Week four of the 2011-12 Winter Flurry season at Atlanta Motor Speedway was important for a variety of reasons. With the season crossing the midpoint of the seven-week season, each division featured drivers looking to add or gain ground in the season points standings. Week four on the quarter-mile "Thunder Ring" also saw a mix of new and familiar visitors to victory lane.

The Pro feature got underway with Mason Massey in the lead. Massey, the points leader, led the entire first-half of the race before receiving heavy pressure from Evan Swilling. Massey was able to pull away over the second-half of the race to claim the win, his fourth victory in as many races.

Ed Clark was the pole sitter for the Masters feature. On the first lap, James Meredith spun exiting turn one to put the field under the yellow flag. This led to a full restart. The ensuing restart saw Clark escape again with the lead. With a handful of laps left, Tom Pistone eased past Clark for the top spot. Pistone would hold on to post his first win of the season and move closer to points leader Terry Mathis.

The Papa John's Pizza Bandits feature kicked off with Chandler Smith out front. On the start, a multi-car accident involving Austin Geer, Holland Butler, Chambers McGilberry and Reid Morris took place coming to the green flag. A full restart would then take place. On lap five, Geer spun into the wall exiting turn four to bring out the second caution flag. The field would be placed under the red flag for removal of the wrecked car. Smith restarted with the lead but lap six saw Joshua Hicks take the lead from him. Smith slid back inside Hicks in the next corner and would gain the top spot back. On lap 13, Hicks eased past Smith again for the lead. Connor Younginer spun exiting turn two on the next lap to place the field under caution. Hicks escaped with the lead on the restart and went on to log his third Winter Flurry win in four starts. The win also helped Hicks extend his points lead.

Josh Brimecombe paced the field to the start of the Semi-Pro feature. On lap six, Justin Thomas moved past Brimecombe for the top spot. On lap 11, Bailey Jones slowed due to contact, bringing out the first caution of the event. With two laps remaining, Hub Talbot went around in turn two for the second yellow flag of the race. The ensuing restart was a green-white-checkered restart, and Thomas would hold on over the final two laps to collect his second win of the Winter Flurry season and inch closer to points leader Luke Behnke.

The Young Lions feature launched with Andy Hogan on the pole. Madeline Crane spun in turn one on the first lap to bring out the caution. Hogan would pull away with the lead on the restart. On lap 16, a multi-car accident involving Will Fagan, Lyndon Harvey, Reid Wilson and Evan Bell would bring out the caution. Hogan would restart the field with five laps remaining and pull away to capture his third Winter Flurry win.

Taylor Jorgensen took the green flag to set off the Outlaws feature. On lap five, Katelyn Weatherly spun exiting turn two to place the field under the yellow flag. Following the restart, Eli Bailey spun into the wall exiting turn two to bring out the second caution on lap nine. The field went under the red flag to remove the damaged car from the track. On lap 12, Weatherly spun again to bring out a one lap caution period. Jorgensen would lead following the restart and would lead wire-to-wire to grab her second win of the Winter Flurry and extend her points lead over Devon Barnes.

The Buzz Cars feature opened with Timmy Bishop pacing the field to the green flag. Buddy Brewer slipped past Bishop for the lead on the first lap. Brewer would lead every lap of the 20-lap event and snatch his fourth straight win, making him the only winner in the Buzz Car division during this year's Winter Flurry season.

This year's Winter Flurry season features a rule change that will allow drivers to drop one event from the points standings. This new feature will allow drivers to drop a bad finish or missed event and still remain competitive for a Winter Flurry championship, keeping the race in the points standings exciting through the end of the season.

Short-track racing returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway on Saturday, Feb. 11 for week number five of the seven-week Winter Flurry season. A limited number of infield passes will be available at the Security Command building near the speedway's main entrance. Infield access costs just $12 for adults, $5 for children ages six through 11 and admission is free for children ages five and younger. Cost to race is just $25. Minors and their guardians are required to complete a minor waiver before children ages 17 and younger can enter the infield. For more information, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX or visit www.atlantamotorspeedway.com.

For more information on Buzz Cars racing at Atlanta Motor Speedway, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Events Department at (770) 946-3954.

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Dwight Pilgram at (770) 707-2977 or visit www.legendsofga.com.

Race Results:

1. Mason Massey (Douglasville), 2. Evan Swilling (Cohutta), 3. A.J. Carlisi (Dalton), 4. Bubba Harry (Griffin)

1. Tom Pistone (Mooresville, N.C.), 2. Tina Johnson (Senoia), 3. Terry Mathis (Cumming), 4. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 5. Mike Kennedy (Alpharetta), 6. Chris Bowie (Douglasville), 7. Mark Swan (Atlanta), 8. Michael Sauer (Atlanta), 9. James Meredith (Locust Grove), 10. Bernard Wilson (Pelzer, S.C.)

Papa John's Pizza Bandits:
1. Joshua Hicks (Senoia), 2. Chandler Smith (Talking Rock), 3. Zach Leonhardi (Smyrna), 4. Reid Morris (Carrollton), 5. Connor Younginer (Stockbridge), 6. Chambers McGilberry (Selma, Ala.), 7. Lawson Ingold (Social Circle), 8. Abigail Marin (Peachtree City), 9. Holland Butler (Dallas), 10. Austin Geer (Johns Creek)

1. Justin Thomas (Woodstock), 2. Luke Behnke (Fayetteville), 3. Tyler Armstrong (Seonia) substitute driving for Casey Willingham (Ball Ground), 4. Josh Brimecombe (Concord, N.C.), 5. Ross Rollings (Nashville, Tenn.), 6. Preston Young (Nashville, Tenn.), 7. Randall Young (Nashville, Tenn.), 8. Jami Weimer (Cumming), 9. Emilee Riley (Jasper), 10. Hub Talbot (Smyrna), 11. Bailey Jones (Nashville, Tenn.), 12. Aaron Bailey (Winston)

Young Lions:
1. Andy Hogan (Decatur, Texas), 2. Reid Wilson (Huntersville, N.C.), 3. Alex Coffey (McDonough), 4. Joey Padgett (Tallahassee, Fla.), 5. Riley Thornton (Peachtree City), 6. Will Fagan (Cumming), 7. Angus Hunt (Powder Springs), 8. Madeline Crane (Meansville), 9. Kyle Hunsinger (Dacula), 10. Megan Younginer (Stockbridge), 11. Evan Bell (Buford), 12. Lyndon Harvey (Decatur, Texas)

1. Taylor Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 2. Devon Barnes (Roswell), 3. John Curtiss (Columbus), 4. Jenson Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 5. Alton Clark (Newnan), 6. Katelyn Weatherly (McDonough), 7. Eli Bailey (Johns Creek)

Buzz Cars:
1. Buddy Brewer (Griffin), 2. Timmy Bishop (Jonesboro), 3. Josh Ballard (Hampton), 4. Dustin Satterfield (Griffin), 5. Brian Sutton (Covington)