The intensity increased on the pit lane drag strip at Atlanta Motor Speedway in the first points night of the 2014 season of the O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags and Show-N-Shine.

Will Coots of Stockbridge in a 1985 Chevrolet C10 took the truck advance division points lead with an opening night victory in the finals as he defeated Keith White of Luthersville behind the wheel of a 1982 Chevrolet Pick-Up truck.

"It is real important to get out to a good start to open the points season," said Coots. "It is the best thing to be in the lead when you first start off and then try and hold that lead throughout the year. But, there are lot of trucks out there competing this year."

In the final, Coots was able to get a good jump off the start line as his Chevrolet C10 continued to improve throughout the night.

"The truck ran the best in that final pass than it had all night. The first pass we shook the tires, but it got a little bit better every time. We put a little bit more power on it for the final pass and it ran straight down through there."

In the Jailhouse Brewing Company Super Pro division, Arnie Cobb of Locust Grove continued his success from last week. Cobb piloted his 1974 Chevrolet Nova to a points win in the season opener as he defeated the 1986 Ford Thunderbird piloted by Tony Byrd of Stockbridge for the second consecutive week.

David Clevenger of Hampton in his 1975 Chevrolet Vega took the win in the Pro Division while the Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman class saw the father and son duo of Tony and Joshua Morse of Grantville, with Joshua behind the wheel tonight, collect the victory in the season points opener.

The competition was fierce throughout the night as competitors looked to jump out to an early lead in the race for the season points championship. Drag racers will again take to the pit lane drag strip at Atlanta Motor Speedway for week 4 of O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags and Show-N-Shine next Friday, June 6.

Below is a list of the May 30 winners:

Jailhouse Brewing Company Super Pro: Arnie Cobb (Locust Grove), 1974 Chevrolet Nova
Pro: David Clevenger (Hampton), 1975 Chevrolet Vega
Street Outlaw: Andrew Pride (Stockbridge), 1985 Chevrolet S10
Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman: Joshua Morse (Grantville), 1981 Chevrolet Malibu
Domestic Advanced: Terry Bates (Locust Grove), 1988 Ford Mustang
Truck Advanced: Will Coots, (Stockbridge), 1985 Chevrolet C10
Street Modified: Rodney Biles, (Williamson), 1991 Ford Mustang
Factory Street: Steven Shaffer (Newnan), 2014 Chevrolet Corvette
Domestic: Andrew Morgan (McDonough), 1987 Ford Mustang
Diesel Truck: Krae Franklin (Loganville), 2012 Chevrolet Silverado
Truck: Craig Weaver (Stockbridge), 2000 Ford Lightning
Tuner: Dominich Ciletti (Alpharetta), 2014 Audi
Sport Compact: Robby Blankenship (Locust Grove), 2010 Infiniti G37
Super Bike: Robin Malcolm (Lithonia), 2004 Busa
Sport Bike: Jeremy St. Julien (Fairburn), 2013 Kawasaki 2x14
Motorcycle: Robert Thomas (Griffin), 2002 Harley-Davidson
Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Donny Fitzgibbon Jr. (Griffin), 2005 Yamaha
ATV: Tommy Mayo (McDonough), 2006 Honda Trx 450

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and automobiles ranging as far back as the 1930s. Those vehicles then took part in the Speedway Cruise following judging.

Below is a complete list of the May 30 winners:

Classic Custom (Through 1972)
First Place: Taylor Queen (Fayetteville), 1963 Volkswagen Beetle
Second Place: Chris Gallagher, 1998 Pontiac Trans AM
Third Place: Billy Poore (Locust Grove), 1951 Ford Victoria

Modern Custom (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Adam Wallace, Chevrolet Silverado
Second Place: Shar Mol (Hampton), 1973 Plymouth Barracuda 340 6-pak

Showroom Classic (Through 1972)
First Place: Fred Briggs (McDonough), 1971 Plymouth Duster

Showroom Modern (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Shane Frix (Griffin), 1976 Chevrolet Camaro
Second Place: Hannah Mashburn (Stockbridge), 1999 Chevrolet Corvette
Third Place: Bruce Holcomb (Fayetteville), 1998 Chevrolet Corvette Convertible

Showroom Current (2000 through current)
First Place: Brad Turner (Hampton), 2012 Chevrolet Camaro ZLI
Second Place: Kirk Pennywitt (Sharpsburg), 2013 Tesla Model S
Third Place: Marty Poole (Macon), 2001 Cadillac

First Place (tie): Justin Dennis (McDonough), 2014 Scion FR-S
First Place (tie): Jose Lopez (Griffin), Hyundai Genesis
Third Place: Jim Dean (Senoia), 1990 Nissan 300ZX TT

First Place (tie): Alex Lewis (Jackson), Dodge Ram 1500
First Place (tie): Nick Thomason (Griffin), 1982 Dodge Ramcharger
Third Place: Devan Fugus (La Grange), 2006 Ford F-150

First Place: Robert Gordon (Williamson), 1996 Boss Hoss
Second Place: John Thomas Becker (Zebulon), 2003 Honda CR 250

Atlanta Motor Speedway's O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine continues with the second points night of the season on June 6. Grandstand gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start at 9:15 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets at Drags are just $8 for adults and children five and under are free. More information can be found at or by calling the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211.