Thrilling drag racing action took center stage on Atlanta Motor Speedway's pit lane drag strip Friday as the 2013 season of Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine reached its halfway point.

Drivers seized the opportunity throughout the night to gain valuable points in their pursuit of a season championship with multiple races being decided close to the finish line during the final round of drag racing eliminations. Just five points events remain at Friday Night Drags, which will hold its championship night on Aug. 16.

One driver continuing a strong run toward a championship was McDonough's David Craft. Racing in the final round of eliminations against David Harbin, Craft edged Harbin at the finish line, giving him and his 1986 Chevrolet Corvette a second win in as many points events this season. In a show of camaraderie often seen at Friday Night Drags, Harbin was part of Craft's victory lane photo.

In the Super Pro final, Matt Carden and his 1968 Chevrolet Camaro matched up against Bobby Daniel. Carden got the victory after Daniel jumped the start. Daniel still leads all Super Pro drivers with two points victories this season.

Rex's Jimmy Hunter also kept up the momentum of a strong season, winning the final elimination in the Domestic division for his second points win of 2013 in a 1966 Ford Mustang Coupe.

Thanks to a red car win on Friday night, fans will be treated to a pizza discount on Saturday, courtesy of Papa John's Pizza. Anytime a red car ends up in victory lane in any division, fans qualify for 50 percent off any regular priced menu item on Saturday when ordering online at Fans are asked to use the promo code 50RED when ordering at participating locations.

Below is a complete list of the July 12 winners:

Super Pro: Matt Carden (McDonough) in a 1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Pro: David Craft (McDonough) in a 1968 Chevrolet Corvette

Street Outlaw: Vic Vickers (McDonough) in a 1988 Ford Mustang

Summit Racing Sportsman: Scott Bates (Locust Grove) in a 1962 Nova Station wagon

Truck: Shelton Maynard (Hampton) in a 1972 Chevrolet C-10

Truck Advanced: Will Coots (Stockbridge) in a 1985 Chevrolet S-10

Domestic: Jimmy Hunter (Rex) in a 1966 Mustang Coupe.

Domestic Advanced: Terry Bates (Locust Grove) in a 1988 Ford Mustang

Diesel Truck: Brad Buongiorne (Newnan) in a 2010 Ford F-250 Powerstroke

Street Modified: Kane Shavers (Griffin) in a 1970 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Supersport.

Tuner: Chase Ponder (Brooks) in a 1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX

Sport Compact: Bobby Fore (Mabelton) 1995 Honda Civic Hatchback

ATV: Daniel Rice (Jonesboro) on a Yamaha Raptor 700R.

Cycle Nation Super Bike: Toney Freeman on a 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa

Sport Bike: Toney Freeman on a 2005 GSXR 1000

Sport Bike: Kevin Connolly (Hampton) on a 2009 Yamaha V-Max

Motorcycle: Dustin Hoover (Norcross) on a Suzuki 750

Cruiser / Dirt Bike: Robert Thomas (Griffin) on a 2002 Harley Davidson Dyna Lowrider

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and automobiles ranging as far back as the 1930s. Those vehicles then took part in the Speedway Cruise following judging.

Below is a complete list of the July 12 winners:

Showroom Current (1973 through current):

First Place: Charlotte Thomas

Second Place: Chris Gallagher

Third Place: Jabarius Gay

Showroom Classic (1950 to 1972):

First Place: Jeff Bennett

Sport Compact:

First Place: Jose Lopez

Second Place: Myles Brown

Current Custom (1973 through current):

First Place: Shannon McBride

Second Place: Paden Dunagan


First Place: Jason Thomas

Second Place: Sherrod Almond

Third Place: Adam Wallace


First Place: Earl Reed

Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine returns July 19 with week 12 of the drag racing season. Grandstand gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start at 9:15 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $8 for adults and children five and under are free.  More information can be found at or by calling the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211.