The battle for the points lead in numerous divisions was contested on the pit lane drag strip in Week 7 of O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags and Show 'N' Shine at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

In the Domestic Advanced division, Jason Kinard of Hampton and his 1997 Chevrolet S10 moved to the top of the standings with a final round win over the 1988 Ford Mustang piloted by Terry Bates of Locust Grove.

"It was very important to have a good run," said an elated Kinard. "It moved me up in the points into first place."

With the win, Kinard is now in first place with 14 points in the division as both Stephen DeFayette of Sharpsburg and Terry Bates of Locust Grove remain within striking distance of the lead as they enter next week's action.

"It was a good win over the defending Domestic Advanced champion Terry Bates," said Kinard. "Every time we get next to each other, something happens - whether I mess up or he red-lights or whatever, something always happens. I was ready for a good race."

The husband and wife pair of Dwayne and Ramae Bethune of Covington squared off in the Diesel Truck final in a battle for the top spot in the division for the second consecutive week. Ramae regained the Diesel Truck division lead as she earned the win, her first of the points season.

A red-light violation in the Jailhouse Brewing Company Super Pro final stopped the winning streak of the 1974 Chevrolet Nova of Arnie Cobb of Locust Grove at five. The 1986 Ford Mustang driven by Tony Byrd of Stockbridge earned the win. Byrd was the runner up in the finals for the first three points events of the season.

Will Coots in his 1985 Chevrolet C10 remains unbeatable in the Truck Advanced division after a dominating finals win over the 1982 Chevrolet Pick-Up of Luthersville's Keith White. Coots did not catch the light, but more than made up for the late start as he whizzed past White midway down the track on his way to a fifth consecutive points win.

Drag racing returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway on July 4th for Week 8 of the O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags. The Speedway will celebrate the Fourth of July with the largest fireworks display on Atlanta's south side with the Papa John's Pizza Fireworks Extravaganza.

The sky-illuminating fireworks show will begin prior to drag racing eliminations scheduled to begin at 9 p.m. and will be completely viewable from either the grandstands or infield at O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags. Grandstand admission is $8 per person and free for kids 5 & under. Infield parking is $20 per vehicle.

Below is a list of the June 27 winners:

Jailhouse Brewing Company Super Pro: Tony Byrd (Stockbridge), 1986 Ford Thunderbird
Pro: David Harbin (McDonough), 1969 Chevrolet Nova
Street Outlaw: Herbert Steverson (Newnan), 1976 Chevrolet Camaro
Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman: Kyle Cumpton (Snellville), 1993 Ford Mustang
Domestic Advanced: Jason Kinard (Hampton), 1997 Chevrolet S10
Truck Advanced: Will Coots, (Stockbridge), 1985 Chevrolet C10
Street Modified: Michael Gregory (Riverdale), 1985 Ford Mustang
Factory Street: Kirk Pennywhitt (Sharpsburg), 2013 Tesla Model S
Harding Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Domestic: Kelly Morgan (Jonesboro), 1968 Ford Mustang
Diesel Truck: Ramae Bethune (Covington), 2012 Dodge Ram 2500
Truck: James Ragsdale (Union City), 1979 Ford F150
Tuner: Chase Ponder (Brooks), 1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX
Sport Compact: Jerry Barnett (Jackson), 2008 Nissan 350Z
Super Bike: Toney Freeman (Stockbridge), 2004 Suzuki
Sport Bike: Jeremy St. Julien (Fairburn), 2013 Kawasaki 2X14
Motorcycle: Robert Thomas (Griffin), 2002 Harley-Davidson
Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Chris Wolfenbarger (Griffin), 2010 West Coast Chopper
ATV: Bradley Smith (Griffin), 1987 Yamaha Banshee

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and automobiles ranging as far back as the 1943s. Those vehicles then took part in the Speedway Cruise following judging.

Below is a complete list of the June 27 winners:

Classic Custom (Through 1972)
First Place: Bill Leming (Fayetteville), 1937 Ford
Second Place: Grant Nelson (Hampton), 1955 Studebaker
Third Place: Bruce Russell (Brooks), 1961 Volkswagen Dune Buggy

Modern Custom (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Adam Wallace (McDonough), 1985 Chevrolet
Second Place: Ben Teel (Carrolton), 1994 Ford Mustang
Third Place: Jan O'Hara (Peachtree City), 1988 Chevrolet SS Monte Carlo

Current Custom (2000 through current)
First Place: Bruce Russell (Brooks), 2007 Ford Mustang Coyote
Second Place: Jessica Craddock (Peachtree City), 2009 Ford Mustang V6
Third Place: Timmy Bishop (Jonesboro), 2006 Dodge Magnum

Showroom Classic (Through 1972)
First Place: Michael Bordeos (Tyrone), 1965 Mercury Comet Caliente
Second Place: Austin Beckley (Newnan), 1967 Pontiac Firebird
Third Place: Scott Fuqua (Locust Grove), 1957 Chevrolet 3800

Showroom Modern (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Shar Mol (Hampton), 1973 Plymouth Baracuda
Second Place: Bruce Holcomb (Fayetteville), 1998 Chevrolet Corvette Convertible
Third Place: Chris Gallagher (Fayetteville), 1998 Pontiac Trans Am

Showroom Current (2000 through current)
First Place: Tyler Eck (Cedar Rapids, IA), 2011 Mercedes-Benz
Second Place: Larry Park (Hapeville), 2009 Dodge Challenger
Third Place: Terry Sark (Conyers), 2013 GMC Yukon Denali

First Place: Rachel Northway (Newnan), 2012 Kia Optima SX
Second Place: Jose Lopez (Griffin), 2013 Hyundai Genesis
Third Place: Leo Martinez (Griffin), 1993 Honda Civic

First Place: Jesse Rachanan (Griffin), 2000 Chevrolet Z71
Second Place: Devan Fuqua (Lagrange), 2006 Ford F-150
Third Place: Jacob Muelland (Senoia), 2000 Chrevrolet Z71

First Place: Chris Wolfenbarger (Griffin), 2010 West Coast Chopper

Atlanta Motor Speedway's O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine continues on June 20. Grandstand gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start at 9:15 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Drags are just $8 for adults and children five and under are free. More information can be found at or by calling the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211.