Greeted by cold temperatures, legends and bandolero drivers took to the quarter-mile “Thunder Ring” Saturday at Atlanta Motor Speedway in the sixth race in the seven-race Winter Flurry series. With Saturday being the next-to-last race of the season, some drivers padded their lead within the points standings while others made up ground within their respective divisions. 

Kason Plott started the Young Lions feature from the pole position, but was penalized two positions for jumping the start and placed in the third position on the restart six laps into the race following a spin by division points leader Madeline Crane. Plott wasted little time moving toward the front, passing second-place Dylan Murry heading into the first turn on the restart and held the second position until a restart with six laps remaining. Plott went side-by-side with Payton Ryan, moving into the lead with an inside pass with four laps remaining. Plott held off Ryan for the win, taking the victory by a car-length. 

Zach Leonhardi led the field to the green flag to start the Bandits feature. Leonhardi led flag-to-flag for the win ahead of Chandler Smith and Austin Geer.

Ed Clark led the combined Masters and Pro feature to the start. William Plemons III moved into the lead on the fifth lap. Plemons held the top spot the rest of the way for the win. Clark finished second, giving him the top finishing position of Masters drivers in the feature.

Riley Thornton paced the field to the start of the Semi-Pro feature. He took advantage of the position at the lead, maintaining the lead all the way to the checkered flag for the victory. Trevin Aswarnauth was second ahead of Billy Stevenson. 

Joshua Hicks led the field to begin the Outlaws feature, holding the top position through the first six laps before the caution flag flew. Ashton Winger took advantage, moving into the lead within a lap before a three-car accident in the back of the field brought the caution out again. Hicks, however, restarted as the leader since the caution came out within a lap of the restart.

A three-way battle for the lead quickly ensued on the restart. Jensen Jorgenson moved into the lead, but was overtaken on the ninth lap by Winger, who led the remaining 11 circuits to claim the win ahead of Jorgenson and Hicks.  

Short-track racing returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway on Saturday, March 23 with the seventh and final race of the 2012-13 Winter Flurry season. A limited number of infield passes will be available at the Security Command building near the speedway’s main entrance. Infield access costs just $12 for adults, $5 for children ages six through 11 and admission is free for children ages five and younger. Cost to race is just $25. Minors and their guardians are required to complete a minor waiver before children ages 17 and younger can enter the infield. For more information, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX or visit

To test drive your own Legends machine, or for more information about Legends racing, call Legends of Georgia Director Dwight Pilgram at (770) 707-2977 or visit

Mar. 2 Race Results:

Young Lions:

1. Kason Plott (Marietta), 2. Payton Ryan (Jonesville, La.), 3. Dylan Murry (Cumming), 4. Blake Gaither (Nashville), 5. Megan Younginer (Stockbridge), 6. Madeline Crane (Meansville), 7. Woodrow Mullis (Hoboken).


1. Zach Leonhardi (Smyrna), 2. Chandler Smith (Talking Rock), 3. Austin Geer (Johns Creek),  4. Connor Younginer (Stockbridge), 5. Abigail Marin (Peachtree City), 6. Ryan Howell (McDonough), 7. Nathan Jackson (McDonough), 8. Meredith Tristan (Locust Grove).  

Masters & Pro

1. William Plemons III (Locust Grove) * 2. Ed Clark (Peachtree City), 3. Bill Plemons Jr. (Locust Grove) 4. Mark Swan (Dunwoody),  5. Don Maness (Duluth) 6. Martin Snyder (Acworth).

*Pro Division Driver


1. Riley Thornton (Peachtree City), 2. Trevin Aswarnauth (Loganville), 3. Billy Stevenson (Locust Grove), 4. Taylor Jorgenson (Stockbridge), 5. Jeff Holden (Gainesville),

6. Amber Fleeman (Dacula), 7. Tyler Mosley (McDonough), 8. Jeff Holden (Gainesville).  


1. Ashton Winger (Fayetteville), 2. Jensen Jorgensen (Stockbridge), 3. Joshua Hicks (Senoia), 4. Alton Clark (Newnan), 5. Chase Purdy (Gallion, Ala.), 6. Eli Bailey (Johns Creek).