The drag racing action heated up on the pit lane drag strip as competitors battled for points in Week 6 of O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags and Show 'N' Shine at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

The husband and wife pair of Dwayne and Ramae Bethune of Covington squared off in the Diesel Truck final in a battle for the top spot in the division.

"It is fun racing against Ramae," said Dwayne Bethune. "She enjoys it, especially since she and can get out here and participate."

Despite trouble with the transmission, Dwayne, in a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500, was able to rumble past the 2012 Dodge Ram 2500 of Ramae in the final to pull the pair into a tie for first place in the division.

Arnie Cobb of Locust Grove in a 1974 Chevrolet Nova earned his fifth consecutive win in the Jailhouse Brewing Company Super Pro Division as he defeated the rail car of David Sink. Cobb overpowered Sink and used a good light to race his way to victory lane as he added to his division lead.

Alan Kidd of Locust Grove in a 1969 Chevrolet Camaro, in his first appearance of the season at O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags, was able to earn the win in a tight race against the 1984 Chevrolet Corvette driven by David Craft of McDonough in the Pro Division Final.

Chris Morgan of Jackson in a 1966 Ford Mustang muscled past his father Kelly Morgan in a 1968 Ford Mustang in the Harding Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Domestic Division final. Kelly got a good jump on the light, but stuttered slightly midway through the run which allowed Chris to speed past for the win.

The 1985 Chevrolet C10 piloted by Will Coots faced off with the "Nuclear Banana" of Danny Mason of McDonough in the Truck Advanced final. Coots continued his dominance in the division as he exploded off the line and rocketed to the win, his fourth consecutive of the points season.

Drag racing action returns to the pit lane drag strip June 26 for Week 7 action of O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags and Show 'N' Shine at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Below is a list of the June 20 winners:

Jailhouse Brewing Company Super Pro: Arnie Cobb (Locust Grove), 1974 Chevrolet Nova
Pro: Alan Kidd (Locust Grove), 1969 Chevrolet Camaro
Street Outlaw: Gary Thomas (McDonough), 1974 Chevrolet Nova
Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman: Terry Queen (Jonesboro), 1994 Dodge Dakota
Domestic Advanced: Jason Kinard (Hampton), 1997 Chevrolet S10
Truck Advanced: Will Coots, (Stockbridge), 1985 Chevrolet C10
Street Modified: Kane Shavers (Griffin), 1970 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS
Factory Street: C. Steven Shaffer (Newnan), 2014 Chevrolet Corvette
Harding Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Domestic: Chris Morgan (Jackson), 1966 Ford Mustang
Diesel Truck: Dwayne Bethune (Covington), 2006 Dodge Ram 2500
Truck: DavidStamschror (Morrow), 2012 Ford F-150
Tuner: Dominich Ciletti (Alpharetta), 2014 Audi
Sport Compact: Jose Samaniego (Jonesboro), 1993 Honda Civic
Super Bike: Toney Freeman (Stockbridge), 2004 Suzuki
Sport Bike: Robert James (Jackson), 2000 Suzuki Hayabusa
Motorcycle: Jason Lowery (Williamson), 2004 Honda CB900F
Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Mike Webb (Stockbridge), 1988 Harley-Davidson Softail
ATV: David Armstrong (McDonough), 2000 Yamaha Banshee

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and automobiles ranging as far back as the 1940s. Those vehicles then took part in the Speedway Cruise following judging.

Below is a complete list of the June 20 winners:

Classic Custom (Through 1972)
First Place: Marlin Parker (Atlanta), 1965 Chevrolet Biscayne
Second Place: Larry Sosebee (Fayetteville), 1967 Chevrolet II
Third Place: Ken Thaxton (Fayetteville), 1964 Chevrolet II Nova

Modern Custom (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Adam Wallace, 1985 Chevrolet Silverado
Second Place: Randy Hewell (Rex), 1999 Chevrolet Corvette
Third Place: Tanner Perkins (Griffin), 1996 Ford Mustang GT

Current Custom (2000 through current)
First Place: Jordan Reid (Newnan), 2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS

Showroom Classic (Through 1972)
First Place: Bob Hawks (Peachtree City), 1960 Chevrolet Impala
Second Place: Mike Howie (Locust Grove), 1969 Mach 1

Showroom Modern (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Chris Gallagher, 1998 Pontiac Trans AM
Second Place: Randy Hewell (Rex), 1999 Chevrolet Corvette

Showroom Current (2000 through current)
First Place: Leigh Blakey (Jonesboro), Ford Mustang
Second Place: Bryan Eubanks (Covington), 2010 Ford Mustang GT
Third Place: Dylan Huffman (Newnan), 2013 Dodge Challenger

First Place: Jose Lopez (Griffin), 2013 Hyundai Genesis
Second Place: Terry Sark (Conyers), 2013 Dodge Dart
Third Place: Mark Cline (Jonesboro), Honda Accord

First Place: Tyler Allen (Newnan), 2010 Toyota Tacoma
Second Place: Devan Fuqua (Lagrange), 2006 Ford F-150
Third Place: Corey Price (Newnan), 2001 Ford Ranger

First Place: James Becker (Zebulon), 2003 Honda CR250
Second Place: James Finnell (Stockbridge), 1966 Volkswagen Buggie

Atlanta Motor Speedway's O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine continues on June 27. Grandstand gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start at 9:15 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Drags are just $8 for adults and children five and under are free. More information can be found at or by calling the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211.