High-octane drag racing returned to the pit lane drag strip at Atlanta Motor Speedway Friday night as the ninth season of O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags got under way in Week 1.

Micah Patrick of Stockbridge earned his first win in the Truck Division in his 1955 Willy's, as he defeated Brian Leath of Hampton behind the wheel of a 1976 Chevy. It was a special win and one that won't be forgotten soon.

"I love it, man. I've been to the drags for the last four years," said Patrick. "I started racing last year, and I've been waiting all year for this race tonight.

Patrick and his father built the truck, a half-ton, that originally belonged to his grandfather.

"It's my first night ever winning. My dad's in the hospital right now (undergoing) a heart transplant right now," he said. "He wished he could be here."

In the Atlanta Journal-Constitution Pro Division, David Clevenger of Hampton notched his first win of the season in a 1986 Corvette, a car he's never driven before Friday night, outrunning Ron of Worth in a 1989 Corvette.

"I love it down here," said Clevenger. "David Harmon actually let me drive his car. He gave me a shot to drive this and said 'do you think you can handle it?' I said 'I don't know, but I'll try.'"

Other notable winners in the first week of O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags include Nick Blankenship of Locust Grove in the Domestic Advanced Division and Bobby Daniel of Stockbridge in the Harbin's Mechanical Services Super Pro Division.

Below is a list of the April 24 race winners:

Harbin's Mechanical Services Super Pro: Bobby Daniel (Stockbridge); 1995 Chevy Lumina
Atlanta Journal-Constitution Pro: David Clevenger (Hampton); 1986 Corvette
Street Outlaw: Nicolas Feliciano (Griffin); 1984 Mazda RX7
Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman: Tony and Joshua Morse (Grantville); 1981 Chevy Malibu
Domestic: Doug Anglin (Griffin); 1988 Ford Mustang
Domestic Advanced: Nick Blankenship (Locust Grove); 1989 Ford Mustang
Truck Advanced: Danny Mason (Locust Grove); 1976 Chevy Pickup
Street Modified: Michael Blackman (Atlanta); 1983 Ford Mustang
Factory Street: John Schwarz (Locust Grove); 2014 Mustang GT
Harding Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Domestic:
Diesel Truck: Taylor Wilder (Locust Grove); 1994 Dodge Ram 1500
Truck: Micah Patrick (Stockbridge); 1955 Willy's
Tuner: Nicolas Feliciano (Griffin); 2001 Toyota MR2
Sport Compact: Amanda Prince (Griffin); 2012 Ford V6 Mustang
Super Bike: Cordero Woody (Locust Grove); 2011 BMW S1000 RR
Sport Bike: Jeremy St. Julien; (Fairburn); 2013 KAW
Motorcycle: Ryan O'Neal (Newnan); 2006 GSXR 750
ATV: Terrill McClary (Fayetteville); 2007 Raptor 700
The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and automobiles ranging as far back as the 1930s. Those vehicles then took part in the Speedway Cruise following judging.

Below is a complete list of the April 24 winners:

Classic Custom (Through 1972)
First Place: Marvin Reeves (Macon), 1970 Ford Mustang Mach 1
Second Place: Robert Morgan (Fayetteville), 1966 Chevrolet Corvette Restomod
Third Place: Jason Turner (McDonough), 1936 Ford Cabriolet

Modern Custom (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Ricky Gresham (Griffin), 1981 Chevrolet Corvette
Second Place: Will Frazier (Panama City Beach, FL), 1973 Chevrolet Caprice
Third Place: Tanner Perkins (Griffin), 1996 Ford Mustang GT

Current Custom (2000 through current)
First Place: Steve Kochik (Stockbridge), 2008 Ford Mustang
Second Place: Amanda Prince (Milner), 2012 Ford V6 3.7L Convertible Mustang
Third Place: Durant Hardwick (Atlanta), 2014 Ford Mustang GT 5.0

Showroom Classic (Through 1972)
First Place: Wayne Hausard (Tyrone), 1970 Chevrolet Camaro
Second Place: Jeff Powell (Social Circle), 1967 Chevrolet Nova SS
Third Place: Fred Briggs (McDonough), 1971 Plymouth Duster

Showroom Modern (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Chris Gallagher (Fayetteville), 1998 Pontiac Trans Am
Second Place: James Reeves (Macon), 1973 Ford Mustang Mach 1
Third Place: Earl Reed (McDonough), 1973 MG Midget

Showroom Current (2000 through current)
First Place: Alex Williams (Stockbridge), 2014 Ford Mustang
Second Place: Brad Turner (Hampton), 2012 Chevrolet Camaro ZLI
Third Place: Jordan Reid (Newnan), 2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS

First Place: Jose Lopez (Griffin), 2013 Hyundai Genesis
Second Place: Adam Wallace (McDonough), 2007 Mini Cooper
Third Place: Kathryn Johnson (Conyers), Hyundai Genesis Coupe

First Place: Earl Feudall (Hampton), 1966 Chevrolet Truck
Second Place: Patrick Ellison (Savannah), 2004 Chevrolet Silverado
Third Place: Karen Vise (Forest Park), 2015 Jeep

First Place: Sherry Siriani (Georgia), 2004 Honda CRB

Atlanta Motor Speedway's O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine continues with Week 2 on May 1. Grandstand gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Drags are just $8 for adults and children five and under are free. More information can be found at www.atlantamotorspeedway.com/drags or by calling the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211.