The O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags and Show-N-Shine took to the pit-lane drag strip at Atlanta Motor Speedway Friday night in Week 10 action.

The spike-topped 1973 Volkswagen Bug, driven by Rodney Bun of Griffin who competes in the Dynamic Towing Street Outlaw Division, has quickly become a fan-favorite at Friday Night Drags, mostly because it looks a little out of place.

Through a throng of fast Mustangs and Camaros, Bunn's 1973 Bug continues to set the pace in the division, as he leads the standings by eight points after picking up his second win of the 2016 points season Friday night.

"It was a dare," explained Bunn regarding the souped-up import. "There were a bunch of parts lying around the shop, and somebody asked, 'What are you going to do with the Volkswagen?' We said we were going to put a big-block in it."

That's exactly what they did, and the powerful compact with a big engine continues to find the speed it needs to stay ahead.

"They said we couldn't do it, so we proved them wrong, and here we are."

With eyes toward the championship, Bunn now has a comfortable cushion with which to work, with just six weeks remaining in the 2016 season.

In the Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Division, Jon Stovall of Fayetteville beat out Flynt Biles of Williamson for his fifth straight victory behind the wheel of his red Dodge Viper. Stovall extends his lead to nine points over the next closest challenger.

Kelly Kilbourne of McDonough and Kelly Morgan of Jonesboro also picked up repeat wins Friday night in the Domestic Advanced Division and the Street Modified Division, respectively.

Other notable winners include Tony More of Grantville in the Harbin's Mechanical Services Super Pro Division, David Smith of Jackson in the Harding Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Domestic Division, Arnold Rubin of locust Grove in the Peach Pass Factory Street Division and Courtney Perry of Covington in the Mini Melts Sport Compact Division.

Below is a complete list of the July 8 Week 10 race winners:

Harbin's Mechanical Services Super Pro Division
Tony More (Grantville); 1990 Ford Mustang

Active Pest Control Pro Division
David Clevenger (Griffin); 1986 Chevrolet Corvette

Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Division
Jon Stovall (Fayetteville); 2006 Dodge Viper

Harding Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Domestic Division
David Smith (Jackson); 1990 Isuzu Truck

Domestic Advanced Division
Kelly Kilbourne (McDonough); 1988 Chevrolet S-10

Dynamic Towing Street Outlaw Division
Rodney Bunn (Griffin); 1973 Volkswagen Bug Street Modified Division
Kelly Morgan (Jonesboro); 1968 Ford Mustang

Peach Pass Factory Street Division
Arnold Rubin (Locust Grove); 2015 Ford Mustang

MetroPCS Tuner Division
Damon Waldrop (McDonough); 1993 Honda Civic

Mini Melts Sport Compact Division
Courtney Perry (Covington); 1995 Honda Del Sol

Truck Advanced Division
James Hames (McDonough); 1978 Ford Bronco

Truck Division
Rodney Biles (Williamson); 2015 Ford F-150

Super Bike Division
Tony Freeman (Stockbridge); 2012 Suzuki

Sport Bike Division
Keith Johnson (Jenkinsburg); BMW

U.S. Marines Motorcycle Division
Jamar Copes (Locust Grove); 2007 Suzuki

Cruiser Division
Anthony Chance (Crestview); 2005 Triumph Rocket 3

ATV/Dirt Bike Division
Ignacio Ziminov (Jonesboro); 2006 Kawasaki

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and automobiles ranging as far back as the 1930s. Those vehicles then took part in the Speedway Cruise following judging.

Below is a complete list of the July 8 winners:

Classic Custom (Through 1972)
First Place: Ruth Branham (Molena); 1976 Chevrolet Corvette Pace Car
Second Place: Charlie Warford (Zebulon); 1965 Ford Mustang GT350
Third Place: Zackary Waites (Forsyth); 1966 Ford Mustang

Modern Custom (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Scott Conaway (Griffin); 1952 Dodge
Second Place: Tyler Williamson (Newnan); 1999 Ford Mustang
Third Place: Brandon Estelle (Peachtree City); Chevrolet 3500 6.5

Current Custom (2000 through current)
First Place: Montero Boyd (Decatur); Dodge Challenger
Second Place: James White (Covington); 2002 Chevrolet Camaro SS
Third Place: Chris Bennett (Pike County); Kia Optima

Showroom Classic (Through 1972)
First Place: Fred Briggs (McDonough); 1971 Plymouth Duster

Showroom Modern (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Chris Gallagher (Fayetteville); 1998 Pontiac Trans Am

Showroom Current (2000 through current)
First Place: Anthony Psamas (Newnan); Ford Focus
Second Place: Tracy (Griffin); 2010 Chevrolet Camaro
Third Place: William Cole (Newnan); 2008 Ford Mustang GT

First Place: Adam Wallace (McDonough); 2007 Mini Cooper
Second Place: Jose Lopez (Griffin); 2000 Toyota MR2
Third Place: Avery Sellars (Newnan); 2008 BMW 328i

First Place: Nathan Sheets (McDonough); Chevrolet Z71 1500
Second Place: Cody Trammell (Pike); 2009 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LTZ
Third Place: Nikeeta Moore (Atlanta); 2015 Infiniti QX60

First Place: Clint Foster (Oxford); 1965 Ford Cobra
Second Place: Chris Hutchins (Hampton); 2007 GMC Sierra
Third Place: Judson Woodall (McDonough); U.S. Legends Car

Atlanta Motor Speedway's O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine continues with Week 11 on Friday, July 15, as drivers continue their battle for 2016 division championships. Each champions will be awarded four tickets to NHRA events later this year at their choice of either zMAX Dragway in Charlotte or The Strip in Las Vegas.

Upcoming promotions at AMS include an appearance by the Green Mamba jet car at the Thursday Thunder Legends Racing Series presented by Papa John's Pizza on Thursday, July 21, and an End-of-Summer fireworks show at O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags on Friday, July 29. There is no extra cost for either event.

Grandstand gates for O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags open at 6:30 p.m., and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9 p.m.

Spectator tickets are just $8, and children 5 and under are free. Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine and Track Cruise is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30.

More information can be found at or by calling the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211.