As the fall temperatures cool things down, the pit road drag strip at Atlanta Motor Speedway heated up on Friday with the first week of Friday Night Drags & MCR Safety Show-N-Shine's Fall Stampede.

With no drag racing points on the line for the two events added to the 2011 season, several new faces came out to compete, with some taking home winner's trophies for their efforts.

Among the new faces were several first time winners for 2011. In the Super Pro division, Conyers' Mike Herring claimed his first win of the season in his 1993 Chevrolet Lumina, known to many fans as the "Batmobile." David Rogowski of Dallas also took home his first trophy of 2011 with a winning performance in his 1992 Ford Ranger during Sportsman competition. A threat to win all season long, Stockbridge's Andrew Pride finally grabbed a checkered flag in his Chevrolet C-10.

In Domestic Advanced competition, Jon Stovall of Alpharetta took home his second win of 2011 in his 2006 Dodge Viper. Stovall's first win of the season came all the way back on week one on April 29.

Below is a complete list of the September 23 winners:

Super Pro: Mike Herring (Conyers) in a 1993 Chevrolet Lumina
Pro: David Harbin (McDonough) in a 1969 Chevrolet Nova
Street Outlaw: Darryl Stiles (Williamson) in a 1968 Chevrolet Camaro
Sportsman: Terry Bates (Locust Grove) in a 1988 Ford Mustang Coupe
Domestic: Peter Rogowski (Dallas) in a 1992 Ford Ranger
Domestic Advanced: Jon Stovall (Alpharetta) in a 2006 Dodge Viper
Truck Advanced: Andrew Pride (Stockbridge) in a Chevrolet C-10
Truck: Shelton Maynard (Hampton) in a 1972 Chevrolet C-10
Diesel Truck: Roy Slaughter (McDonough) in a 2003 Dodge Ram 3500
Tuner: Chase Ponder (Brooks) in a 1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX
Sport Compact: Danny Karr (Stockbridge) in a 2007 Honda Civic Si
Super Bike: Michael Gamble (McDonough) on a Suzuki Hayabusa
Street Motorcycle II: A.J. White (Riverdale) on a 2009 Kawasaki Ninja ZX 100R
Sport Bike: Keith Johnson (Stockbridge) on a 2003 Suzuki GSX-R1000
ATV: John Turner (Griffin) on a 1992 Yamaha Banshee
ATV Modified: David Armstrong (McDonough) on a 2000 Yamaha Banshee

The MCR Safety Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and cars ranging as far back as the 1930s.

Below is a complete list of the September 23 winners:

Showroom Current (1973 through current):
First Place: Kevin Smith, 2011 Dodge Challenger SRT8
Second Place: Brad Buongiorne, 2006 Dodge Charger SRT8
Third Place: Susan Williams, 2011 Dodge Challenger

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior):
First Place: Michael Borders, 1969 Plymouth Road Runner
Second Place: Karyn Smith, 1957 Porsche Speedster Replica
Third Place: Rod Harris, 1971 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

Tuner (all sport compact vehicles):
First Place: Dane Owens, Scion xB
Second Place: Edwin Mendez, 2003 Honda Civic Si
Third Place: Vince Ponder, 1990 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX

Classic Custom (1972 and prior):
First Place: Bill Garren, 1971 Chevrolet Nova
Second Place: Herb Handy, 1972 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
Third Place: Tim Keith, 1969 AMC Rambler American

Current Custom (1973 through current):
First Place: Justin Sherman, 2002 Dodge Intrepid SE
Second Place: Rodney Edwards, 2003 Ford Mustang Cobra
Third Place: Elton Sowers, Ford Mustang

First Place: Terry Sheffield, Chevrolet
Second Place: Brian Hancock, 1964 Chevrolet C-10
Third Place: Chris Mann, 1982 Chevrolet 4x4

Street Rod:
First Place: Earl Reed, 1934 Ford
Second Place: Tim Yancey, 1947 MG TC

First Place: Andy Lynch, 2003 Honda Shadow ACF
Second Place: Tommy Robertson, 2005 Harley Davidson 1200 Custom

President's Choice:
Gene Fuller, 1955 Chevrolet Bel-Air

Atlanta Motor Speedway's Friday Night Drags and MCR Safety Show-N-Shine Fall Stampede will resume on September 30. Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for MCR Safety Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $8 for adults and children under five are free. More information can be found at