With crisp temperatures filling the air, drag racing for 2011 concluded with heated intensity Friday at Atlanta Motor Speedway in the second and final week of Friday Night Drags & MCR Safety Show-N-Shine “Fall Stampede.”

The night’s action included multiple drivers finishing out 2011 with a sweep of both Fall Stampede events with a father and son also celebrating together in Victory Lane.

Mike Herring in the Super Pro division and Andrew Pride in Truck Advanced, both of whom collected their first victories of the season a week ago, won their final rounds again on Friday. Herring, driving a 1993 Chevy Lumina known to fans as the “Batmobile,” bested Billy Clevenger to claim victory with Pride’s win in his Chevrolet C-10 coming against the division’s season champion, Danny Mason.

Williamson’s Jason Lowery claimed victory in the Street Motorcycle One division on his Honda CB 900 and was joined his Victory Lane by his father Stan Lowery. The elder Lowery won the Cruiser/Dirt Bike division on a Honda XR600.

Below is a complete list of Sept. 30 winners:

Super Pro: Mike Herring (Conyers) in a 1993 Chevrolet Lumina

Pro: David Harbin (McDonough) in a 1969 Chevrolet Nova

Street Outlaw: Darryl Stiles (Williamson) in a 1968 Chevrolet Camaro

Sportsman: Mark Harris (Griffin) in a 1978 Chevy Luv Truck

Domestic Advanced: Stephen DeFayette (Sharpsburg) in a Mazda RX7

Truck Advanced: Andrew Pride (Stockbridge) in a Chevrolet C-10

Truck: Chris Parker (Griffin) in a 1983 Chevrolet

Diesel Truck: Roy Slaughter (McDonough) in a 2003 Dodge Ram 3500

Sport Compact: Danny Karr (Stockbridge) in a 2007 Honda Civic Si

Super Bike: Derrick Burr (Rex) on a Suzuki 1000

Street Motorcycle I: Jason Lowery (Williamson) on a Honda CB 900

Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Stan Lowery (Williamson) on a Honda XR600

Sportbike: Bryan Berube (Forest Park) on a 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa

ATV Modified: David Armstrong (McDonough) on a 2000 Yamaha Banshee

The MCR Safety Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and cars ranging as far back as the 1930s.  Below is a complete list of the Sept. 30 winners: 

Showroom Current (1973 through current):

First Place: Jimmy Clark, Ford Mustang Cobra

Second Place: Tony Mountjoy, 2004 Pontiac GTO

Third Place: Donnell Davis, 2005 Mustang GT

Showroom Classic (1972 and prior):

First Place: Bill Whatley, Torino GT

Second Place: Ronny Jackson, 1970 Mach 1

Classic Custom (1972 and prior):

First Place: Pepper Norris, 1971 Plymouth Duster

Second Place: Daryl Stiles, 1963 Chevrolet

Third Place: Victor Sneed, 1963 Chevrolet Pick Up.

Current Custom (1973 through current):

First Place: Justin Sherman, 2002 Dodge Intrepid SE

Second Place: Rodney Edmands, 2007 Mustang GT/CS

Third Place: Jennifer Perry, 2006 Mustang GT


First Place: Paul Manning, 2002 Chevy Silverado

Second Place: Alvin Crouch, Ford F-350

Third Place: Victor Padilla, 1994 Chevy C 1500


First Place: Edward Houillion, 2003 Suzuki Streetfighter

Second Place: Bobby Rebaut, Yamaha FJR 1300

Third Place: Sherry Siriani, Honda CBR F4i

Tuner (all sport compact vehicles):

First Place: Dylan Reynolds

Second Place: Blake Floyd

Third Place: Garen McCall

President’s Choice:

Dan Andrews, 1958 Chevy Bel-Air

Friday Night Drags is scheduled to resume again in 2012. Information regarding future events at Atlanta Motor Speedway can be found at www.atlantamotorspeedway.com.