," said Murry. "So you are racing against the same people and in the same conditions."

When Pope slipped out of the racing grove late in the race, Martin took advantage of the opening and moved to the front of the field and earned the win.

In the final race of the afternoon, Corey Heim earned his first win of the Winter Flurry season in the Young Lions division to move into first place in the championship points battle. Heim drove to the front of the field and took the lead on lap four. He held off Brody Pope and Joshua Hicks for a dozen laps before Pope made a move to the inside of Heim on lap 16 and briefly took the lead. Pope couldn't make the move stick in turn one as he over drove the corner and brought out the caution. Following the restart, Hicks tried a similar move two laps later, and had the same result as he ended up in the grass which allowed Heim back to the front of the field where he held on for the victory.

Challenging slick track conditions prevented the Bandits, Outlaws and Rookie Bandoleros from getting on the track. The three Bandolero classes will run double features at the sixth and final race of the Winter Flurry season on Saturday, April 30th.

Winter Flurry continues with championships on the line in the final race of the series on Saturday, April 30. Infield admission is available for spectators wishing to watch Winter Flurry racing, and passes may be purchased at the Security Command Building near the Speedway's main entrance. Infield passes are $12 for adults, $5 for ages six through 11, and children ages five and younger are admitted for free.

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Ken Ragan at (770) 707-2977 or visit

Winter Flurry Week 5 Legends Results:

1. Robbie Woodall (McDonough), 2. Tony Armbruster (Covington), 3. Dennis Hecht (Hoschton), 4. Bill Plemons Jr (Locust Grove), 5. Dennis Aiken (Villa Rica), 6. Mark Swan (Dunwoody), 7. Pat Sellers (Stockbridge), 8. Wes Potter (Covington), 9. Randy Shubert (Conyers), 10. Robert Cheney (Jonesboro), 11. Barry Bowen (Jackson Lake)

1. William Martin (Douglasville), 2. Dylan Murry (Cumming), 3. Jeff Oliver (Braselton), 4. Brandon Brock (Hampton), 5. Hudson Halder (Cumming), 6. David Lawrence (Senoia), 7. Nolan Pope (Harrisonville, MO), 8. Jason Treschl (La Grange), 9. Amber Fleeman (Dacula), 10. Jeff Holden (Gainesville)

Young Lions
1. Corey Heim (Marietta), 2. Dawson Fletcher (Canton), 3. Brody Pope (Harrisonville, MO), 4. Rafe Slate (Eatonton), 5. DJ Canipe (Fallston, NC), 6. Nocholas Waters (Senoia), 7. Cale Hall (Griffin), 8. Joshua Hicks (Senoia), 9. Hunter Johnson (Griffin), 10. Canon Cochran (Ringgold), 11. Cody Hall (Griffin)