With the regular season of Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine in the books, the series took to the track on Friday night for the first of two Fall Stampede events. With points off the table for the two nights of Fall Stampede racing, the cool air heated up the racing action, bringing several new cars out to compete with the regular competitors.

In the fastest division at Friday Night Drags, longtime Friday Night Drags competitor Arnie Cobb went to victory lane for the first time in 2012, piloting his 1974 Chevrolet Nova to the win in the final round of racing. Another first-time winner in 2012 came in the Pro division, as Jim Jones and his 1970 Plymouth Barracuda Hemi claimed the trophy.

With several new winners on the night, other familiar faces battled their way to wins, including Will Coots in the Truck Advanced division and Vic Vickers in the Sportsman division. Coots battled season-long adversary Chuck Poole all the way down the pit lane drag strip to claim the win in a close final round matchup.

Coots and Vickers will be honored for their 2012 points championships, as well as the other points champions and those in the top-10 in the final standings in each division, during next week’s Fall Stampede on Sept. 21.

Fans will also be treated to a special pizza discount through Papa John’s Pizza courtesy of red race car victories on Friday night. All throughout 2012, red cars going to victory lane will earn customers 50 percent off their online order at Papa John’s with the promo code 50RED through Sunday of that race weekend.

Below is a complete list of the Sept. 14 winners:

Super Pro: Arnie Cobb (Griffin) in a 1974 Chevrolet Nova
Pro: Jim Jones (Jonesboro) in a 1970 Plymouth Barracuda Hemi
Street Outlaw: Chris Stripling (Stockbridge) in a 1987 Ford Mustang
Sportsman: Vic Vickers (McDonough) in a 1988 Ford Mustang
Truck Advanced: Will Coots (McDonough) in a 1985 Chevrolet Silverado
Diesel Truck: Dwayne Bethune (Covington) in a 2006 Dodge Ram
Truck: Shelton Maynard (Hampton) in a 1972 Chevrolet C10
Domestic Advanced: Jon Stovall (Alpharetta) in a 2006 Dodge Viper
Papa John’s Pizza Domestic: Andrew Morgan (McDonough) in a 1987 Ford Mustang
Tuner: Nicolas Feliciano (Griffin) in a 1982 Toyota Corolla
Sport Compact: Ruben Quiambao (Roswell) in a 2008 Nissan 350Z
ATV: David Armstrong (McDonough) on a 2000 Yamaha Banshee
Super Bike: Toney Freeman (Stockbridge) on a 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa
Sport Bike: Joshua Jones (Riverdale) on a 2003 Suzuki Hayabusa
Street Motorcycle: AJ White (Riverdale) substitute driving for Cordero Woody (McDonough) on a 2009 Suzuki GSX-R 600
Cruiser/Dirt Bike: Brandon Cater (Griffin) substitute driving for Jacob Turner (Griffin) on a 1987 Honda CR 500
Street Modified: Kyle Cumpton (Snellville) in a 2001 Chevrolet Camaro

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and cars ranging as far back as the 1920s.

Below is a complete list of the Sept. 14 winners:

Showroom Current (1973 through current):
First Place: Gary Lee, Pontiac Trans-Am
Second Place: Jim Andrews, 1993 Ford Mustang LX Convertible
Third Place: Brooke Turner, 2012 Chevrolet ZL1

Showroom Classic (1950 to 1972):
First Place: Rodney Allen, 1970 Chevrolet Camaro Z28
Second Place: Christopher Byrd, 1967 Shelby GT 500
Third Place: Rod Harris, 1971 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

Sport Compact:
First Place: Victor Sneed, Toyota Celica
Second Place: Matthew Czarnowsky, 1993 Toyota Starlet
Third Place: Matt Feathers, 1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Classic Custom (1950 to 1972):
First Place: Ronnie Skinner, 1962 Chevrolet Biscayne
Second Place: Randy Bennett, 1964 Rambler
Third Place: Lucius Robinson, 1968 Ford F-100

Current Custom (1973 through current):
First Place: Barbara Glow, Ford Mustang 302 CR
Second Place: Dean Phillips, 2002 Chevrolet Camaro Z28
Third Place: Kevin Williams, 2010 Dodge Challenger

First Place: Marvin Holt, 2000 Ford Ranger
Second Place: Ken Fleener, 1999 Ford Lightning
Third Place: Buzz Boyd, 1993 Ford Bronco

First Place: Jeff Powell, 1930 Ford Delivery Wagon
Second Place: Doug Walter, 1936 Ford Tudor
Third Place: Carl “Ragman” Ragland, 2002 Kenworth W900L

President’s Choice:
Doug Walter, 1936 Ford Tudor

Atlanta Motor Speedway’s Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine returns Sept. 21 for the second week of the Fall Stampede on the eighth-mile pit lane drag strip, which will also serve as the final Friday Night Drags event in 2012. All finishers in the top-10 in the final points standings for each division will be recognized during the Sept. 21 Fall Stampede.

Gates open at 6:30 p.m. and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9:09 p.m. Spectator tickets at Friday Night Drags are just $8 for adults and children five and under are free. Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. More information can be found at www.atlantamotorspeedway.com/drags.