The fourth week of the 2012-13 Winter Flurry season at Atlanta Motor Speedway saw drivers battle cool and windy conditions on the quarter-mile “Thunder Ring.” Racers looked to improve their positioning in the Winter Flurry points standings, as they race towards a championship in the seven-race season.

Chandler Smith began the Bandits feature on the pole. Lawson Ingold jumped up from his outside starting spot to the lead in the first corner. On the fifth lap, Smith moved inside Ingold and went back to the front. Smith would lead each circuit from there and claim his fourth Winter Flurry win in as many weeks.

The combined Masters and Pro feature opened with Ed Clark out front. Evan Bell, the lone Pro driver in the field, quickly moved past his competition from his starting spot at the back of the pack to take the lead on lap eight. Bell would go on to post his second-straight victory, with Clark being credited with the top finish among the Masters drivers.

Hub Talbot began the Semi-Pro feature out front. Riley Thornton moved from his outside starting spot to get the lead on the first lap. With five laps complete, Tyler Mosley spun in turn two to bring the caution out. With 15 laps complete, Aaron Bailey spun on his own in turn four, placing the field under the second caution of the event. Thornton would score his fourth Winter Flurry win in as many weeks.

The Outlaws feature started with Alton Clark as the pole sitter. On the start, a multi-car crash involving Clark, Eli Bailey, Jenson Jorgensen, Miranda Meredith and others led to a full-field restart. Bailey would have the top spot on the restart, while Clark and Jorgensen went to rear for pulling off track to repair damage. On the ensuing full-field restart, Bailey, Joshua Hicks and Ashton Winger went three-wide for the lead, with Hicks emerging with the point on the low side. Clark maneuvered his way back through the field to re-take the lead two laps following the green flag. But on the next lap, Jorgensen got loose while inside Clark, which led to contact, spinning both drivers in the first corner. This incident led to the first caution flag of the event. Hicks would restart the race as the leader and would pull away after the green flag was displayed. After 13 laps, Clark would spin alone in turn three, placing the field under the yellow again. As the field took the green flag to restart, Winger, who had been closing in on the lead prior to the caution, used the compacted field to his advantage and moved around Hicks for the lead. With only five laps remaining, Miranda Meredith spun and made heavy contact with the outside wall in turn two, placing the field under caution for the third and final time. Following the restart, Winger would emerge as the victor as he logged his second-straight Winter Flurry win.

Woodrow Mullis was the pole sitter for the Young Lions feature. The outside line proved quick once again, as Grant Quinlan put up a strong fight for the lead, but Mullis prevailed to move out front. Madeline Crane used the battle to move into second. In the waning laps, Crane would close but had nothing for Mullis, who would improve upon his runner-up finish in week three to collect the win in week four.

Short-track racing returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway on Saturday, Feb. 16 with the fifth race of the 2012-13 Winter Flurry season. A limited number of infield passes will be available at the Security Command building near the speedway’s main entrance. Infield access costs just $12 for adults, $5 for children ages six through 11 and admission is free for children ages five and younger. Cost to race is just $25. Minors and their guardians are required to complete a minor waiver before children ages 17 and younger can enter the infield. For more information, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX or visit

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia Director Dwight Pilgram at (770) 707-2977 or visit

Jan. 26 Race Results:

1. Chandler Smith (Talking Rock), 2. Lawson Ingold (Social Circle), 3. Connor Younginer (Stockbridge), 4. Abigail Marin (Peachtree City), 5. Nathan Jackson (McDonough), Austin Geer* (Johns Creek)
*attempted to qualify

Pro and Masters:
1. Evan Bell** (Buford), 2. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 3. Mike Kennedy (Alpharetta), 4. Mark Swan (Dunwoody), 5. John Ponzio (Tyrone), 6. Martin Snyder (Acworth), Don Maness* (Duluth)
*attempted to qualify
**denotes Pro driver

1. Riley Thornton (Peachtree City), 2. Hub Talbot (Smyrna), 3. Billy Stevenson (Locust Grove), 4. LJ Klemons (Griffin), 5. Taylor Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 6. Cory Parham (Elberton), 7. Aaron Bailey (Hull), 8. CJ Pucko (Covington), 9. Cy Strickland (Athens), 10. Tyler Mosley (McDonough)

1. Ashton Winger (Fayetteville), 2. Joshua Hicks (Senoia), 3. Jenson Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 4. Chase Purdy (Gallion, Ala.), 5. Eli Bailey (Johns Creek), 6. Miranda Meredith (Locust Grove), 7. Alton Clark (Newnan)

Young Lions:
1. Woodrow Mullis (Hoboken), 2. Madeline Crane (Meansville), 3. Grant Quinlan (Maidstone, Ontario, Canada), 4. Dylan Murry (Cumming), 5. Megan Younginer (Stockbridge), 6. Blake Gaither (Nashville)