With a majority of the 2012 edition of Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine now in the books, week nine at the weekly drag racing series had both new and old faces making it to victory lane. Both of these groups played a part in reshaping the points standings as the series heads into week 10 and the annual Fourth of July fireworks display next Friday night.

Mark White’s feast-or-famine season continued in the Super Pro division. The points leader made it to the final round of eliminations, but his 1967 Shelby Mustang suffered mechanical issues once again.

This allowed Friday Night Drags veteran Danny Mason, last year’s Truck Advanced champion, to claim his first win of the season, which also marked his first appearance in the Super Pro division. Mason wheeled the same vehicle that Matt Carden drove to two wins earlier this season. White has claimed four wins this year, but each of those wins have marked the only weeks that his car has not suffered a mechanical issue.

The Street Outlaw division saw a new winner in victory lane, but it was not the first trip there for the winning car. Last week the “Mighty Mouse” 1967 Chevrolet Camaro went to victory lane with substitute driver Tony Morse, a Friday Night Drags veteran. With Morse substitute driving, the win was credited to the car’s regular driver, Jason Thomas. This week, Thomas made it two in a row as he claimed the win, his first with him behind the wheel, over points leader Daryl Stiles.

Arguably the hottest driver at Friday Night Drags over the past few weeks has been Will Coots, and the Truck Advanced driver continued that hot streak with his third straight win, his fourth overall on the season in his 1985 Chevrolet. During this winning streak, Coots has leapfrogged from third to the top of the points standings. Coots will now lead the standings for the first time all season by one point over Chuck Poole. Coots defeated Andrew Pride in the final round, who remains two points out of the standings lead in third place.

Fans will also be treated to a special pizza discount through Papa John’s Pizza courtesy of a couple of red race car victories on Friday night. All throughout 2012, red cars going to victory lane will earn customers 50 percent off their online order at Papa John’s with the promo code 50RED through Sunday of that race weekend.

Below is a complete list of the June 29 winners:

Super Pro: Danny Mason (Locust Grove) in a 1968 Chevrolet Camaro
Pro: David Craft (McDonough) in a 1986 Chevrolet Corvette
Street Outlaw: Jason Thomas (Stockbridge) in a 1967 Chevrolet Camaro
Sportsman: Scott Crooms (Covington) in a 1986 Ford Mustang
Truck Advanced: Will Coots (McDonough) in a 1985 Chevrolet
Diesel Truck: Dwayne Bethune (Covington) in a 2006 Dodge Ram
Truck: Allen Gaddis (Molina) in a 1984 Chevrolet
Domestic Advanced: Curtis Teal (Peachtree City) in a 1975 Chevrolet Luv Truck
Papa John’s Pizza Domestic: Darrell Hallford (Senoia) in a 1995 Ford Mustang Five-
Tuner: Bobby Bramblett (Loganville) in a Volkswagen Rail Buggy
Sport Compact: Cory Hall (Jonesboro) in a 2006 Infiniti G35
ATV: Justin Wooten (Zebulon) on a 2001 Yamaha Banshee
Super Bike: Toney Freeman (Stockbridge) on a 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa
Sport Bike: Joshua Jones (Riverdale) on a 2003 Suzuki Hayabusa
Street Motorcycle: Chad Meadows (Loganville) on a 2003 Suzuki GSX-R 600
Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Jacob Turner (Griffin) on a 1987 Honda CR 500

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic
muscle cars and cars ranging as far back as the 1920s.

Below is a complete list of the June 29 winners:

Showroom Current (1973 through current):
First Place: Bruce Holcomb, 1998 Chevrolet Corvette Convertible
Second Place: Chris Gallagher, 1998 Pontiac Trans Am
Third Place: Brad Buongiorne, 2006 Dodge Charger SRT8

Showroom Classic (1950 to 1972):
First Place: Aaron Cook, 1966 Ford Fairlane
Second Place: Aron Anderson, 1967 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme

Sport Compact:
First Place: Shaunna Vance, Dodge Neon SRT4
Second Place: Matthew Czarnowsky, 1993 Toyota Starlet
Third Place: Bruce Weaver, 1990 Mazda Miata

Classic Custom (1950 to 1972):
First Place: John Bassett, 1950 Ford Two-Door Sedan

Current Custom (1973 through current):
First Place: Gina Moseley, 2010 Chevrolet Camaro
Second Place: Tommy Peters, 1999 Ford Mustang GT
Third Place: Steve Kochik, 2008 Ford Mustang

First Place: Russ Sapp, 1966 Chevrolet
Second Place: Harold Lamberson, 2002 Ford F-150 HD
Third Place: Derick Parrott, 2003 Chevrolet 2500 HD

First Place: Huey Obester, 1923 T-Bucket
Second Place: Johnny Jones, 1941 Willy’s
Third Place: Jeff Powell, 1930 Ford Model A Sedan Delivery Wagon

Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine returns July 6
with week 10 of drag racing action and fireworks prior to drag race eliminations. Gates
open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start at 9:09 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can
purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $8
for adults and children five and under are free. More information can be found at