Drivers returned to the quarter-mile Thunder Ring Saturday in week one action of the six-week Winter Flurry racing series at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

After an aggressive start and subsequent restart in the Masters feature, Dwight Pilgrim of McDonough, driving for Mark Swan of Dunwoody, led the field for half of the race before Tina Johnson's move to the inside on turn two of lap 11 moved her into the lead, with Robbie Woodall slipping in to second place.

Holding the lead for three laps, Senoia's Johnson spun out on turn three, dropping to the back of the pack and allowing Woodall to take the lead with just seven laps remaining.

Woodall and Pilgrim ran first and second the final seven laps, while Johnson battled back to finish in third. Rounding out the field were Martin Snyder of Kennesaw, Tony Armbruster of Covington, Dennis Aiken of Villa Rica and Covington's Wes Potter.

Connor Younginer of Stockbridge earned the checkered flag from the pole and sits atop the driver point standing in the Outlaw division after week one. Younginer held off a hard charging Joshua Hicks of Senoia despite a trio of cautions that bunched the field up in the first half of the race. Starting from the fifth position, Hannah Bell of Raleigh battled Austin Geer of Johns Creek for third for much of the race.

Zach Leonhardi of Cartersville took the lead on the fifth lap of the combined Semi-Pro/Young Lion feature race and never looked back, pacing the field over the final 16 laps but was ultimately disqualified.

In a caution-free race, pole-sitter Jeff Holden led the first four laps before a near spin in turn two on lap five did not bring out the yellow flag and dropped him into third place. Taylor Jorgensen of Stockbridge slid into second place and held off Holden for the final 16 laps, however Jorgensen was also disqualified following the race. After the disqualifications of Leonhardi and Jorgensen, Holden claimed the win, followed by Amber Fleeman of Dacula and Dylan Murry of Cumming.

Pole-sitter Clay Thompson of Powersville claimed the victory in the Bandits feature race after leading every lap of the event despite a fierce battle for the top spot late in the action.

Lawson Ingold of Social Circle kept pace with Thompson the whole way, challenging Thompson for the top position through every turn. Ingold made an aggressive move on the final lap and briefly took the lead by a car length around turn one before Thompson reclaimed the lead on the backstretch.

A physical final half-lap saw Ingold spin on turn 4 with one final attempt at the lead with a move to the inside, and Ryan Howell of McDonough claimed second place ahead of Ingold. Nathan Jackson of McDonough rounded out the field in fourth place. Howell was later disqualified, and Jackson claimed the third-place finish.

The beginner bandolero feature saw Ganutt Hudgins of Savannah lead the race from flag-to-flag for the win. Ricky Springer of McDonough finished second while Noah Dorminy of Stathum was third.

Week two of the affordable, family-friendly winter racing series Winter Flurry returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway on Dec. 13. Spectators are afforded the opportunity to access the garage area with an infield spectator ticket for just $12 for adults, $5 for children ages six through 11 and is free for children ages five and younger. Driver registration for Winter Flurry is only $25 per race.

Feature Race Results


1.Clay Thompson (Powersville), 2. Lawson Ingold (Social Circle), 3. Nathan Jackson (McDonough), 4. Ryan Howell (McDonough) - DQ

Beginner Bandoleros

1.Ganutt Hudgins (Savannah), 2. Ricky Springer (McDonough), 3. Noah Dominy (Stathum), 4. Cameron Potter (Covington), 5. Samuel Oliver (The Rock)


1.Robbie Woodall (McDonough), 2. Dwight Pilgrim (McDonough) substituting for Mark Swan (Dunwoody), 3. Tina Johnson (Senoia), 4. Martin Snyder (Kennesaw), 5. Tony Armbruster (Covington), 6. Dennis Aiken (Villa Rica), 7. Wes Potter (Covington), 8. Dennis Hecht (Hoschton)


1.Connor Younginer (Stockbridge), 2. Joshua Hicks (Senoia), 3. Hannah Bell (Raleigh, NC), 4. Austin Geer (Johns Creek), 5. Jonathan Cook (Sunny Side), 6. Trey Tadrzak (Stockbridge), 7. Will McConnell (Dallas), 8. Lexi Gay (Canton), 9. Hayden Swank (Woodstock)

Young Lion

1.Dylan Murry (Cumming), 2. Zach Leonhardi (Cartersville) - DQ


1.Jeff Holden (Gainesville), 2. Amber Fleeman (Dacula), 3. Jensen Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 4. Bailey Woodall (McDonough), 5. Aaron Bailey (Burlington, NC), 6. Brandon Brock (Hampton), 7. Miranda Meredith (Locust Grove), 8. Taylor Jorgensen (Stockbridge) - DQ  

For more information on Thursday Thunder, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX or visit

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia director Dwight Pilgram at (770) 707-2977 or visit